$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 15, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
171 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Perfect Weekend

Great view. Close to dining, attractions, and shopping. See full review

  • Kellie H.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 171
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nisha m.
Business
scottsdale
Jan 5, 2015

Average stay below my expectations

Got the deal for a night's stay at Christmas time when other hotels were quite pricey so chose it. Upon arrival at 5 PM (check in time was 3 PM) , after about 20 mins of being with check in staff, we were informed that room has not been allocated and will take some more time to be ready... bummer. Left for other activities to come back later. Room itself was below expectation and outdated, there was a gap in curtains which I used my hair clip to close to be able to sleep and the AC made significant noise. Upon informing hotel staff we were told maintenance will be on way, and after waiting for about half an hr, were told that we could get a 3 twin bed room as compared to our 2 full beds which would not have sufficed for our family of four so had to stay in the same room with loud noise. However, there were no insects as I read in other reviews which was good.. breakfast was simple ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are new to the Big Island, look for Spotlight Hawaii magazine (available on most brochure stands free of cost) and plan your sightseeing. Was very helpful to us and we could cover most in first trip ! Dont take heavy jackets and winter gear if you are pressed on luggage via flight, just stay in the car to view Mauna Kea summit to enjoy sunset or sunrise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Movingup
Business
North West, Iowa
Oct 21, 2014

Good price for a quick stay

We didn't require any special needs or attention, so this was a great location and price. The Hotel needs some TLC, but for just a bed for the night, I can't complain. We enjoyed the pool and the free Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance, and that made getting around great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RenataBoston
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2014

Nice location, but dirty rooms

The hotel is located in the center of action. Unfortunately they need more staff and rooms are filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Softballers
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Jan 27, 2014

Good Weekend Staycation

The staff were friendly and approachable. One downfall would be the size of the bathroom. Way too small. Overall a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want fresh authentic hawaiian meals, Umekes is the place to go! It's a short walk from the hotel to the building. Great poke as always & it's near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

disappointed

I was not expecting fancy, but I had hoped for more comfort. The staff was nice enough, but the room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, and the sliding glass door to the balcony wouldn't even close (despite the sticker on it that said to keep it closed!). I have stayed at other not-so-expensive places and found them way more appealing. Maybe we just had a bad room, but I would not return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neonlite13
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Good location, cheap hotel

The location of this hotel is good, almost walkable to the beach. However, the hotel itself is pretty run down; the rooms, especially the bathrooms and the elevators are old and almost repulsive. We didn't expect anything fancy, but it was worse than what we had even hoped for. The breakfast is helpful but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bucky from Duluth
Business
Sunnyvale, ca
Jul 16, 2013

Good location

The 2 Star rating is appropriate for this hotel. Great location in the center of Kona! Hotel is old but clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We had 3 rooms and all were nice, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vandy H
Business
Billings, Mt
Jun 6, 2013

Not for us

Pros: Really nice Staff, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! Lovely live music by the pool at breakfast! Cons: Our room was really quite dirty looking! My 8 year old daughter didn't even want to take a shower there. There was mold & even someone else's short n curly's in the shower, that did not come from us! Just gross! I thought I knew what I was walking into, with the mind set, we are only there to sleep, but it was a bit more unpleasant than I expected, and we love Rustic. This was NOT rustic, it's severely outdated, but the good news, half of it is currently under Renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninet
Business
La. California
Apr 19, 2013

Fantastic

So good to be tru the hotel was very close of evethin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missmomm
Business
Ventura, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Horrible disappointment

Booked a full week here, I knew it wasn't the greatest place, but the reviews made it sound simple and clean-- I was expecting a no-frills motor-in with not many amenities, and a good location. It is NOT seaside, as the name implies-- it's across the street and a couple blocks from any water. No beach. The front desk older ladies were so slow and took care of whatever paperwork was in front of them without acknowledging that I was standing there. When we finally got our room I was horrified. I'm a seasoned traveller and not a snob-- but 5 minutes in my room and I had to get out. The mattress was so old and had stains on the sides which indicate bedbugs. The bedding was old and crumbly. The bathroom was like a 1960s motorhome--cheap construction that didn't hold up over time and was never kept clean. I was sure I'd get some kind of disease staying there. The pool was nearby below us and the kids screaming in it made it necessary to close the windows and the AC smelled musty and gross. I checked out 20 minutes later. A customer service rep called the hotel for me to cancel my week reservation. I lost 1 night rate, but I am supposed to be getting refunded for the other 6 nights. It was worth it just to get out if there. And the rep also helped me find a new hotel. Jose at customer service was extrememly helpful getting me out of a disgusting room and into a WAY better one. Twice the cost, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scandanavia Shave ice is the bomb!! Best shave ice ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top