$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Pleasantly surprised

Friendly staff, excellent location and cute pool. Nothing fancy, but relatively inexpensive See full review

  • Akmarcia
  • Nov 19, 2014
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 165
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akmarcia
Business
AlaskA
Nov 19, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

Friendly staff, excellent location and cute pool. Nothing fancy, but relatively inexpensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conventioner
Business
Big Island
Nov 4, 2014

Weekend Getaway

After booking this hotel during one of the 20% off deals, the cost of the hotel was less than $100 for the night. The hotel is simple but clean. The location is fantastic and provided a great place for a quick getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sofiene B
Business
Tunisia
Oct 22, 2014

Cockroach alarm! Very dirty old place

The place was a nightmare to stay at. We met cockroaches in the restaurant and WC near the pool. Room fourniture was very dirty and old. Dirt and garbage in the floors. Avoid this place if you dont like insects and dirt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tati SF
Business
SF, California
Jun 28, 2014

Great location

The hotel is cute but dated. All my husband and I wanted was a non-smoking room with a shower and a bed (we don't stay in hotel rooms for very long as we like to cruise around). So, the hotel fit the bill. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect- walking distance from everything in Ali'i Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aloha al
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 13, 2014

Good

Good price for average hotel friendly staff convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveldoc1
Business
Juneau, AK
Jan 9, 2014

OK place

Stayed 2 nights. Staff great, breakfast mediocre, room very basic and curtains a little mildewy. Bed mediocre. Worked out fine, and not many options at this price range. I would consider the place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simon the Bison
Business
Mountain View
Dec 28, 2013

Cheap and in the heart of Kona.

We only stayed here for two nights and the two things that stuck out were clearly the cheap price and the great location. If you plan on spending most of your vacation outside the hotel this is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassy Girl
Business
Utah
Dec 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay !!

The hotel is right in the center of the shopping areas and activities that was a plus. I think there should be a little more to the breakfast in the morning. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. We would stay at this same hotel the next time we go to Kona Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaime Budget Traveler
Business
Bay Area, California
Sep 12, 2013

Not bad for the cost

This place is pretty much what you expect for the cheapest place in Kona. It doesn't have much to offer but is pretty clean and a convenient touristy location. There is a continental breakfast with bread, English muffins, fresh papaya, coffee and tea. It will give you a little bit to start your day. There is a small beach nearby the hotel which is good for snorkeling but not the kind of place to stretch out in the sun and relax. If I were to go back to the Big Island I don't think I'd stay in Kona again. I think Hilo has more nice beaches and is closer to many of the sites I wanted to see. But if I were to stay there again and was on a tight budget again I would stay at Uncle Billy's. Hopefully the next trip will have a bigger budget for a nicer place on the beach :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Lava Java down the road will be a nice break from the somewhat lacking continental breakfast at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrandMrsDixon
Business
Rocklin, CA
Jun 20, 2013

Great staff and location - needs some updating!

I'm not picky with hotels, but this one was pretty bad. CONS: -Shower went cold every 30 seconds due to someone flushing a toilet. -Waited 3 hours for our room to be cleaned and we still got the wrong room (we asked for a king) -Toilet seat lifted up when someone in the other room sat down! -Breakfast was literally papayas, toast and mini muffins if you don't sleep in past 8:15 -Patio doors don't close and barely lock -A/C unit is really loud! -The garage truck came at like 5am then they started leaf blowing at 6:30am! We could hear people in all the rooms around us. PROS: -Great location -Friendly staff -Geckos that ate the ants on the patio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top