$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
195 reviews
Centrally located

The bed was really comfortable, AC, a fridge & microwave in the room were a bonus. You can walk to... See full review

  • Profski
  • Apr 9, 2015
Great Location, live like a local!

Very comfortable, great setting, wonderful staff!!! See full review

  • Rene K.
  • Mar 17, 2015
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Property features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 195
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerm
Business
Kona, Hi.
Aug 2, 2010

Very BAD!!!!!!!!!

The rooms where very run down,the second day the only elevator went down ,they wouldnt call no one because it was on the weekend. So had to take stairs everytime you left,also take luggage down 3 floors,not good.We also had someone take item from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice veiws, and attractions.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mighty Marin Mom
Business
San Anselmo, CA
Jul 22, 2012

Needs Work

The best parts of the Kona Bay Hotel is its prime downtown Kona location, swimming pool, and landscaping near the lobby. Some of the downsides: to use other amenities (such as parking in their lot and internet access) guests must pay. When we first arrived we were given a ground floor room that was only marginally clean. Later in the evening we were advised that guests were not supposed to stay in our wing because of construction. We then were moved to another room and given an "upgrade". This second room was quieter and cleaner. For a downtown Kona hotel the price was relatively low but the quality of the furnishings reflected this low price. If you do stay there, look at your room first and consider asking for a different one if it is sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missmomm
Business
Ventura, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Horrible disappointment

Booked a full week here, I knew it wasn't the greatest place, but the reviews made it sound simple and clean-- I was expecting a no-frills motor-in with not many amenities, and a good location. It is NOT seaside, as the name implies-- it's across the street and a couple blocks from any water. No beach. The front desk older ladies were so slow and took care of whatever paperwork was in front of them without acknowledging that I was standing there. When we finally got our room I was horrified. I'm a seasoned traveller and not a snob-- but 5 minutes in my room and I had to get out. The mattress was so old and had stains on the sides which indicate bedbugs. The bedding was old and crumbly. The bathroom was like a 1960s motorhome--cheap construction that didn't hold up over time and was never kept clean. I was sure I'd get some kind of disease staying there. The pool was nearby below us and the kids screaming in it made it necessary to close the windows and the AC smelled musty and gross. I checked out 20 minutes later. A customer service rep called the hotel for me to cancel my week reservation. I lost 1 night rate, but I am supposed to be getting refunded for the other 6 nights. It was worth it just to get out if there. And the rep also helped me find a new hotel. Jose at customer service was extrememly helpful getting me out of a disgusting room and into a WAY better one. Twice the cost, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scandanavia Shave ice is the bomb!! Best shave ice ever!

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neonlite13
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Good location, cheap hotel

The location of this hotel is good, almost walkable to the beach. However, the hotel itself is pretty run down; the rooms, especially the bathrooms and the elevators are old and almost repulsive. We didn't expect anything fancy, but it was worse than what we had even hoped for. The breakfast is helpful but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

disappointed

I was not expecting fancy, but I had hoped for more comfort. The staff was nice enough, but the room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, and the sliding glass door to the balcony wouldn't even close (despite the sticker on it that said to keep it closed!). I have stayed at other not-so-expensive places and found them way more appealing. Maybe we just had a bad room, but I would not return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
P168
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

bugs everywhere

The breakfast was ok. However, the room is dirty room and there were lots of cockroaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerm
Business
Kona, Hi.
Aug 2, 2010

Very BAD!!!!!!!!!

The rooms where very run down,the second day the only elevator went down ,they wouldnt call no one because it was on the weekend. So had to take stairs everytime you left,also take luggage down 3 floors,not good.We also had someone take item from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice veiws, and attractions.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edrella
Business
Arizona
Mar 28, 2012

Get a 4th floor room

We paid for "superior" room & ended up w very dirty, moldy 3rd floor w/ "partial view". However, when I complained to the front desk, they immediately upgraded us to 4th floor where it was much cleaner, acceptable room w beds double-sheeted. All staff were helpful except 1 man on last day who was a bit grumpy. Overall, 4th floor was worth the stay but I would not have stayed one more minute if we had to stay in 3rd floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Glass bottom dinner cruise was fun, but make sure you are clear on whether you're getting the coral view (not much to see) vs manta ray view.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deryl
Business
Erie, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Ants and dirty, but wonderful location

Looks like the kind of rooms my family stayed in during the 1950s. Restaurant on location was a business failure, and this place needs a serious renovation of the rooms. Filthy rugs and shabby drapes. But the positive is one of the best locations in all of Kona right opposite the Kona Inn and the nice shopping. Would recommend this place for those who have no problem with the great outdoors, but not for those who like "timeshare" level rooms and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snorklingJ
Business
California
Aug 9, 2012

Good overall for the cost

We stayed for 5 days in one room and returned a week later for two more nights in a different room. The pool is delightful, the staff very nice, and the location cannot be beat. However, the desk staff is always under staffed and overwhelmed, especially at check in times. We waited 45 minutes in line on our return stay. The breakfast is free but limited to coffee, juice and cheap breads... our kids would not eat it after 2 days. Worse, the rooms are very outdated, carpets worn, tiles falling off, unsafe balconies for toddlers. If you have young children, only stay on the ground floor. The elevators smell horribly. Our first room was worn and outdated, but clean. The second room was really gross -- the carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in years -- filthy and complete with cockroaches, stains and smell. If we were not so tired and only staying for 2 days, we would have requested to be moved. They just need to invest some in the property's repair and keep up the rooms to minimal standards. Would I go back? Yes because of the price, the pool and the location.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top