$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 15, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
171 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Perfect Weekend

Great view. Close to dining, attractions, and shopping. See full review

  • Kellie H.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 171
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunshine916
Business
sacramento , california
Aug 3, 2012

Not Great

This hotel, I laugh as I say hotel, it should not be titled hotel more like motel because it's not in the same class. The shower had no vent system, & green on the top of the bathroom, painted over to try to hide, and was dripping on me from the ceiling while I was sitting on the john! No maid, The continental breakfast was a waste of time, the coffee was like mud, and I couldn't finish past a sip. I am glad my boyfriend only wanted us to book two nights. We found a nicer place! Have a good trip! Kayaking and snorkeling there is WONDERFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Talon
Business
Kona, HI
Sep 25, 2011

You get what you pay for

I didn't expect a 4 star hotel, however there are some things I expect even in inexpensive hotels. The place is pretty old, which I expected however they don't keep it up very well. The breakfast was one type of fruit some bread which the toaster would only warm, coffee and juice. I was able to overlook all that but when the staff (the lady that worked in the breakfast area) was smoking in the eating area in front of the no smoking sign I had enough. At that point I decided to find another place to stay. Then the topper, at 2 in the morning I was abruptly awaken by a bursted water pipe that flooded my room. Never even received an "I'm sorry for your inconvienance". I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We ate at a place called Pesto's near Wiamea. Excellent food. I would eat there again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
c20
Business
san francisco, ca
May 10, 2011

Poor quality and unacceptable conditions

"Poor quality and unacceptable conditions" - my exact words when I called [...] to cancel my remaining 3 nights and move to the Royal Kona Resort.1. What they called "partial ocean view" is non-existent. ALL balconies overlook their parking lot and registration office. No view of the ocean.2. Room smells like urine. We went to Walmart to buy an air freshener, but that didn't work.3. Rusted and jammed showerhead. What else is there to say?4. Broken equipment - hair dryer doesn't work, light turns on 5 minutes after switching on, a/c fan is old, loud, and only had high setting.5. Received an instant bug bite on my face when I moved the bed sheets around.Overall, the conditions just killed the mood that you would expect when visiting Hawaii. For an extra $25 per night, we moved to another resort with much better quality rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Surf Hungry
Business
Michigan
Jan 2, 2010

Kona, Hawai'i

No comment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Jul 30, 2010

Very unsanitary

too many cockroaches

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington
Jun 26, 2008

Well never stay at this hotel again.

The carpet was very dirty, the bathroom tub was very slow going down the drain, there were cockroach running around in the room, and have a very strong smell in the room. Spend little bit more $$ to stay at a better and nice hotel on your vacation. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping malls is right across the street. As well as Dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sofiene B
Business
Tunisia
Oct 22, 2014

Cockroach alarm! Very dirty old place

The place was a nightmare to stay at. We met cockroaches in the restaurant and WC near the pool. Room fourniture was very dirty and old. Dirt and garbage in the floors. Avoid this place if you dont like insects and dirt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers Travelers
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 20, 2011

Great hotel for the price

The location rocks! You can walk anywere in North Kona, except big box stores, but who wants them in Hawaii?Decent guestroom - very clean. Rather retro, but we loved the wooden sliding patio doors and other original touches. The beds are very "sleepable". We would have liked more towels.The pool was nice. We would have liked a hot tub.[...] was very nice as well. The other guests were friendly. It is a great mid-level hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Hut - coffee; Kava Bar - Poke and Kava drinks; Thia restaurants were all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaclm
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Dealt with infestation

Took video of bugs/ants around the bed and showed it to the lobby personnel and they said to contact you to get a night free. My wife and I got bug bites around our bodies and it wasn't pleasant to sleep in an uncomfortable place. I had to clean the bugs every night. Please contact me soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edelia Space
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 19, 2012

Cheap n easy

Uncle Billy's is a spot for those looking for a no frills spot to rest your head in kona town. If your looking for the cheapest option and will only be there at night it'll work just fine but it's the kinda place you would be embarrassed to tell anyone who knows the area that it's where you are staying. Essentially it's the same as a motel 6. Not particularly clean and an interesing odor (esp in the elevator) but comfy enough beds. Don't expect too much info out of the front desk people either. Biggest recommendation is reserve your rental car before you arrive because this side of the island is often sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top