$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaz9827
Business
UK
Jan 8, 2013

Great location clean but dated and tired

The location of this hotel is great and the free breakfast although basic is very welcome along with the early morning coffee at reception at 5.30 am for those early starts. The room has everything you would need and my husband and I stayed for two weeks over xmas and new year 2012. I would happily stay here again and for a budge hotel it is quite good. Although the air conditioning did leak sometimes and was noisy it was not inconvenient. Staying on the ground floor was nice but again noisy but after about 9pm most people were quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling lady 2013
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 16, 2013

Affordable place with good location

My husband and I were touring the area and basically needed a place to stay to sleep and shower. This hotel was great for just that, but I am not sure if I would have wanted to lounge around in the room all day. It has a great location in downtown Kona though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stanski
Business
Sarasota Fl.
Feb 6, 2013

Old Kona Feeling

so good to be away from the big concrete buildings and mega crowds. good location, can walk to everything and just leave the car in their lot. if it's upscale and fancy you want....forget it but as a third world traveler.....everything worked and i felt right at home. kind of reminds me of Key West ....back in the day. " nuff said.." ( quote from TRINK ....Bangkok Post... back in the day )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

AHI TUNA....................

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
monogirl
Business
West Haven, CT
Feb 28, 2013

Great location and good price

I enjoyed my stay at the Kona Bay Hotel. It was affordably priced and in a prime location on the Kona waterfront. It is a little rough around the edges. The decor and construction is outdated and the rooms are in desperate need of new carpet but that kind of thing does not bother me. My main concern is cleanliness and our room was very clean. The main reason to stay here is the location which is within walking distance of many shops, attractions, and restaurants as well as the Royal Kona Luau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
knaw
Business
Kauai
Apr 4, 2013

Family reunion

We had 3 rooms and all 3 room were different, 2 better than the third which had a disablity shower which was not requested. Continental breakfast was good and the location was convenient. I was concerned about the parking - appeared to have people living in or drinking in some of the cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request room with rock wall, or at least with a bathtub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bucky from Duluth
Business
Sunnyvale, ca
Jul 16, 2013

Good location

The 2 Star rating is appropriate for this hotel. Great location in the center of Kona! Hotel is old but clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We had 3 rooms and all were nice, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oregon
Business
Portland OR
Jul 22, 2013

Location and free parking

Basics were met with decent bed, no bugs and terrific location and good staff. No air, but fan and once an breeze okay at night. They are trying to renovate too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Oldest church in Hawaii and palace short walk plus farmers market across street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Local from another island
Business
Oahu, HI
Jul 10, 2009

Uncle Billy at Kona!

It was good overall, Clean room and great friendly staff. Bit on noisy side at night since it is on main strip of Kona the Alii dr. Very HOT, had to keep A/C on. Can not do much about that since it is in Kona. The Internet was extra through ShakaNet and parking also, just $5 a day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for Dining, anything from local grinds like L & L, McDonald's to fancy restaurants are walking distance. One great thing about Kona!.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Mar 14, 2011

hawaii 5 'o'

What else do you need, bed, shower and toilet. Its a throwback to the 70's in the decor sense. Basic and no fuss. But who wants to stay in the hotel when its hot hot outside, hawaii rules, sun, sea, tropical fish, humpbackwales, tropical jungle and the friendliest people wherever you go on the island. don't just stay in kona. ALOHA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Walk around Kona and get a car, drive see the rest of the island, sit on the cliffs up north and whale watch, UNREAL........ then live there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Nov 24, 2010

Value for money

Rooms older style but clean and quiet, with refrigerator. Rooms have a balcony-pleasant place to sip coffee. Coffee provided, but creamer stale (hardened) both days - Management friendly and obliging, assured us they would rectify this. Generous breakfast with lovely fresh papaya included in tariff. No other meals available in the hotel. Location central to restaurants, shops and pier. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upstairs restaurant (can't remember the name)just past historic old church offers great meal deals, Hawaiian singer serenades while you dine, and great sea views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top