$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Pleasantly surprised

Friendly staff, excellent location and cute pool. Nothing fancy, but relatively inexpensive See full review

  • Akmarcia
  • Nov 19, 2014
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers Travelers
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 20, 2011

Great hotel for the price

The location rocks! You can walk anywere in North Kona, except big box stores, but who wants them in Hawaii?Decent guestroom - very clean. Rather retro, but we loved the wooden sliding patio doors and other original touches. The beds are very "sleepable". We would have liked more towels.The pool was nice. We would have liked a hot tub.[...] was very nice as well. The other guests were friendly. It is a great mid-level hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Java Hut - coffee; Kava Bar - Poke and Kava drinks; Thia restaurants were all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaclm
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Dealt with infestation

Took video of bugs/ants around the bed and showed it to the lobby personnel and they said to contact you to get a night free. My wife and I got bug bites around our bodies and it wasn't pleasant to sleep in an uncomfortable place. I had to clean the bugs every night. Please contact me soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edelia Space
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 19, 2012

Cheap n easy

Uncle Billy's is a spot for those looking for a no frills spot to rest your head in kona town. If your looking for the cheapest option and will only be there at night it'll work just fine but it's the kinda place you would be embarrassed to tell anyone who knows the area that it's where you are staying. Essentially it's the same as a motel 6. Not particularly clean and an interesing odor (esp in the elevator) but comfy enough beds. Don't expect too much info out of the front desk people either. Biggest recommendation is reserve your rental car before you arrive because this side of the island is often sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 24, 2012

Cheap hotel in center of town

The hotel location is good - close to the beach & shopping. The room location I had was terrible - heard loud conversations on both sides (registration area & parking entrance). The mini-refrigerator had rust around the edges. The cold breakfast was very limited - bread, english muffins, pastries, papaya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
808 Jerry
Business
Hilo, HI, USA
Feb 28, 2012

OK

Does the job if your not picky for a one or 2 night stay. Can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edrella
Business
Arizona
Mar 28, 2012

Get a 4th floor room

We paid for "superior" room & ended up w very dirty, moldy 3rd floor w/ "partial view". However, when I complained to the front desk, they immediately upgraded us to 4th floor where it was much cleaner, acceptable room w beds double-sheeted. All staff were helpful except 1 man on last day who was a bit grumpy. Overall, 4th floor was worth the stay but I would not have stayed one more minute if we had to stay in 3rd floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Glass bottom dinner cruise was fun, but make sure you are clear on whether you're getting the coral view (not much to see) vs manta ray view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deryl
Business
Erie, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Ants and dirty, but wonderful location

Looks like the kind of rooms my family stayed in during the 1950s. Restaurant on location was a business failure, and this place needs a serious renovation of the rooms. Filthy rugs and shabby drapes. But the positive is one of the best locations in all of Kona right opposite the Kona Inn and the nice shopping. Would recommend this place for those who have no problem with the great outdoors, but not for those who like "timeshare" level rooms and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shyshy808
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 29, 2012

Ok budget hotel

Upon check in the staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking is $5 a day and you need to prepay that, than they give you a pass. Right next to their parking lot is public parking and it's free. So save yourself the $5 and use it towards other things. Room: our first room # 2003 was decent and clean. The room had a coffee pot. Coffee and tea bags were available. The bathroom was clean, the bedding was clean the carpet needed a cleaning. Included was a small refrigerator and a cable tv. The A/c however, was not good at all. It was blowing HOT air ( keep in mind kona is very hot and humid). Called front desk and they switched our rooms to #1006, no coffee pot, broken refrigerator, and the a/c feel like a warm fan. Thank goodness for the celing fan. I would only recommend this hotel for dinning and shopping..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get shops and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
5unni
Business
Oahu
Aug 8, 2012

a resting place great

got to rest abit on a week day was fairly good breakfast was good maybe a morning news or music perhaps

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just enjoy the paradise breeze fresh ocean air and the awsome stars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snorklingJ
Business
California
Aug 9, 2012

Good overall for the cost

We stayed for 5 days in one room and returned a week later for two more nights in a different room. The pool is delightful, the staff very nice, and the location cannot be beat. However, the desk staff is always under staffed and overwhelmed, especially at check in times. We waited 45 minutes in line on our return stay. The breakfast is free but limited to coffee, juice and cheap breads... our kids would not eat it after 2 days. Worse, the rooms are very outdated, carpets worn, tiles falling off, unsafe balconies for toddlers. If you have young children, only stay on the ground floor. The elevators smell horribly. Our first room was worn and outdated, but clean. The second room was really gross -- the carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in years -- filthy and complete with cockroaches, stains and smell. If we were not so tired and only staying for 2 days, we would have requested to be moved. They just need to invest some in the property's repair and keep up the rooms to minimal standards. Would I go back? Yes because of the price, the pool and the location.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top