$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Pleasantly surprised

Friendly staff, excellent location and cute pool. Nothing fancy, but relatively inexpensive See full review

  • Akmarcia
  • Nov 19, 2014
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freediver
California, USA
Mar 30, 2012

love uncle billies

Im a diver and spend all my time in the water. uncle billies provides me a place to sleep free wi fi free parking neer hotel and all the free fresh papaya i can eat for breaktfast. For cheap rates. If your a diver or athlete on a budget you cant get much better. If your a yuppie that wants to be waited on all day in between your golfing you belong elsewere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerm
Business
Kona, Hi.
Aug 2, 2010

Very BAD!!!!!!!!!

The rooms where very run down,the second day the only elevator went down ,they wouldnt call no one because it was on the weekend. So had to take stairs everytime you left,also take luggage down 3 floors,not good.We also had someone take item from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice veiws, and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBCYJ
Business
nc
Dec 15, 2011

old bathrooms

Th bathrooms are very old and rusty. They need to remodel them very soon. The same for the rerig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mighty Marin Mom
Business
San Anselmo, CA
Jul 22, 2012

Needs Work

The best parts of the Kona Bay Hotel is its prime downtown Kona location, swimming pool, and landscaping near the lobby. Some of the downsides: to use other amenities (such as parking in their lot and internet access) guests must pay. When we first arrived we were given a ground floor room that was only marginally clean. Later in the evening we were advised that guests were not supposed to stay in our wing because of construction. We then were moved to another room and given an "upgrade". This second room was quieter and cleaner. For a downtown Kona hotel the price was relatively low but the quality of the furnishings reflected this low price. If you do stay there, look at your room first and consider asking for a different one if it is sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunshine916
Business
sacramento , california
Aug 3, 2012

Not Great

This hotel, I laugh as I say hotel, it should not be titled hotel more like motel because it's not in the same class. The shower had no vent system, & green on the top of the bathroom, painted over to try to hide, and was dripping on me from the ceiling while I was sitting on the john! No maid, The continental breakfast was a waste of time, the coffee was like mud, and I couldn't finish past a sip. I am glad my boyfriend only wanted us to book two nights. We found a nicer place! Have a good trip! Kayaking and snorkeling there is WONDERFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TAGV
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 13, 2012

I do not want to mislead...

the location of the hotel is actually really good, walking distance to whatever you may need. The staff are mostly friendly and the continental breakfast was fine. The room was hideous, It had areas outside the bathroom that smelled like urine, and had hair on the shower wall and the bed. It does have cable and free wi-fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missmomm
Business
Ventura, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Horrible disappointment

Booked a full week here, I knew it wasn't the greatest place, but the reviews made it sound simple and clean-- I was expecting a no-frills motor-in with not many amenities, and a good location. It is NOT seaside, as the name implies-- it's across the street and a couple blocks from any water. No beach. The front desk older ladies were so slow and took care of whatever paperwork was in front of them without acknowledging that I was standing there. When we finally got our room I was horrified. I'm a seasoned traveller and not a snob-- but 5 minutes in my room and I had to get out. The mattress was so old and had stains on the sides which indicate bedbugs. The bedding was old and crumbly. The bathroom was like a 1960s motorhome--cheap construction that didn't hold up over time and was never kept clean. I was sure I'd get some kind of disease staying there. The pool was nearby below us and the kids screaming in it made it necessary to close the windows and the AC smelled musty and gross. I checked out 20 minutes later. A customer service rep called the hotel for me to cancel my week reservation. I lost 1 night rate, but I am supposed to be getting refunded for the other 6 nights. It was worth it just to get out if there. And the rep also helped me find a new hotel. Jose at customer service was extrememly helpful getting me out of a disgusting room and into a WAY better one. Twice the cost, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scandanavia Shave ice is the bomb!! Best shave ice ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neonlite13
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Good location, cheap hotel

The location of this hotel is good, almost walkable to the beach. However, the hotel itself is pretty run down; the rooms, especially the bathrooms and the elevators are old and almost repulsive. We didn't expect anything fancy, but it was worse than what we had even hoped for. The breakfast is helpful but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

disappointed

I was not expecting fancy, but I had hoped for more comfort. The staff was nice enough, but the room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, and the sliding glass door to the balcony wouldn't even close (despite the sticker on it that said to keep it closed!). I have stayed at other not-so-expensive places and found them way more appealing. Maybe we just had a bad room, but I would not return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maxwell from Idaho
Business
Coeurdalene Idaho
Mar 5, 2014

Room at Uncle Billy's

Room was dirty, smelled bad. Checked out a day early without a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Talon
Business
Kona, HI
Sep 25, 2011

You get what you pay for

I didn't expect a 4 star hotel, however there are some things I expect even in inexpensive hotels. The place is pretty old, which I expected however they don't keep it up very well. The breakfast was one type of fruit some bread which the toaster would only warm, coffee and juice. I was able to overlook all that but when the staff (the lady that worked in the breakfast area) was smoking in the eating area in front of the no smoking sign I had enough. At that point I decided to find another place to stay. Then the topper, at 2 in the morning I was abruptly awaken by a bursted water pipe that flooded my room. Never even received an "I'm sorry for your inconvienance". I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We ate at a place called Pesto's near Wiamea. Excellent food. I would eat there again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top