$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
163 reviews
Great Location, live like a local!

Very comfortable, great setting, wonderful staff!!! See full review

  • Rene K.
  • Mar 17, 2015
overnight stay

The hotel is in a great location. Walking to restaurants and shopping and especially the ocean! We... See full review

  • Jimbobillybob
  • Jun 1, 2015
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Property features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 163
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbobillybob
Business
N/A
Jun 1, 2015

overnight stay

The hotel is in a great location. Walking to restaurants and shopping and especially the ocean! We would definitely stay again. NO extra fees at time of check in, like many other hotels. At booking, the price is the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul M.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

nice getaway

Enjoyed the room and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ian M.
Business
Seattle
Apr 6, 2015

Nice pool. Not nice cockroaches.

The hotel is ideally located. The pool is nice. The staff is wonderful. On the other hand, I can still feel the impression each coil in the mattress left on my back. The cockroaches smashed against the room windows were delightful. The bathroom sink faucet was broken. Great hotel if you're bumming in Kona with your bros, but not so much with your kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HEE JIN K.
Business
Chonansi
Feb 27, 2015

Good for the price

little disappointed after a long fright and drive from the airport. It is very old hotel and breakfast is not good. Parking lot is in outside of the hotel and no security there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa B.
Business
Tucson
Feb 25, 2015

You get what you pay for

This was a very affordable place to stay in a great location. That said, the room was very much in need of updating, the bathroom wasn't very clean, and the street noise in the morning (we were in the front) was loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nisha m.
Business
scottsdale
Jan 5, 2015

Average stay below my expectations

Got the deal for a night's stay at Christmas time when other hotels were quite pricey so chose it. Upon arrival at 5 PM (check in time was 3 PM) , after about 20 mins of being with check in staff, we were informed that room has not been allocated and will take some more time to be ready... bummer. Left for other activities to come back later. Room itself was below expectation and outdated, there was a gap in curtains which I used my hair clip to close to be able to sleep and the AC made significant noise. Upon informing hotel staff we were told maintenance will be on way, and after waiting for about half an hr, were told that we could get a 3 twin bed room as compared to our 2 full beds which would not have sufficed for our family of four so had to stay in the same room with loud noise. However, there were no insects as I read in other reviews which was good.. breakfast was simple ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are new to the Big Island, look for Spotlight Hawaii magazine (available on most brochure stands free of cost) and plan your sightseeing. Was very helpful to us and we could cover most in first trip ! Dont take heavy jackets and winter gear if you are pressed on luggage via flight, just stay in the car to view Mauna Kea summit to enjoy sunset or sunrise...

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Movingup
Business
North West, Iowa
Oct 21, 2014

Good price for a quick stay

We didn't require any special needs or attention, so this was a great location and price. The Hotel needs some TLC, but for just a bed for the night, I can't complain. We enjoyed the pool and the free Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance, and that made getting around great!

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Percy J
Business
Kealakekua
Jul 6, 2014

Great Location

Our family stayed at this hotel for the forth of July parade and fireworks. Although the rooms could use some updating we had a good experience. It was a great location and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RenataBoston
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2014

Nice location, but dirty rooms

The hotel is located in the center of action. Unfortunately they need more staff and rooms are filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

disappointed

I was not expecting fancy, but I had hoped for more comfort. The staff was nice enough, but the room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, and the sliding glass door to the balcony wouldn't even close (despite the sticker on it that said to keep it closed!). I have stayed at other not-so-expensive places and found them way more appealing. Maybe we just had a bad room, but I would not return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top