$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Uncle Billy's

I have stayed many times at Uncle Billy's and I'm always happy to go back. The Location is... See full review

  • Leo S.
  • Aug 16, 2015
Great Location, live like a local!

Very comfortable, great setting, wonderful staff!!! See full review

  • Rene K.
  • Mar 17, 2015
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Property features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

★★
$100
3.6 / 5 218 reviews
★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 431 reviews
★★★
$135
4.0 / 5 137 reviews
★★★
$108
5.0 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$165
3.8 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$137
3.9 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$179
4.4 / 5 10 reviews

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olih
Single
Hilo, HI, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Cheap

Great location for the price. Close to everything. Great continently breakfast nice staff. Comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to everything

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HIGURL97
Family
Hilo, HI, USA
Mar 15, 2012

AWESOME FAMILY GETAWAY

MY FAMILY AND I HAD A GREAT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, WHEN CHECKING IN WE GOT A FREE UPGRADE TO A OCEAN VIEW ROOM WITH A LANAI IT WAS A WONDERFUL VIEW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dame Judy
Family
Tucson AZ & Philadelphia
Apr 11, 2012

Sister-in-laws

Helpful staff and parking plus filling breakfast items. Only one night so not many 'experiences".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kona Hawaii
Jan 22, 2013

Excellent

Awesome location, friendly and gracious staff quick response to any request, budget friendly. Highly recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island Commuter
Business
Hilo
Apr 12, 2013

Love Uncle Billy's

Uncle Billy's is not the big fancy luxury hotel, but when in Kona, you shouldn't be spending all your time in your hotel anyway. I'm a Big Island commuter & travel between Hilo & Kona on a weekly basis. I don't need the fancy. They are centrally located on beautiful Ali'i Drive & so close to everything I need. Their staff are soooo friendly & I always feel welcome & comfortable. This is not a a four season resort, BUT it is sincere & homely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Bookstore in Hawaii is just a few blocks away in old industrial. Kona Bay Books. Holy cow! It's huge! Book lovers dream place. I often go there after work.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninet
Family
La. California
Apr 19, 2013

Fantastic

So good to be tru the hotel was very close of evethin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muttheads
Single
Sparks, NV
Oct 28, 2013

Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and property with all sorts of lush plants and flowers. I will come back to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 2 blocks

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Billy's Family Resort
Couples
Barrow, Alaska
Dec 31, 2010

Kona Bay Hotel

We explored the beautiful island and it's unique earthly surroundings and friendly people that live there. We felt very comfortable staying at Uncle Billy's place, the staff were welcoming, and very supportive, we met Uncle Billy and it was a pleasure meeting him in person. We wanted to stay longer but we will next time we go there. This was a wonderful adventure for us and one we will never forget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful short walks to the shops, places to eat out, and beautiful sites to see along the beach walk ways, the friendly people, and very warm weather for December!

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2007

excellent value for the money

We had a great time and the location is great. Right downtown. We used lots of towels at the beaches and always had more at the room. Large beds, very confortable.Downtown location is unbelieveable. I would recommend Uncle Billys to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for night life and restaurants. Leave your car in the hotel lot and walk anywhere

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oahu Hawaii
Sep 8, 2009

Uncle Billys

I loved it very relaxing , very convenient location , and the staff was very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top