$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
175 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Vacation

Came in late, lovely place. Accommodating for late check out See full review

  • Wendy S.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snorklingJ
Business
California
Aug 9, 2012

Good overall for the cost

We stayed for 5 days in one room and returned a week later for two more nights in a different room. The pool is delightful, the staff very nice, and the location cannot be beat. However, the desk staff is always under staffed and overwhelmed, especially at check in times. We waited 45 minutes in line on our return stay. The breakfast is free but limited to coffee, juice and cheap breads... our kids would not eat it after 2 days. Worse, the rooms are very outdated, carpets worn, tiles falling off, unsafe balconies for toddlers. If you have young children, only stay on the ground floor. The elevators smell horribly. Our first room was worn and outdated, but clean. The second room was really gross -- the carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in years -- filthy and complete with cockroaches, stains and smell. If we were not so tired and only staying for 2 days, we would have requested to be moved. They just need to invest some in the property's repair and keep up the rooms to minimal standards. Would I go back? Yes because of the price, the pool and the location.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
5unni
Business
Oahu
Aug 8, 2012

a resting place great

got to rest abit on a week day was fairly good breakfast was good maybe a morning news or music perhaps

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just enjoy the paradise breeze fresh ocean air and the awsome stars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling w 10 month old
Business
Oregon
Aug 4, 2012

Budget hotel, great location

Huge difference between 2nd and 4th floor rooms. Upgrade to 4th floor if you can. Free parking 5 steps away from $5 a night parking at hotel. Great location, steps away from beaches, food and shops. Super budget and old 2nd floor rooms, 4th floor renovated to motel 6 level. We enjoyed our stay, but wouldn't return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Huggos on the Rocks for baby friendly live music sunset cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunshine916
Business
sacramento , california
Aug 3, 2012

Not Great

This hotel, I laugh as I say hotel, it should not be titled hotel more like motel because it's not in the same class. The shower had no vent system, & green on the top of the bathroom, painted over to try to hide, and was dripping on me from the ceiling while I was sitting on the john! No maid, The continental breakfast was a waste of time, the coffee was like mud, and I couldn't finish past a sip. I am glad my boyfriend only wanted us to book two nights. We found a nicer place! Have a good trip! Kayaking and snorkeling there is WONDERFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl26
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 23, 2012

Good for short period of stay days

Good for short period of days for the quick get away with free internet and free parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mighty Marin Mom
Business
San Anselmo, CA
Jul 22, 2012

Needs Work

The best parts of the Kona Bay Hotel is its prime downtown Kona location, swimming pool, and landscaping near the lobby. Some of the downsides: to use other amenities (such as parking in their lot and internet access) guests must pay. When we first arrived we were given a ground floor room that was only marginally clean. Later in the evening we were advised that guests were not supposed to stay in our wing because of construction. We then were moved to another room and given an "upgrade". This second room was quieter and cleaner. For a downtown Kona hotel the price was relatively low but the quality of the furnishings reflected this low price. If you do stay there, look at your room first and consider asking for a different one if it is sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shawn K
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 14, 2012

Good value, Great location

I stayed here for two single night stays, separated by a night... I flew over for 3 nights from Maui. First time on the Big Island. It was the best deal for published rate room I could find. It's in an excellent location... and the room space and setup is nice... everything is just a bit old and basic ... nothing is upscale or shiny new. I didn't have any problems... I thought it was a good value overall. It may not be the place you want to stay for a 10 day vacation.. depending on what you are looking for. For me,I just need a bed to crash in and a shower... both of which were fine... and the rest of the time I am out doing something. This is in walking distance to so many things - that's the best part. Everything else is average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reef Rash
Business
Ft. Collins, Co.
Jun 23, 2012

Hawwaii getaway

Hotel is dated but is great for a base location in order to visit the entire island. Beaches, volcano's shopping is all close at hand. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Ali'i drive for main meals, much better venues a very short walk from main drag.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deryl
Business
Erie, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Ants and dirty, but wonderful location

Looks like the kind of rooms my family stayed in during the 1950s. Restaurant on location was a business failure, and this place needs a serious renovation of the rooms. Filthy rugs and shabby drapes. But the positive is one of the best locations in all of Kona right opposite the Kona Inn and the nice shopping. Would recommend this place for those who have no problem with the great outdoors, but not for those who like "timeshare" level rooms and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill 20902
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jun 4, 2012

Ocean view, not so much

Pleasant place all around. However, note that this place doesn't really offer ocean view, in part because the hotel is a couple blocks from the ocean. Also, although we paid extra for "Superior, partial ocean-view," we initially only viewed the top of visiting cruise ships. I was told this is a mistake on Orb's part (had to misspell to enter this info). You must reserve a fourth floor room to see water and it's not all that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top