$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Country Farmer
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Great location, room okay, kinda dinky

The bed was not very comfortable and the A/C & heater didn't really work that well. The front desk was very slow but generally helpful. The hotel is nice from the exterior. The location is great, right in the middle of downtown Kona, on the main street (although there isn't that much to do in Kona). There wasn't a shuttle to the airport and the taxi was about $35. There was free wireless internet which was good. The pool looked good although I didn't have time to go, and I also didn't have time to hit breakfast which was only between 6:30 and 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out of the hotel and go right, in the first (immediate) shopping area on the right, go all the way to the back and there's a great little dive bar back there on the left.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkel Nana
Business
Aptos, California
Mar 6, 2013

In the heart of the action

One night at Uncle Billie's before heading home. We wanted to be close to the airport. For the money this was the best bet. Walked to a wonderful dinner. Marketplace 1/2 block away. Breakfast buffet an unexpected surprise complete with lovely songstress! No time for the pool,but it looked cool and our lanai overlooked all the action from the fourth floor. It is an old hotel,but we found it better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant across the street at the Kona Inn

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
monogirl
Business
West Haven, CT
Feb 28, 2013

Great location and good price

I enjoyed my stay at the Kona Bay Hotel. It was affordably priced and in a prime location on the Kona waterfront. It is a little rough around the edges. The decor and construction is outdated and the rooms are in desperate need of new carpet but that kind of thing does not bother me. My main concern is cleanliness and our room was very clean. The main reason to stay here is the location which is within walking distance of many shops, attractions, and restaurants as well as the Royal Kona Luau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling Canuck
Business
Vancouver
Feb 21, 2013

Great location, needs some updating

We arrived late and booked in. The front counter politely told us only ground floor units were available and that we would have to pay for anything better. The bathroom had very visible mold and the room was in considerable disrepair. We complained about the mold and were moved without complaint to another room. The new room was still tired looking but in better shape than the first. The location is premium, the staff nice, but considering the location, the hotel could stand to throw a little money towards the property to make it feel like something had been touched in the last decade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan Snail
Business
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Feb 18, 2013

Very Good For It's Age

Friendly Staff. Great Location, Housekeeping inconsistent (coffee and soap not replaced everyday, vaccumming done randomly) rooms need updated air conditioning, (current units too noisy to operate during sleeping hours). Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stanski
Business
Sarasota Fl.
Feb 6, 2013

Old Kona Feeling

so good to be away from the big concrete buildings and mega crowds. good location, can walk to everything and just leave the car in their lot. if it's upscale and fancy you want....forget it but as a third world traveler.....everything worked and i felt right at home. kind of reminds me of Key West ....back in the day. " nuff said.." ( quote from TRINK ....Bangkok Post... back in the day )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

AHI TUNA....................

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly M
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Feb 4, 2013

Uncle Billy's was perfect for me

I stayed at Uncle Billy's for 8 nights. It was a $32 cab ride and couldn't have been easier to get there. The check-in process was quick and easy and everyone was friendly. It was 7:30pm. Every morning there was fresh papaya, toast, juice and really good Kona coffee, all free! The hotel pool worked for me and I loved the hotel location. My favorite part of the room was the balcony which got morning sun, and afternoon sun too! Obviously from the price, this is not a modern hotel with upgraded rooms. If you are looking for a spa experience, go someplace else. If you want a room at a good price in a great location, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggo's is a great place for the sunset

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichaelS7
Business
Staten Island
Jan 30, 2013

In Town

The WI FI, just added to it. Room was large and clean. Everything worked and it was in town close to all the things we wanted to do. They have a lot to stay for $5 a day, but they told us there was a lot behind them free and that is where we parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For some reason they put restaurants behind other stores on main street so you have to hunt a little to find them. But there are MANY choices!

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Dreamin'
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Budget hotel, good location

Nothing fancy, good location in Kona. $5 to park car in their lot but there is municipal lot next door which is free if you can find a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big brother 7809
Business
New Orleans
Jan 25, 2013

A place to rest.

Very old and needs lots of work. It was a place to rest after a very long day of traveling. Not the worst we have stayed in, but close. Dirty carpets, sagging bedding, mold in bathroom, paint peeling, veneer peeling off, etc. Location is great but deferred maintenance makes it the last time we stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top