$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
175 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Vacation

Came in late, lovely place. Accommodating for late check out See full review

  • Wendy S.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
monogirl
Business
West Haven, CT
Feb 28, 2013

Great location and good price

I enjoyed my stay at the Kona Bay Hotel. It was affordably priced and in a prime location on the Kona waterfront. It is a little rough around the edges. The decor and construction is outdated and the rooms are in desperate need of new carpet but that kind of thing does not bother me. My main concern is cleanliness and our room was very clean. The main reason to stay here is the location which is within walking distance of many shops, attractions, and restaurants as well as the Royal Kona Luau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling Canuck
Business
Vancouver
Feb 21, 2013

Great location, needs some updating

We arrived late and booked in. The front counter politely told us only ground floor units were available and that we would have to pay for anything better. The bathroom had very visible mold and the room was in considerable disrepair. We complained about the mold and were moved without complaint to another room. The new room was still tired looking but in better shape than the first. The location is premium, the staff nice, but considering the location, the hotel could stand to throw a little money towards the property to make it feel like something had been touched in the last decade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan Snail
Business
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Feb 18, 2013

Very Good For It's Age

Friendly Staff. Great Location, Housekeeping inconsistent (coffee and soap not replaced everyday, vaccumming done randomly) rooms need updated air conditioning, (current units too noisy to operate during sleeping hours). Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stanski
Business
Sarasota Fl.
Feb 6, 2013

Old Kona Feeling

so good to be away from the big concrete buildings and mega crowds. good location, can walk to everything and just leave the car in their lot. if it's upscale and fancy you want....forget it but as a third world traveler.....everything worked and i felt right at home. kind of reminds me of Key West ....back in the day. " nuff said.." ( quote from TRINK ....Bangkok Post... back in the day )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

AHI TUNA....................

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly M
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Feb 4, 2013

Uncle Billy's was perfect for me

I stayed at Uncle Billy's for 8 nights. It was a $32 cab ride and couldn't have been easier to get there. The check-in process was quick and easy and everyone was friendly. It was 7:30pm. Every morning there was fresh papaya, toast, juice and really good Kona coffee, all free! The hotel pool worked for me and I loved the hotel location. My favorite part of the room was the balcony which got morning sun, and afternoon sun too! Obviously from the price, this is not a modern hotel with upgraded rooms. If you are looking for a spa experience, go someplace else. If you want a room at a good price in a great location, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggo's is a great place for the sunset

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichaelS7
Business
Staten Island
Jan 30, 2013

In Town

The WI FI, just added to it. Room was large and clean. Everything worked and it was in town close to all the things we wanted to do. They have a lot to stay for $5 a day, but they told us there was a lot behind them free and that is where we parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For some reason they put restaurants behind other stores on main street so you have to hunt a little to find them. But there are MANY choices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Dreamin'
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Budget hotel, good location

Nothing fancy, good location in Kona. $5 to park car in their lot but there is municipal lot next door which is free if you can find a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big brother 7809
Business
New Orleans
Jan 25, 2013

A place to rest.

Very old and needs lots of work. It was a place to rest after a very long day of traveling. Not the worst we have stayed in, but close. Dirty carpets, sagging bedding, mold in bathroom, paint peeling, veneer peeling off, etc. Location is great but deferred maintenance makes it the last time we stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kona Hawaii
Jan 22, 2013

Excellent

Awesome location, friendly and gracious staff quick response to any request, budget friendly. Highly recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling lady 2013
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 16, 2013

Affordable place with good location

My husband and I were touring the area and basically needed a place to stay to sleep and shower. This hotel was great for just that, but I am not sure if I would have wanted to lounge around in the room all day. It has a great location in downtown Kona though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top