$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jul 18, 2010

Uncle Billy's Kona

A hotel with all the basics and a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AW single traveler
Business
Seattle area, WA
Apr 22, 2010

Exceptional Staff

Staff was excellent, but that's as far as it goes. The place is really run down and just seems to be hanging on the edge of maintaining operations. Everything is tired, worn and dated and seems like a total compromise. Too bad because the location is prime, but that's it. The place doesn't look like it's had any updates for 30 years (or more). But the staff and [...] are genuinely nice people, and I felt great since all I needed was a clean bed, and that's all I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy any activites before you go. Wait till you get there, but research all that you think you'd like to do. There are dozens of operators there that will beat any price you would get from the internet, and ask plenty of questions regarding locations and pick up drop off....you don't want to be wasting time driving to Hilo when you're in Kona. Roberts Hawaii tours (Circle Island Tour) is a waste of time if you have a car...and you should definitely have a car since you can see everything yourself at your own pace. But if you are coming for only a day, and don't want to drive, then I highly recommend it. Otherwise, call (or e-mail) for the iteniary and then just drive to those places you think you'd like and skip the others (e.g. the lowest bakery in the US). There's a lot more to do and see if you have a car for the same time frame of the 12 hour day. Moutain Thunder coffee was interesting, and the staff was especially friendly...but then again, it seemed that the entire population of this Island was like that...truly the Aloha spirit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chad I.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

New Years Kona vacation

The overall appearance of the hotel was decent enough. We honestly weren't expecting anything extravagant with the price we paid. Some of the staff weren't very friendly, no number for room service in the rooms, our bottle of shampoo and lotion were already used and half empty, and our AC barely put out any cold air. I wanted to like this place because of the location and price but I don't think I could recommend this place to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nisha m.
Business
scottsdale
Jan 5, 2015

Average stay below my expectations

Got the deal for a night's stay at Christmas time when other hotels were quite pricey so chose it. Upon arrival at 5 PM (check in time was 3 PM) , after about 20 mins of being with check in staff, we were informed that room has not been allocated and will take some more time to be ready... bummer. Left for other activities to come back later. Room itself was below expectation and outdated, there was a gap in curtains which I used my hair clip to close to be able to sleep and the AC made significant noise. Upon informing hotel staff we were told maintenance will be on way, and after waiting for about half an hr, were told that we could get a 3 twin bed room as compared to our 2 full beds which would not have sufficed for our family of four so had to stay in the same room with loud noise. However, there were no insects as I read in other reviews which was good.. breakfast was simple ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are new to the Big Island, look for Spotlight Hawaii magazine (available on most brochure stands free of cost) and plan your sightseeing. Was very helpful to us and we could cover most in first trip ! Dont take heavy jackets and winter gear if you are pressed on luggage via flight, just stay in the car to view Mauna Kea summit to enjoy sunset or sunrise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HEE JIN K.
Business
Chonansi
Feb 27, 2015

Good for the price

little disappointed after a long fright and drive from the airport. It is very old hotel and breakfast is not good. Parking lot is in outside of the hotel and no security there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ian M.
Business
Seattle
Apr 6, 2015

Nice pool. Not nice cockroaches.

The hotel is ideally located. The pool is nice. The staff is wonderful. On the other hand, I can still feel the impression each coil in the mattress left on my back. The cockroaches smashed against the room windows were delightful. The bathroom sink faucet was broken. Great hotel if you're bumming in Kona with your bros, but not so much with your kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aloha al
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 13, 2014

Good

Good price for average hotel friendly staff convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eric san
Business
Yokohama , Japan
Jan 23, 2014

Lacation

Location is quite good in the center of the Kona Near the beach. There are many restauranyts near the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recent mainland transplan
Business
Big Island, Hawaii
Jan 23, 2014

Bargain in the heart of town

The location is the best thing going here. Right on Alii drive. Perfect bargain hotel if you want to be located in the heart of Kona. The room class that I rented did not come with a cofee maker in the room but coffee is available at the front desk from 5 - 6:30 AM. Free breakfast (fruit, pastries, bread/toast, juice, coffee) for two hours every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers market right across the street. Great deals on local produce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shoey
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2014

good for a one night stay

Good value, booked last minute, and they were good for the check in. Internet was solid. Thry get dinged because they charge 5 dollars for parking in a sketchy lot. And because the police had some big operation with a pair of arrests as i was checking in. Not terrible, got what i expected for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top