$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Pleasantly surprised

Friendly staff, excellent location and cute pool. Nothing fancy, but relatively inexpensive See full review

  • Akmarcia
  • Nov 19, 2014
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island Commuter
Business
Hilo
Apr 12, 2013

Love Uncle Billy's

Uncle Billy's is not the big fancy luxury hotel, but when in Kona, you shouldn't be spending all your time in your hotel anyway. I'm a Big Island commuter & travel between Hilo & Kona on a weekly basis. I don't need the fancy. They are centrally located on beautiful Ali'i Drive & so close to everything I need. Their staff are soooo friendly & I always feel welcome & comfortable. This is not a a four season resort, BUT it is sincere & homely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Bookstore in Hawaii is just a few blocks away in old industrial. Kona Bay Books. Holy cow! It's huge! Book lovers dream place. I often go there after work.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soobie
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 11, 2013

Just okay

Service checking in was a little slow. The hotel needs to be renovated-it's time. Our room had just been painted and still had a wet paint sign hanging (and a picture on the bed) but that did not help the shoddy appearance of the place. We stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel prior to this and I would definitely recommend that instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weatherbeast
Business
Millinocket, ME
Apr 8, 2013

Bang for the buck at Uncle Billy's

Uncle Billy's was perfect for my wife and me. Central location made it perfect for us to get to restaurants, stores and the public beach and public pier. Pick ups for tours were nearby, although not right at Uncle Billy's doorstep. We were upgraded to an upper floor room with balcony at no extra charge which we realize my never happen again, but it was appreciated and my wife loved the view. A great farmers' market was less than a hundred yards from our door. One drawback was the lack of a micorwave for heating food. We did have a refrigerator, a coffee maker and a hair dryer. We are going back for a couple more days at the end of our Hawaiian vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers' Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
knaw
Business
Kauai
Apr 4, 2013

Family reunion

We had 3 rooms and all 3 room were different, 2 better than the third which had a disablity shower which was not requested. Continental breakfast was good and the location was convenient. I was concerned about the parking - appeared to have people living in or drinking in some of the cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request room with rock wall, or at least with a bathtub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDonakos
Business
Hubbard Lake, Michigan
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location!

The staff is friendly and warm. Beautiful Flowers and foilage everywhere. If your looking for a 5 star motel, there are plenty down the street. This was a great location and we would stay there again and again. Thank you Uncle Billy's for a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC Shopping Stores Every corner...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amberskor
Business
Montana
Mar 23, 2013

Kona uncle billies

I have a condo in Kona but it wasn't available. I had read some negative reviews about uncle billie's, but I have to say I loved it. It is very dated and in desperate need of some TLC, but is exactly what you pay for. My condo is $245/night if rented thru Cheap Tickets, and the $85/night for Uncle Billies was excellent. The bathroom did smell and the tiles in need of scrubbing, but the pool was clean, staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Old Boots
Business
Sacramento, California
Mar 13, 2013

Two days at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Uncle Billy's proved to be what I expected, a low-cost place to stay, but not a place you'd want to stay for more than a few days. Our room wasn't bad, although it was old. It was of average size and had nice, new furnishings. The beds were comfortable. The bath was adequate. The TV was an old fuzzy tube with few channels, but then we didn't come to Kona to watch TV. The room did have a balcony that you could sit on, which would have been nice except that it was always noisy outside. The hotel's location was better than expected, right in the center of everything down town. Parking cost an extra $5 per day but was worth it. You can park for free in the public lot right behind Billy's lot, but at times the public lot get filled, so we paid the five. In the morning, there is a complimentary continental breakfast -coffee, juice, pastries, toast, muffins and mango. We enjoyed it. Our main complaint had to do with the noise. On our first night, there was a party in the room next to us that the security guard didn't stop, even though quiet time is supposed to start at 10 PM. Fortunately, the air conditioning unit puts out a roar of white noise, which was almost enough to drown out the party. The next night there was no party, but people just seem to walk about Uncle Billy's shouting at one another, apparently oblivious to the fact that they aren't the only ones around. It's not the kind of behavior that would be tolerated in a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggo's on the Rocks - tables are actually set in the sand. And some nights they have Hawaiian music, live.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dave gone travelin
Business
hilo
Mar 12, 2013

a good experience

Good service and clean room. Centrally located. The continental breakfast was simple but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Country Farmer
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Great location, room okay, kinda dinky

The bed was not very comfortable and the A/C & heater didn't really work that well. The front desk was very slow but generally helpful. The hotel is nice from the exterior. The location is great, right in the middle of downtown Kona, on the main street (although there isn't that much to do in Kona). There wasn't a shuttle to the airport and the taxi was about $35. There was free wireless internet which was good. The pool looked good although I didn't have time to go, and I also didn't have time to hit breakfast which was only between 6:30 and 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out of the hotel and go right, in the first (immediate) shopping area on the right, go all the way to the back and there's a great little dive bar back there on the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkel Nana
Business
Aptos, California
Mar 6, 2013

In the heart of the action

One night at Uncle Billie's before heading home. We wanted to be close to the airport. For the money this was the best bet. Walked to a wonderful dinner. Marketplace 1/2 block away. Breakfast buffet an unexpected surprise complete with lovely songstress! No time for the pool,but it looked cool and our lanai overlooked all the action from the fourth floor. It is an old hotel,but we found it better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant across the street at the Kona Inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top