$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neonlite13
Family
Fremont, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Good location, cheap hotel

The location of this hotel is good, almost walkable to the beach. However, the hotel itself is pretty run down; the rooms, especially the bathrooms and the elevators are old and almost repulsive. We didn't expect anything fancy, but it was worse than what we had even hoped for. The breakfast is helpful but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bucky from Duluth
Family
Sunnyvale, ca
Jul 16, 2013

Good location

The 2 Star rating is appropriate for this hotel. Great location in the center of Kona! Hotel is old but clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We had 3 rooms and all were nice, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrandMrsDixon
Couples
Rocklin, CA
Jun 20, 2013

Great staff and location - needs some updating!

I'm not picky with hotels, but this one was pretty bad. CONS: -Shower went cold every 30 seconds due to someone flushing a toilet. -Waited 3 hours for our room to be cleaned and we still got the wrong room (we asked for a king) -Toilet seat lifted up when someone in the other room sat down! -Breakfast was literally papayas, toast and mini muffins if you don't sleep in past 8:15 -Patio doors don't close and barely lock -A/C unit is really loud! -The garage truck came at like 5am then they started leaf blowing at 6:30am! We could hear people in all the rooms around us. PROS: -Great location -Friendly staff -Geckos that ate the ants on the patio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vandy H
Family
Billings, Mt
Jun 6, 2013

Not for us

Pros: Really nice Staff, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! Lovely live music by the pool at breakfast! Cons: Our room was really quite dirty looking! My 8 year old daughter didn't even want to take a shower there. There was mold & even someone else's short n curly's in the shower, that did not come from us! Just gross! I thought I knew what I was walking into, with the mind set, we are only there to sleep, but it was a bit more unpleasant than I expected, and we love Rustic. This was NOT rustic, it's severely outdated, but the good news, half of it is currently under Renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O and H
Couples
South Dakota
May 27, 2013

Convenient, clean, comfortable

Large room. Central aircon. Overhead fan. Free wifi. 2 armchairs and a desk chair. a balcony with two chairs. Bed with 5 pillows was comfortable. Towels changed everyday with complimentary soap & shampoo. Tiny fridge. A safe for valuables. Elevator. Lots of free parking in the extended parking lot. Convenient walk to shops across the street and to the pier. Continental breakfast of toast and papaya while being serenaded by a sweet lady with her ukelele.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Best free night show on the Big Island is at the Visitor's Center on Mauna Kea from sunset to 10 pm everyday. It's 6 miles off Highway 200 on very good roads for ordinary cars. Obey speed limits on the twisty narrow roads (saw 2 accidents along the way).

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
running solo
Single
Texas
May 24, 2013

Price/value is great

Uncle Billy's is right downtown. Walk out of the hotel and you are in the middle of the action. Beach across the street, restaurants, shops, pier down the street. I am glad I canceled my reservation at a much more expensive resort. Currently being remodeled. No traffic noise in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on the helicopter tour out of Hilo. Much cheaper, $175 verse $400.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A M Always
Couples
Oahu, HI
May 18, 2013

It was a good deal!

Great location. Pretty setting. Adequate for the basics. Included continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel were great shops- one especially for children. This grandma had fun shopping there! A great ice cream/smoothie place there, too.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PuuOoPaul
Volcano, Hawaii
May 15, 2013

4 Stars for a 2 Star Hotel

This is an acceptable hotel for locals that don't spend too much time in the room and if they're looking for a no frills hotel experience. It had hot water, the toilet flushed, and there were no bed bugs. As for location, this hotel has all the other hotels beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
antneeeeeeee
Couples
alaska
May 12, 2013

shared room with the roaches

hotel used to be a great place to stay. now restaurant closed. and place is pretty run down. but staff were helpful and plesant. But whatever you do don't take Go airlines to the Island or anywhere. they ruined our vacation,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

spend a few extra $$$ and take Hawaiian Airlines

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GUSSIGU
Couples
Zurich
Apr 30, 2013

A bit run down.

The hotel is not very well maintained. Needs a facelifting. Breakfast only until 09:00 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top