$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDonakos
Business
Hubbard Lake, Michigan
Oct 29, 2013

Perfect Location, BEAUTIFUL VIEW.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The shopping and beach is close with everything you need within a short walk. Rooms are neat and clean but a bit dated. For the $$, we made an excellent choice. Planning another stay next year. Uncle Billy's will see us again! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muttheads
Business
Sparks, NV
Oct 28, 2013

Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and property with all sorts of lush plants and flowers. I will come back to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 2 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaime Budget Traveler
Business
Bay Area, California
Sep 12, 2013

Not bad for the cost

This place is pretty much what you expect for the cheapest place in Kona. It doesn't have much to offer but is pretty clean and a convenient touristy location. There is a continental breakfast with bread, English muffins, fresh papaya, coffee and tea. It will give you a little bit to start your day. There is a small beach nearby the hotel which is good for snorkeling but not the kind of place to stretch out in the sun and relax. If I were to go back to the Big Island I don't think I'd stay in Kona again. I think Hilo has more nice beaches and is closer to many of the sites I wanted to see. But if I were to stay there again and was on a tight budget again I would stay at Uncle Billy's. Hopefully the next trip will have a bigger budget for a nicer place on the beach :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Lava Java down the road will be a nice break from the somewhat lacking continental breakfast at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeLyF
Business
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

disappointed

I was not expecting fancy, but I had hoped for more comfort. The staff was nice enough, but the room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, and the sliding glass door to the balcony wouldn't even close (despite the sticker on it that said to keep it closed!). I have stayed at other not-so-expensive places and found them way more appealing. Maybe we just had a bad room, but I would not return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neonlite13
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Good location, cheap hotel

The location of this hotel is good, almost walkable to the beach. However, the hotel itself is pretty run down; the rooms, especially the bathrooms and the elevators are old and almost repulsive. We didn't expect anything fancy, but it was worse than what we had even hoped for. The breakfast is helpful but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oregon
Business
Portland OR
Jul 22, 2013

Location and free parking

Basics were met with decent bed, no bugs and terrific location and good staff. No air, but fan and once an breeze okay at night. They are trying to renovate too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Oldest church in Hawaii and palace short walk plus farmers market across street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bucky from Duluth
Business
Sunnyvale, ca
Jul 16, 2013

Good location

The 2 Star rating is appropriate for this hotel. Great location in the center of Kona! Hotel is old but clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We had 3 rooms and all were nice, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrandMrsDixon
Business
Rocklin, CA
Jun 20, 2013

Great staff and location - needs some updating!

I'm not picky with hotels, but this one was pretty bad. CONS: -Shower went cold every 30 seconds due to someone flushing a toilet. -Waited 3 hours for our room to be cleaned and we still got the wrong room (we asked for a king) -Toilet seat lifted up when someone in the other room sat down! -Breakfast was literally papayas, toast and mini muffins if you don't sleep in past 8:15 -Patio doors don't close and barely lock -A/C unit is really loud! -The garage truck came at like 5am then they started leaf blowing at 6:30am! We could hear people in all the rooms around us. PROS: -Great location -Friendly staff -Geckos that ate the ants on the patio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vandy H
Business
Billings, Mt
Jun 6, 2013

Not for us

Pros: Really nice Staff, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! Lovely live music by the pool at breakfast! Cons: Our room was really quite dirty looking! My 8 year old daughter didn't even want to take a shower there. There was mold & even someone else's short n curly's in the shower, that did not come from us! Just gross! I thought I knew what I was walking into, with the mind set, we are only there to sleep, but it was a bit more unpleasant than I expected, and we love Rustic. This was NOT rustic, it's severely outdated, but the good news, half of it is currently under Renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O and H
Business
South Dakota
May 27, 2013

Convenient, clean, comfortable

Large room. Central aircon. Overhead fan. Free wifi. 2 armchairs and a desk chair. a balcony with two chairs. Bed with 5 pillows was comfortable. Towels changed everyday with complimentary soap & shampoo. Tiny fridge. A safe for valuables. Elevator. Lots of free parking in the extended parking lot. Convenient walk to shops across the street and to the pier. Continental breakfast of toast and papaya while being serenaded by a sweet lady with her ukelele.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Best free night show on the Big Island is at the Visitor's Center on Mauna Kea from sunset to 10 pm everyday. It's 6 miles off Highway 200 on very good roads for ordinary cars. Obey speed limits on the twisty narrow roads (saw 2 accidents along the way).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top