$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan Snail
Business
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Feb 18, 2013

Very Good For It's Age

Friendly Staff. Great Location, Housekeeping inconsistent (coffee and soap not replaced everyday, vaccumming done randomly) rooms need updated air conditioning, (current units too noisy to operate during sleeping hours). Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling Canuck
Business
Vancouver
Feb 21, 2013

Great location, needs some updating

We arrived late and booked in. The front counter politely told us only ground floor units were available and that we would have to pay for anything better. The bathroom had very visible mold and the room was in considerable disrepair. We complained about the mold and were moved without complaint to another room. The new room was still tired looking but in better shape than the first. The location is premium, the staff nice, but considering the location, the hotel could stand to throw a little money towards the property to make it feel like something had been touched in the last decade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Old Boots
Business
Sacramento, California
Mar 13, 2013

Two days at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Uncle Billy's proved to be what I expected, a low-cost place to stay, but not a place you'd want to stay for more than a few days. Our room wasn't bad, although it was old. It was of average size and had nice, new furnishings. The beds were comfortable. The bath was adequate. The TV was an old fuzzy tube with few channels, but then we didn't come to Kona to watch TV. The room did have a balcony that you could sit on, which would have been nice except that it was always noisy outside. The hotel's location was better than expected, right in the center of everything down town. Parking cost an extra $5 per day but was worth it. You can park for free in the public lot right behind Billy's lot, but at times the public lot get filled, so we paid the five. In the morning, there is a complimentary continental breakfast -coffee, juice, pastries, toast, muffins and mango. We enjoyed it. Our main complaint had to do with the noise. On our first night, there was a party in the room next to us that the security guard didn't stop, even though quiet time is supposed to start at 10 PM. Fortunately, the air conditioning unit puts out a roar of white noise, which was almost enough to drown out the party. The next night there was no party, but people just seem to walk about Uncle Billy's shouting at one another, apparently oblivious to the fact that they aren't the only ones around. It's not the kind of behavior that would be tolerated in a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggo's on the Rocks - tables are actually set in the sand. And some nights they have Hawaiian music, live.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soobie
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 11, 2013

Just okay

Service checking in was a little slow. The hotel needs to be renovated-it's time. Our room had just been painted and still had a wet paint sign hanging (and a picture on the bed) but that did not help the shoddy appearance of the place. We stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel prior to this and I would definitely recommend that instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GUSSIGU
Business
Zurich
Apr 30, 2013

A bit run down.

The hotel is not very well maintained. Needs a facelifting. Breakfast only until 09:00 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
antneeeeeeee
Business
alaska
May 12, 2013

shared room with the roaches

hotel used to be a great place to stay. now restaurant closed. and place is pretty run down. but staff were helpful and plesant. But whatever you do don't take Go airlines to the Island or anywhere. they ruined our vacation,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

spend a few extra $$$ and take Hawaiian Airlines

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrandMrsDixon
Business
Rocklin, CA
Jun 20, 2013

Great staff and location - needs some updating!

I'm not picky with hotels, but this one was pretty bad. CONS: -Shower went cold every 30 seconds due to someone flushing a toilet. -Waited 3 hours for our room to be cleaned and we still got the wrong room (we asked for a king) -Toilet seat lifted up when someone in the other room sat down! -Breakfast was literally papayas, toast and mini muffins if you don't sleep in past 8:15 -Patio doors don't close and barely lock -A/C unit is really loud! -The garage truck came at like 5am then they started leaf blowing at 6:30am! We could hear people in all the rooms around us. PROS: -Great location -Friendly staff -Geckos that ate the ants on the patio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vandy H
Business
Billings, Mt
Jun 6, 2013

Not for us

Pros: Really nice Staff, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! Lovely live music by the pool at breakfast! Cons: Our room was really quite dirty looking! My 8 year old daughter didn't even want to take a shower there. There was mold & even someone else's short n curly's in the shower, that did not come from us! Just gross! I thought I knew what I was walking into, with the mind set, we are only there to sleep, but it was a bit more unpleasant than I expected, and we love Rustic. This was NOT rustic, it's severely outdated, but the good news, half of it is currently under Renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaime Budget Traveler
Business
Bay Area, California
Sep 12, 2013

Not bad for the cost

This place is pretty much what you expect for the cheapest place in Kona. It doesn't have much to offer but is pretty clean and a convenient touristy location. There is a continental breakfast with bread, English muffins, fresh papaya, coffee and tea. It will give you a little bit to start your day. There is a small beach nearby the hotel which is good for snorkeling but not the kind of place to stretch out in the sun and relax. If I were to go back to the Big Island I don't think I'd stay in Kona again. I think Hilo has more nice beaches and is closer to many of the sites I wanted to see. But if I were to stay there again and was on a tight budget again I would stay at Uncle Billy's. Hopefully the next trip will have a bigger budget for a nicer place on the beach :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Lava Java down the road will be a nice break from the somewhat lacking continental breakfast at the hotel.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tennessee
Jun 7, 2011

Close to everything

Hotel was close to food and shops. This hotel is old, we were a bit disappointed. Air in the room was not good, seemed to be not cooling well. Breakfast was a joke, basically toast, mango, and coffee or juice. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top