$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Fantastic

So good to be tru the hotel was very close of evethin See full review

  • Ninet
  • Apr 19, 2013
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6378 -155.9931
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
In the heart of Downtown Kailua-Kona, Hawaii.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
antneeeeeeee
alaska
May 12, 2013

shared room with the roaches

hotel used to be a great place to stay. now restaurant closed. and place is pretty run down. but staff were helpful and plesant. But whatever you do don't take Go airlines to the Island or anywhere. they ruined our vacation,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

spend a few extra $$$ and take Hawaiian Airlines

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GUSSIGU
Zurich
Apr 30, 2013

A bit run down.

The hotel is not very well maintained. Needs a facelifting. Breakfast only until 09:00 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Got hula
Las Vegas
Apr 28, 2013

Great location

Forget about parking nightmeres and stroll around the beautiful, historic Kona Bay. The hotel has a Polynesian charm. With its reasonable rate, and complimentary Wifi and continental breakfast, this hotel provides a pretty good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninet
La. California
Apr 19, 2013

Fantastic

So good to be tru the hotel was very close of evethin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missmomm
Ventura, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Horrible disappointment

Booked a full week here, I knew it wasn't the greatest place, but the reviews made it sound simple and clean-- I was expecting a no-frills motor-in with not many amenities, and a good location. It is NOT seaside, as the name implies-- it's across the street and a couple blocks from any water. No beach. The front desk older ladies were so slow and took care of whatever paperwork was in front of them without acknowledging that I was standing there. When we finally got our room I was horrified. I'm a seasoned traveller and not a snob-- but 5 minutes in my room and I had to get out. The mattress was so old and had stains on the sides which indicate bedbugs. The bedding was old and crumbly. The bathroom was like a 1960s motorhome--cheap construction that didn't hold up over time and was never kept clean. I was sure I'd get some kind of disease staying there. The pool was nearby below us and the kids screaming in it made it necessary to close the windows and the AC smelled musty and gross. I checked out 20 minutes later. A customer service rep called the hotel for me to cancel my week reservation. I lost 1 night rate, but I am supposed to be getting refunded for the other 6 nights. It was worth it just to get out if there. And the rep also helped me find a new hotel. Jose at customer service was extrememly helpful getting me out of a disgusting room and into a WAY better one. Twice the cost, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scandanavia Shave ice is the bomb!! Best shave ice ever!

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island Commuter
Business
Hilo
Apr 12, 2013

Love Uncle Billy's

Uncle Billy's is not the big fancy luxury hotel, but when in Kona, you shouldn't be spending all your time in your hotel anyway. I'm a Big Island commuter & travel between Hilo & Kona on a weekly basis. I don't need the fancy. They are centrally located on beautiful Ali'i Drive & so close to everything I need. Their staff are soooo friendly & I always feel welcome & comfortable. This is not a a four season resort, BUT it is sincere & homely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Bookstore in Hawaii is just a few blocks away in old industrial. Kona Bay Books. Holy cow! It's huge! Book lovers dream place. I often go there after work.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madturci
oregon
Apr 12, 2013

will be back

location location location plenty of hot water big room great view had a parking spot every night clean sheets, good variety of pillows free continental breakfast walking distance to ANYTHING in Kailua Kona cheap rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

USE THE CURBSIDE CHECK IN PORTERS AT THE KONA AIRPORT!!! HANDLE ALL YOUR CHECKED BAG NEEDS (AG INSPECTIONS, WEIGHING) AND THEY HAND YOU ALL YOUR BOARDING PASSES AT THE CURB, NO WAITING!!! THEY WORK OFF TIPS, $4 - $5 A BAG... WORTH IT... TRUST ME.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soobie
Rhode Island
Apr 11, 2013

Just okay

Service checking in was a little slow. The hotel needs to be renovated-it's time. Our room had just been painted and still had a wet paint sign hanging (and a picture on the bed) but that did not help the shoddy appearance of the place. We stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel prior to this and I would definitely recommend that instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weatherbeast
Millinocket, ME
Apr 8, 2013

Bang for the buck at Uncle Billy's

Uncle Billy's was perfect for my wife and me. Central location made it perfect for us to get to restaurants, stores and the public beach and public pier. Pick ups for tours were nearby, although not right at Uncle Billy's doorstep. We were upgraded to an upper floor room with balcony at no extra charge which we realize my never happen again, but it was appreciated and my wife loved the view. A great farmers' market was less than a hundred yards from our door. One drawback was the lack of a micorwave for heating food. We did have a refrigerator, a coffee maker and a hair dryer. We are going back for a couple more days at the end of our Hawaiian vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers' Market

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
knaw
Kauai
Apr 4, 2013

Family reunion

We had 3 rooms and all 3 room were different, 2 better than the third which had a disablity shower which was not requested. Continental breakfast was good and the location was convenient. I was concerned about the parking - appeared to have people living in or drinking in some of the cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request room with rock wall, or at least with a bathtub

Back to menu Return to top