$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doddimus
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 18, 2011

Kona Stay

Shopped, and worked from the desk in the room. Went to dinner at some very good restaurants, best was Royal Kona Resort. Hotel was mediocre, but price was good. Breakfast of toast & coffee was nice. Don't think we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Kona Resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Carl
Business
KAUAI HAWAII
Jan 28, 2014

Great place to be.

Uncle Billy's, Kona Bay may not be the big fancy resort, and that is what makes it great. local HAWAIIAN hospitality.Located on main street, you can walk Kona town and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa F.
Business
Hilo,Hawaii
Feb 12, 2014

Just What the Doctor Ordered..

My intention was for Convalescence (2/9 night to 2/11 am) but as things turned out my stay at the Kona Bay Hotel felt like a mini vacation despite my oral surgical pain. Staff was polite and considerate. The hotel was full of guests yet it and its surrounding grounds were amazingly clean; quiet and orderly. Ample parking.One meal served: complimentary continental breakfast. Hotel nestled amongst a variety of restaurants. I stayed in one of the least expensive rooms yet it was fresh, spotless and well-kept (one must supply one's own blow-dryer and toiletries except soap: a small sacrifice for the room rate price and location!). Good climate control; nice balcony/lanai with sliding doors. I would stay here again! Lisa F./Hilo, HI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTtraveler
Business
Colorado
Mar 12, 2014

Good location, pool & comfort

It was pleasant, not fancy, but nice pool & outdoor eating area, a good price and in great area for walking around Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a fun and varied open-air market just south of the hotel in a parking lot area. Hotel is close to Jack's Diving Locker (short walk), restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa , fl
Apr 7, 2010

luke

really enjoyed and will use [...] again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tagger
Business
Broomfield, CO
May 28, 2010

Great value

Parking is free if you park behind the hotel, you will have a very short walk to your room, or you can pay $ 5 for parking on the hotel parking lot. Breakfast is included .The rooms where clean. Great value, can recommend it. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kinalani
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Uncle Billy's Kona Resort

We had a great view of the ocean from our comfortable room. The furniture was retro Hawaiian style and quaint. Room was clean. Had a little patio outside. More private and quiet than any hotel we stayed at (6 this trip). The staff is genuinely nice and the continental breakfast is worth getting up early for (6:30 to 8:30). I would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can park for free at a lot just around block from hotel. Staff will give directions. Otherwise pay $5 to park at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
afrirado
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Very nice hotel in Kona.

At first I booked the hotel with some courage because the review in here is not very good, but it turns out to be very good. Just in the downtown Kona, cross the street to the ocean, close to all ocean activity place. I would highly recommend this hotel to people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctaie
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Great place for a funky overnight stay!

A truly wonderful place that's a great bargain and a kitschy, funky old Hawaiian vacation spot. The 70's architecture, classic island getaway design, and outdoor dining and check-in area are really endearing. We were greeted even late in the evening by a wonderful front desk clerk. Our stay was lovely. It's not a place you'd want to spend a lot of time, but it's great for a night. And it's perfectly located on the main drag in Kailua, too. Easy access to the beach and tons of shops/restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd H.
Business
Ocean City, MD, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Good Price, Great Location

Very good price, friendly staff, great location (right in the middle of all the restaurants and stores). Does need to be updated a little, but would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top