$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Pleasantly surprised

Friendly staff, excellent location and cute pool. Nothing fancy, but relatively inexpensive See full review

  • Akmarcia
  • Nov 19, 2014
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichaelS7
Business
Staten Island
Jan 30, 2013

In Town

The WI FI, just added to it. Room was large and clean. Everything worked and it was in town close to all the things we wanted to do. They have a lot to stay for $5 a day, but they told us there was a lot behind them free and that is where we parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For some reason they put restaurants behind other stores on main street so you have to hunt a little to find them. But there are MANY choices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Dreamin'
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Budget hotel, good location

Nothing fancy, good location in Kona. $5 to park car in their lot but there is municipal lot next door which is free if you can find a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly M
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Feb 4, 2013

Uncle Billy's was perfect for me

I stayed at Uncle Billy's for 8 nights. It was a $32 cab ride and couldn't have been easier to get there. The check-in process was quick and easy and everyone was friendly. It was 7:30pm. Every morning there was fresh papaya, toast, juice and really good Kona coffee, all free! The hotel pool worked for me and I loved the hotel location. My favorite part of the room was the balcony which got morning sun, and afternoon sun too! Obviously from the price, this is not a modern hotel with upgraded rooms. If you are looking for a spa experience, go someplace else. If you want a room at a good price in a great location, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggo's is a great place for the sunset

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkel Nana
Business
Aptos, California
Mar 6, 2013

In the heart of the action

One night at Uncle Billie's before heading home. We wanted to be close to the airport. For the money this was the best bet. Walked to a wonderful dinner. Marketplace 1/2 block away. Breakfast buffet an unexpected surprise complete with lovely songstress! No time for the pool,but it looked cool and our lanai overlooked all the action from the fourth floor. It is an old hotel,but we found it better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant across the street at the Kona Inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dave gone travelin
Business
hilo
Mar 12, 2013

a good experience

Good service and clean room. Centrally located. The continental breakfast was simple but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Country Farmer
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 9, 2013

Great location, room okay, kinda dinky

The bed was not very comfortable and the A/C & heater didn't really work that well. The front desk was very slow but generally helpful. The hotel is nice from the exterior. The location is great, right in the middle of downtown Kona, on the main street (although there isn't that much to do in Kona). There wasn't a shuttle to the airport and the taxi was about $35. There was free wireless internet which was good. The pool looked good although I didn't have time to go, and I also didn't have time to hit breakfast which was only between 6:30 and 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out of the hotel and go right, in the first (immediate) shopping area on the right, go all the way to the back and there's a great little dive bar back there on the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDonakos
Business
Hubbard Lake, Michigan
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location!

The staff is friendly and warm. Beautiful Flowers and foilage everywhere. If your looking for a 5 star motel, there are plenty down the street. This was a great location and we would stay there again and again. Thank you Uncle Billy's for a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC Shopping Stores Every corner...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amberskor
Business
Montana
Mar 23, 2013

Kona uncle billies

I have a condo in Kona but it wasn't available. I had read some negative reviews about uncle billie's, but I have to say I loved it. It is very dated and in desperate need of some TLC, but is exactly what you pay for. My condo is $245/night if rented thru Cheap Tickets, and the $85/night for Uncle Billies was excellent. The bathroom did smell and the tiles in need of scrubbing, but the pool was clean, staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weatherbeast
Business
Millinocket, ME
Apr 8, 2013

Bang for the buck at Uncle Billy's

Uncle Billy's was perfect for my wife and me. Central location made it perfect for us to get to restaurants, stores and the public beach and public pier. Pick ups for tours were nearby, although not right at Uncle Billy's doorstep. We were upgraded to an upper floor room with balcony at no extra charge which we realize my never happen again, but it was appreciated and my wife loved the view. A great farmers' market was less than a hundred yards from our door. One drawback was the lack of a micorwave for heating food. We did have a refrigerator, a coffee maker and a hair dryer. We are going back for a couple more days at the end of our Hawaiian vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers' Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madturci
Business
oregon
Apr 12, 2013

will be back

location location location plenty of hot water big room great view had a parking spot every night clean sheets, good variety of pillows free continental breakfast walking distance to ANYTHING in Kailua Kona cheap rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

USE THE CURBSIDE CHECK IN PORTERS AT THE KONA AIRPORT!!! HANDLE ALL YOUR CHECKED BAG NEEDS (AG INSPECTIONS, WEIGHING) AND THEY HAND YOU ALL YOUR BOARDING PASSES AT THE CURB, NO WAITING!!! THEY WORK OFF TIPS, $4 - $5 A BAG... WORTH IT... TRUST ME.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top