$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA94519
Jun 22, 2011

Good ,OK to me-!

All short walk Gooooods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo
Jul 22, 2011

okay - great location

Hotel was a little run down aand the room just okay, but it was located in an area that was within walking distance to just about anyplace you wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within walking distance - we went somewhere different every day. Also close to the pier where we caught our snorkel boat and to the luau we booked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikeshaw808
Business
Kissimmee FL
Jun 20, 2014

Uncle Billys

Hotel, Staff, and location were great. Good Value for the Price. Would stay here again. Very Helpful and Friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tati SF
Business
SF, California
Jun 28, 2014

Great location

The hotel is cute but dated. All my husband and I wanted was a non-smoking room with a shower and a bed (we don't stay in hotel rooms for very long as we like to cruise around). So, the hotel fit the bill. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect- walking distance from everything in Ali'i Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Movingup
Business
North West, Iowa
Oct 21, 2014

Good price for a quick stay

We didn't require any special needs or attention, so this was a great location and price. The Hotel needs some TLC, but for just a bed for the night, I can't complain. We enjoyed the pool and the free Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance, and that made getting around great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David V.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

First time in Hawaii

This was our first time in Hawaii The staff Was very friendly And accommodating The location was perfect For our morning walks,shopping, viewing a beautiful sunset. The room need's updating, and needs better cleaning. For as much time as you spend in a room The bed was very comfortable.. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa B.
Business
Tucson
Feb 25, 2015

You get what you pay for

This was a very affordable place to stay in a great location. That said, the room was very much in need of updating, the bathroom wasn't very clean, and the street noise in the morning (we were in the front) was loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
april h.
Business
silverthorne
Mar 22, 2015

Location, but nothing else

Within the first ten minutes of being in room, we killed seven cockroaches. We got upgraded to a new room. It had nicer tv and higher thread count sheets but nothing else. Tile floors needed to be mopped. Mini fridge not plugged in, and we didn't realize this, food went bad. Bath tub did not drain well, so you were standing in ankle deep water the whole time, water temperature was very sporadic. Continental breakfast was bread, mini muffins, some papaya slices, 2 cereals, and hard boiled eggs. Coffee was typically running out or empty. And someone stole my English muffin from the toaster. Overall, good location in downtown, but rooms desperately need a revamp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Percy J
Business
Kealakekua
Jul 6, 2014

Great Location

Our family stayed at this hotel for the forth of July parade and fireworks. Although the rooms could use some updating we had a good experience. It was a great location and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, HI
Jul 3, 2009

Good for the price

The staff was nice and it was in a great location. The rooms where nice but kind of dirty, the only big problem was that my sink was infested by ants and they were all over the twols and stuff. Other then that it was good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top