$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
176 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Fantastic

So good to be tru the hotel was very close of evethin See full review

  • Ninet
  • Apr 19, 2013
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Hotel Map

19.6378 -155.9931
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
In the heart of Downtown Kailua-Kona, Hawaii.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edelia Space
San Francisco, CA
Jan 19, 2012

Cheap n easy

Uncle Billy's is a spot for those looking for a no frills spot to rest your head in kona town. If your looking for the cheapest option and will only be there at night it'll work just fine but it's the kinda place you would be embarrassed to tell anyone who knows the area that it's where you are staying. Essentially it's the same as a motel 6. Not particularly clean and an interesing odor (esp in the elevator) but comfy enough beds. Don't expect too much info out of the front desk people either. Biggest recommendation is reserve your rental car before you arrive because this side of the island is often sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roundabout
Mountain View, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Average budget hotel in a good place

Nothing particular for that price. The rooms are old, but clean. The breakfast is just nominal. There are many restaurants, gift shops, groceries etc. around, but the beach is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBCYJ
nc
Dec 15, 2011

old bathrooms

Th bathrooms are very old and rusty. They need to remodel them very soon. The same for the rerig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rays2002
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

goog for the price.

This hotel is great for the location and price not the best for comfort but a good place to crash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear sunglasses for breakfast.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweeties
Vancouver, BC
Oct 7, 2011

Nice hotel in a great location

The rooms are nice and the hotel is just in town center and restaurants and shops are close by. The staff is friendly and helps where ever they can. They have washing machines and dryers. Inclusive is a continental breakfast which is very basic, but every room got a fridge so you can bring your own stuff with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gump

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Talon
Kona, HI
Sep 25, 2011

You get what you pay for

I didn't expect a 4 star hotel, however there are some things I expect even in inexpensive hotels. The place is pretty old, which I expected however they don't keep it up very well. The breakfast was one type of fruit some bread which the toaster would only warm, coffee and juice. I was able to overlook all that but when the staff (the lady that worked in the breakfast area) was smoking in the eating area in front of the no smoking sign I had enough. At that point I decided to find another place to stay. Then the topper, at 2 in the morning I was abruptly awaken by a bursted water pipe that flooded my room. Never even received an "I'm sorry for your inconvienance". I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We ate at a place called Pesto's near Wiamea. Excellent food. I would eat there again

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young's
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Kona Labor Day Weekend fun!

Our family enjoyed our stay at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay. We booked at the last minute and were lucky to get a room. We knew it was a great location but not sure if the hotel was good. We were really happy with it. The staff is so full of aloha and sincere, the continental breakfast a plus, nice pool (just wish it had a jacuzzi), room was good size and they had coin laundry facilities too. All in all it was great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaclm
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Dealt with infestation

Took video of bugs/ants around the bed and showed it to the lobby personnel and they said to contact you to get a night free. My wife and I got bug bites around our bodies and it wasn't pleasant to sleep in an uncomfortable place. I had to clean the bugs every night. Please contact me soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
P168
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

bugs everywhere

The breakfast was ok. However, the room is dirty room and there were lots of cockroaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
buffalo
Jul 22, 2011

okay - great location

Hotel was a little run down aand the room just okay, but it was located in an area that was within walking distance to just about anyplace you wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within walking distance - we went somewhere different every day. Also close to the pier where we caught our snorkel boat and to the luau we booked.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search