$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
View map of 75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shyshy808
Friends
Honolulu, HI
May 29, 2012

Ok budget hotel

Upon check in the staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking is $5 a day and you need to prepay that, than they give you a pass. Right next to their parking lot is public parking and it's free. So save yourself the $5 and use it towards other things. Room: our first room # 2003 was decent and clean. The room had a coffee pot. Coffee and tea bags were available. The bathroom was clean, the bedding was clean the carpet needed a cleaning. Included was a small refrigerator and a cable tv. The A/c however, was not good at all. It was blowing HOT air ( keep in mind kona is very hot and humid). Called front desk and they switched our rooms to #1006, no coffee pot, broken refrigerator, and the a/c feel like a warm fan. Thank goodness for the celing fan. I would only recommend this hotel for dinning and shopping..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get shops and restaurants

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chuck jr
Family
tacoma wa
May 22, 2012

old and worn

Hotel was old and needed a total update. Everything was worn to the point that it was years past needing replacement, and the room was musty smelling. Even the outside of the building needed repair.The location was very good. Continental breakfast was fine. Swimming pool was strange. Had no shallow end. Shaped like a big bowl-not children safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hillsboro, OR, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Location, Location, Location

The best thing was the location. The hotel staff was very nice and house keeping did a wonderful job. The rooms were "OK-ish" but the View from 3rd and 4th floors are gorgeous. The breakfast was not good at all. My wife and I stayed for 7 days, we just didnt have breakfast at the hotel... If you are looking for a good view of the ocean, you may want a 4th floor room, we were on the 3rd floor and we could see the ocean, but barely... hense the "Partial Ocean View" room. Overall between a 1-10, this hotel is a 7. definately not the hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tante's... great food and probably the least expensive in town there. i give this a 9 out of 10... Great food!

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dame Judy
Family
Tucson AZ & Philadelphia
Apr 11, 2012

Sister-in-laws

Helpful staff and parking plus filling breakfast items. Only one night so not many 'experiences".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edrella
Family
Arizona
Mar 28, 2012

Get a 4th floor room

We paid for "superior" room & ended up w very dirty, moldy 3rd floor w/ "partial view". However, when I complained to the front desk, they immediately upgraded us to 4th floor where it was much cleaner, acceptable room w beds double-sheeted. All staff were helpful except 1 man on last day who was a bit grumpy. Overall, 4th floor was worth the stay but I would not have stayed one more minute if we had to stay in 3rd floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Glass bottom dinner cruise was fun, but make sure you are clear on whether you're getting the coral view (not much to see) vs manta ray view.

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HIGURL97
Family
Hilo, HI, USA
Mar 15, 2012

AWESOME FAMILY GETAWAY

MY FAMILY AND I HAD A GREAT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, WHEN CHECKING IN WE GOT A FREE UPGRADE TO A OCEAN VIEW ROOM WITH A LANAI IT WAS A WONDERFUL VIEW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DoubleJ2
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

First night in Kona

Place to sleep on first night in Kona. Close to activities in Kona. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KyleM
Texas
Mar 4, 2012

Very Good Value for the Money!

The Beds were very comfortable for this level of hotel. The Staff was very friendly. I would recomend to anyone on a budget who is not expecting Fine Dining on the premsies or a luxurious pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
808 Jerry
Couples
Hilo, HI, USA
Feb 28, 2012

OK

Does the job if your not picky for a one or 2 night stay. Can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olih
Single
Hilo, HI, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Cheap

Great location for the price. Close to everything. Great continently breakfast nice staff. Comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to everything

Back to menu Return to top