$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
75-5739 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Excellent location

Hotel is right in the middle of everything, restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Great pool and... See full review

  • muttheads
  • Oct 28, 2013
Fantastic

So good to be tru the hotel was very close of evethin See full review

  • Ninet
  • Apr 19, 2013
Bungalow hotel in the heart of Kailua town offers plenty of aloha
The centrally located Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) offers local-style living with a budget-friendly value. Built around a large swimming pool and sundeck, rooms offer simple charm combined with a private patio and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests also receive free breakfast daily. Nestled in the heart of Kailua-Kona town, everything is within a few minutes' walk-including the waterfront, restaurants, souvenir shopping and historic sites.
Highlights
  • Save extra with free daily "aloha" breakfast
  • Located in the heart of charming Kailua-Kona town
  • Unwind in the hotel's mellow Island atmosphere, with a friendly staff available 24 hours a day
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) is a true Island-style bungalow hotel in Kailua-Kona, just across the street from the waterfront. Shopping and restaurants virtually surround the hotel.
Rooms
The low-rise, bungalow-style Kona Bay Resort offers garden, superior and deluxe rooms decorated in simple and charming Island style. Some rooms have peek-a-boo ocean views, others the tropical garden. All include a private patio, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan and coffee-maker. Free high-speed Internet access is a great in-room perk.
Features
All Kona Bay Resort (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) guests receive free "aloha" breakfast service every day. Plentiful casual and upscale dining is available surrounding the hotel -- and the oceanfront Huggo's, a local and visitor favorite for decades, is just a short walk down Alii Drive. Free Internet access helps guests plan adventures to coffee farms, active volcanoes and discover historical paths once traversed by ancient kings and queens.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.9 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Hotel Map

19.6378 -155.9931
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
In the heart of Downtown Kailua-Kona, Hawaii.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room
Our spacious superior rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the property; enjoy views of our tropical garden below with red ginger and fragrant plumerias. Rooms are equipped with either a king size or 2 full size beds, individual climate controls, refrigerators, in-room safes, cable television, telephone, coffee and coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radios, and a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose
Jul 30, 2010

Very unsanitary

too many cockroaches

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maxwell from Idaho
Coeurdalene Idaho
Mar 5, 2014

Room at Uncle Billy's

Room was dirty, smelled bad. Checked out a day early without a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
P168
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

bugs everywhere

The breakfast was ok. However, the room is dirty room and there were lots of cockroaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBCYJ
nc
Dec 15, 2011

old bathrooms

Th bathrooms are very old and rusty. They need to remodel them very soon. The same for the rerig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Talon
Kona, HI
Sep 25, 2011

You get what you pay for

I didn't expect a 4 star hotel, however there are some things I expect even in inexpensive hotels. The place is pretty old, which I expected however they don't keep it up very well. The breakfast was one type of fruit some bread which the toaster would only warm, coffee and juice. I was able to overlook all that but when the staff (the lady that worked in the breakfast area) was smoking in the eating area in front of the no smoking sign I had enough. At that point I decided to find another place to stay. Then the topper, at 2 in the morning I was abruptly awaken by a bursted water pipe that flooded my room. Never even received an "I'm sorry for your inconvienance". I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We ate at a place called Pesto's near Wiamea. Excellent food. I would eat there again

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 5, 2011

hell in paradise

If you can get past the police tape around the cloudy, leaf filled pool and the fleas in the rooms, then this is the place for you. Don't expect to eat or drink because, the bar grill is broken down and boarded up. Location is great but the front desk doesn;'t know much about thew area. This was the last leg of my trip, next time it will be at the Royal Kona Resort down the street, it was much nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
May 17, 2011

Uncle Billy's is no Uncle Marriott

I was there on business, and just needed a comfortable bed and working internet. Bed was ok, but didn't look or smell clean. Bathroom was smelly and room was so dirty (dusty, wrappers on the ground, etc.) VPN kept crashing and automatically disconnected every 5 minutes, though regular internet worked, albeit slowly. Internet is free, but parking is not ($5 per night). Free continental breakfast is composed of papaya, mini muffins, and bread/toast. They had leaded and unleaded coffee with the sugary juices. Location is great, but for the money, go down the street to another property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While there, they closed Ali'i Drive for vendors. I guess every third weekend they let folks roam the street to shop, eat, and enjoy local music. It was relaxing, and at the end of the street, you can go swimming and fishing on the dock. Very picturesque...

Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeLyF
San Leandro, CA
Aug 29, 2013

disappointed

I was not expecting fancy, but I had hoped for more comfort. The staff was nice enough, but the room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, and the sliding glass door to the balcony wouldn't even close (despite the sticker on it that said to keep it closed!). I have stayed at other not-so-expensive places and found them way more appealing. Maybe we just had a bad room, but I would not return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
c20
san francisco, ca
May 10, 2011

Poor quality and unacceptable conditions

"Poor quality and unacceptable conditions" - my exact words when I called [...] to cancel my remaining 3 nights and move to the Royal Kona Resort.1. What they called "partial ocean view" is non-existent. ALL balconies overlook their parking lot and registration office. No view of the ocean.2. Room smells like urine. We went to Walmart to buy an air freshener, but that didn't work.3. Rusted and jammed showerhead. What else is there to say?4. Broken equipment - hair dryer doesn't work, light turns on 5 minutes after switching on, a/c fan is old, loud, and only had high setting.5. Received an instant bug bite on my face when I moved the bed sheets around.Overall, the conditions just killed the mood that you would expect when visiting Hawaii. For an extra $25 per night, we moved to another resort with much better quality rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Kona Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 5, 2011

hell in paradise

If you can get past the police tape around the cloudy, leaf filled pool and the fleas in the rooms, then this is the place for you. Don't expect to eat or drink because, the bar grill is broken down and boarded up. Location is great but the front desk doesn;'t know much about thew area. This was the last leg of my trip, next time it will be at the Royal Kona Resort down the street, it was much nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top