$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
excellent condo in southern Kona

Wonderful location, beautiful grounds, and large condo units. See full review

  • Love Hawaii Island
  • Dec 21, 2014
Great facility

Located with good tennis and golf facilities in a spacious self contained one bedroom. Great value... See full review

  • supporting the economy
  • Oct 22, 2014
Island living at mid-priced, fully equipped Keauhou villas near the sea
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests can have fun in the six swimming pools and Jacuzzis, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, six pools and Jacuzzis, and fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Rooms
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Features
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests have lots of space to frolic and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Dining
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafes are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 72
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bev H
Business
Altadena CA
Jan 27, 2013

bad plumbing problem!

The toilets kept clogging for no reason, and the entire area around our building smelled of sewage. Everything else was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sheraton right next to the resort (short walk or lots of free public parking) has nightly live music in the restaurant, but purchase is not required. They also have nice grounds along the ocean cliffside with lots of boats to watch and great sunsets! Some of the easiest swimming and snorkeling beach parks are just a couple miles north on Alii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tzeench
Business
Minnesota
Jul 14, 2010

Excellent Stay!

Upon arrival at the resort, we were informed that we would not be getting the 2-bedroom condo that we had reserved, but instead we would be getting the "big room". I asked what this "big room" was and they just said, "don't worry, you'll love it". As it turns out, we did love it. It was much bigger than what we has asked for: - 3 bedrooms [two were masters w/ king beds] - 4 full baths - 2 living rooms, - Full kitchen w/ dishwasher - Dining room, - Washer/dryer - A monster lani off the back that overlooked the pool, a hole on the golf course and the ocean For us, the location was perfect. It is not downtown (just a 10 min. drive south of downtown), so you don't get any noisy traffic or noisy people who've had to much to drink. There is also a medium size mall within a 3-5 min. drive which had anything you would need (grocery, drug store, urgent care, movie theater, etc) As for the staff, I can really comment. We only spoke with them upon check-in and check-out. But for those two occasions that we did speak with them. They were as friendly and polite as you'd want (without over-doing it). The only thing negative to say about this resort, is to be warry of the 'free welcoming get together' (though it really isn't that negative because it did offer us some ideas on what we might want to do later during our stay and it is not required that you attend). They start with free pastries, coffee and juice. Then move on to show you what kind of activities are on the island to do, but this list of activities is given by the people that run the activities, so it is a sales pitch. Lastly they also try to get to listen to a time-share sales pitch at the end, but luckily it is not pushed and they let you leave easily. Overall, this resort was awesome. If we ever manage to get back to the Big Island again, I know we'll stay there again. The price was VERY good for what we got and I would recomend it to anyone (friends, couples, families, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're into trying some local Kava, be sure to check out "Ma's Kava Stop" just south of the resort on the Mamalahoa Highway. It's a hole-in-the-wall type of place, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Nov 15, 2009

Fantastic resort

The best hotel I have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Creek, WA
Sep 17, 2009

Can't beat price for all you get.

Everyone on staff was very friendly, except one of the concierge's. The condo was very clean. As usual I wiped all handles, light switches, telephones,etc.. with lysol wipes when I arrived and was pleasantly surprised they didn't come out black with grime. Another thing to be cautious of is geckos and frogs coming in if the door gets left open, it's just the way of life on the island. Just keep a look out if your squirmish like me. The parking garage was a bit of a jaunt as other previous travelers had mentioned, they do offer golf cart service though if needed. Definetly can't beat the price especially since they don't tack on additional charges for parking, internet and room cleaning. Would definetly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Swanton, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Wonderful place to stay - great value

Great location, price and service. Condo unit was very quite, peaceful and even had an ocean view. Condo unit was very large with 2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, kitchen, dining room, living room, laundry closet and private lanai. Staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Would stay again if ever in the area and would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver wa
May 4, 2009

Just incredible!

What a beautiful place, overlooked the golf course with a partial ocean view. The rooms were incredible, very roomy and wonderfully decorated. It was one of the best trips we ever took, wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco first! The place was so wonderful we had little reason to go out to eat. Do a Sunset dinner cruise for one of your night outs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top