$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
75 reviews
Would like to have stayed longer

Everything was very nice. Large living area, large bedroom. See full review

  • Brenda H.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Very nice resort

Everything was great! It was a large unit with an extra half bath and a full kitchen. Bedroom and... See full review

  • Brenda H.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Island living at mid-priced, fully equipped Keauhou villas near the sea
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests can have fun in the six swimming pools and Jacuzzis, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, six pools and Jacuzzis, and fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Rooms
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Features
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests have lots of space to frolic and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Dining
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafes are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 75
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandpa form Alberta
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Oct 6, 2014

Nice family resort

We arrived after midnight and friendly security got us settled in our condo. The location is ideal, away from traffic, but close enough to services. You do need a car. The pools were nice although one was under repair. Our unit could use a new dishwasher, but otherwise everything was good. One other thing not related to the hotel is that the car rentals do not close at 10:30 PM and you will be able to get a car after that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant down at the pier was very nice and reasonable priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelenthu
Business
NJ
Aug 23, 2014

Excellent

The 2 bedroom with living room and kitchen were clean and in great condition. Exactly what we wanted to give the family room on vacation. The pools are small but many in the community so gives a lot of privacy. Within minutes of Restaurants and Shops and beaches for snorkeling. The only thing we missed is that the hotel is not on the beach so you need to pack up everytime, but we generally anyway go looking for new beaches on the island based on the activities like surfing, swimming, snorkelling so it did not matter to us. All in all excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRtRjd
Business
Hawaii
Jul 28, 2014

Summer Fun

have stayed here numerous times. spacious rooms, loved watching the sunset. kids enjoyed the pool, enjoyed some family time before school starts up again. a perfect ending to summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
To Chicago
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 30, 2014

Will be back

Nice condo resort. No resort fee that was a nice surprise. If you don't want the AC generator noise, avoid unit 1281.But overall great TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to three
Business
Castro Valley, Ca
Jul 28, 2012

family getaway

The resort was well staffed and everyone was great. Beth, the activities director and Shawn, our concierge, were superb! Our family loved the space, 2bed 21/2 bath. The rooms were very comfortable. We did have some issues however. They are currently renovating the rooms and ours was the next on the list to be done. We never had phone lines that worked, and the detailed cleaning wasn't done. I would say they hadn't quite kept it as detailed because of the impending updates. The maintenance engineer did everything he could to make corrections to our space while we were there. As I said before, everyone did whatever they could to make it right. I would sta here again, no questions asked. Well, maybe I'll make sure our foom has been redone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Paniolo Ranch- open range horseback riding on a working ranch. Gary was our guide, and it was such an amazing experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sailor VA
Business
North Garden Virginia
Jul 20, 2012

Kona

Friendly front desk staff allowed us to check in early and on day of check out after going to beach we were able to use recreation room showers before our flight. Grounds are very pretty and well kept but rooms seemed a bit dated. Wireless was not working at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller Foo
Business
Nashua, NH
May 6, 2012

Perfect

For $129 what I got would cost in four figures at many other places. Two bed/2.5 bath/fully equipped kitchen and a millionaire backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rossco866
Business
Leven, Scotland
Apr 16, 2012

Fantastic Short Break

We had a great time at the Holua Resort as it split up a 2 week vacation to Hawaii / Waikiki. The place is beatifully set in lush well maintained gardens and ponds teaming with fish!. The staff could not be more helpful during our short stay and the Townhouse villa was so spacious and immaculate! We would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You absolutely need a car when on Kona so pick up at the Airport when you arrive as if you use the Taxi or Shuttle to get to your accomodation you will still have to go back to the airport to pick your Hire car up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elwetritsche
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

christmas break on the big island

This was perfect for our family of four with two older children (16 and 20), wonderful spacious condo, pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, the staff here is super friendly, we enjoyed every minute of our stay and would go back any time.... very close to Kona Village and shopping... no beach access, but many beaches very close by...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmer's Market at Keauhou Shopping Center on Wed and Saturdays, freshest juices, organic Kona coffee, and also the PeaBerryGalette Coffee Shop in the Keauhou Shopping Center.... friendliest staff, best coffee and desserts ever...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 29, 2011

Holua Resort Kona, HI

Beautiful property. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Holua Resort is a condo type property. A full service hotel was right next door, so if you wanted to go to a restaurant or bar, it was only a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top