$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
115 reviews
Summer Fun

have stayed here numerous times. spacious rooms, loved watching the sunset. kids enjoyed the pool,... See full review

  • MRtRjd
  • Jul 28, 2014
Third Time Staying Here

Best bang for the buck for a spacious condo with all the amenities we needed for a one week... See full review

  • Hard 2 Please
  • Jun 8, 2014
Island living at mid-priced, fully equipped Keauhou villas near the sea
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests enjoy 8 swimming pools, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, 8 swimming pools, fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Rooms
Holua Resort features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Features
Holua Resort guests have lots of space to frollick and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Dining
Holua Resort guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafés are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)

Hotel Map

19.5585 -155.9615
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii's Big Island
Nearby airports
KOA-Kona/Keohole Airport
Area description
Located on the sunny Kona Coast in Keauhou and adjacent to Keauhou Bay. Shopping, restaurants and theatres are nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRtRjd
Hawaii
Jul 28, 2014

Summer Fun

have stayed here numerous times. spacious rooms, loved watching the sunset. kids enjoyed the pool, enjoyed some family time before school starts up again. a perfect ending to summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
To Chicago
Los Angeles, CA
May 30, 2014

Will be back

Nice condo resort. No resort fee that was a nice surprise. If you don't want the AC generator noise, avoid unit 1281.But overall great TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to three
Castro Valley, Ca
Jul 28, 2012

family getaway

The resort was well staffed and everyone was great. Beth, the activities director and Shawn, our concierge, were superb! Our family loved the space, 2bed 21/2 bath. The rooms were very comfortable. We did have some issues however. They are currently renovating the rooms and ours was the next on the list to be done. We never had phone lines that worked, and the detailed cleaning wasn't done. I would say they hadn't quite kept it as detailed because of the impending updates. The maintenance engineer did everything he could to make corrections to our space while we were there. As I said before, everyone did whatever they could to make it right. I would sta here again, no questions asked. Well, maybe I'll make sure our foom has been redone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Paniolo Ranch- open range horseback riding on a working ranch. Gary was our guide, and it was such an amazing experience!

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sailor VA
North Garden Virginia
Jul 20, 2012

Kona

Friendly front desk staff allowed us to check in early and on day of check out after going to beach we were able to use recreation room showers before our flight. Grounds are very pretty and well kept but rooms seemed a bit dated. Wireless was not working at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller Foo
Nashua, NH
May 6, 2012

Perfect

For $129 what I got would cost in four figures at many other places. Two bed/2.5 bath/fully equipped kitchen and a millionaire backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rossco866
Leven, Scotland
Apr 16, 2012

Fantastic Short Break

We had a great time at the Holua Resort as it split up a 2 week vacation to Hawaii / Waikiki. The place is beatifully set in lush well maintained gardens and ponds teaming with fish!. The staff could not be more helpful during our short stay and the Townhouse villa was so spacious and immaculate! We would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You absolutely need a car when on Kona so pick up at the Airport when you arrive as if you use the Taxi or Shuttle to get to your accomodation you will still have to go back to the airport to pick your Hire car up!

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elwetritsche
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

christmas break on the big island

This was perfect for our family of four with two older children (16 and 20), wonderful spacious condo, pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, the staff here is super friendly, we enjoyed every minute of our stay and would go back any time.... very close to Kona Village and shopping... no beach access, but many beaches very close by...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmer's Market at Keauhou Shopping Center on Wed and Saturdays, freshest juices, organic Kona coffee, and also the PeaBerryGalette Coffee Shop in the Keauhou Shopping Center.... friendliest staff, best coffee and desserts ever...

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 29, 2011

Holua Resort Kona, HI

Beautiful property. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Holua Resort is a condo type property. A full service hotel was right next door, so if you wanted to go to a restaurant or bar, it was only a short walk.

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 29, 2011

Holua Resort Kona, HI

Beautiful property. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Holua Resort is a condo type property. A full service hotel was right next door, so if you wanted to go to a restaurant or bar, it was only a short walk.

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kamaaina mom
Oahu
Mar 21, 2011

We Loved Staying at the Holua Resort!!!!

We went to Kona for a basketball tournament and found the Holua Resort to be very accomodating. We loved that the unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths, a washer/dryer and lots and lots of room! The unit was very clean and spacious. Loved the full kitchen and being able to cook to save some money from dining out. Front desk Customer service agent Kaimana Ching was terrific! Thanks for making us feel right at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top