$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
72 reviews
Family trip

All I can is our stay is great the kids enjoyed it so much.... See full review

  • Therese R.
  • Jul 19, 2015
Would like to have stayed longer

Everything was very nice. Large living area, large bedroom. See full review

  • Brenda H.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests can have fun in the six swimming pools and Jacuzzis, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Dining
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafes are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Rooms
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Property features
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests have lots of space to frolic and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, six pools and Jacuzzis, and fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 72
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda H.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Would like to have stayed longer

Everything was very nice. Large living area, large bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda H.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Very nice resort

Everything was great! It was a large unit with an extra half bath and a full kitchen. Bedroom and bathroom were very nice. We needed an item that should have been in the room and it was delivered immediately. The only negative thing was that parking wasn't directly by the unit. There was a central parking garage and you couldn't drive up to the unit. It was close though, and they would haul your bags to your unit with a golf cart if you wanted them to. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Hawaii Island
Business
Arvada
Dec 21, 2014

excellent condo in southern Kona

Wonderful location, beautiful grounds, and large condo units.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
supporting the economy
Business
Sydney
Oct 22, 2014

Great facility

Located with good tennis and golf facilities in a spacious self contained one bedroom. Great value for money. Great diving and snorkelling on kona coast and night manta rays a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
forza1
Business
Chicago,IL
Sep 27, 2014

Wonderful Getaway!

Our stay here was beyond what we expected. When we arrived the check in was fast and easy. The staff was very kind and when we parked in the garage one of the staff members offered to give us a ride to our room with all of our luggage on the golf cart. The room was bigger than we expected and very neat and clean. Housekeeping only comes once a week, there are plenty of pools, many tennis courts and there was always more than enough parking. We were allowed to check out later than required and the staff offered to hold our bags in the office so that we could have one more full day to enjoy the island since our flight was leaving at night. Overall great stay and we look forward to staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hard 2 Please
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 8, 2014

Third Time Staying Here

Best bang for the buck for a spacious condo with all the amenities we needed for a one week stay-could live there for 3 months straight, no problem; if my schedule would ever permit. Well kept grounds-very friendly staff. Never disappointed when we stay at this property! Will absolutely return. PS-I NEVER have a problem writing a bad review when one is warranted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco on your way here from the airport and you are set.

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clemson Tiger fan
Business
Atlanta
Apr 22, 2013

Loved the place.

Great sunsets from this location. The condo was spacious and clean. Will definetly stay there on the next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outdoorsy couple in 40s
Business
SF Bay Area, CA
Feb 4, 2013

Great condo style stay

One bedroom condo. Very roomy with a large bedroom, large living room, and full kitchen. I have found in past stays in Hawaii that everything is a little worse than its stars would indicate. It may be that the humidity makes upkeep hard -- stuff rots and is musty. The Holua Resort very clearly breaks this pattern. THe place was very clean including corners in the bathroom. The kitchen was sparkling too. The place was decorated very nicely. I was very impressed. The location is a bit outside of town so a car or cab rides are necessary. It is right next to one of the docks for an activities company though -- snorkling and manta ray trips. It is walking distance to some shopping if you don't mind a mile walk. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jacky Rays restaurant. I might be spelling that wrong. Outstanding food. The atmosphere is casual, but the food was fine dining.

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Hawaii Island
Business
Arvada, CO
Dec 10, 2012

Great Place to Stay near Kona

This is the 6th time we have stayed here and it will not be our last. We love the beautiful landscaping, the large living/sleeping/kitchen areas and will definitely stay there again when we return to Hawaii Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sam Choy's

Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron the Sentinel
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 17, 2012

Great place

Had no problems with this place. Great rooms; fully furnished, great staff. Easy checkin/checkout, pretty quiet, really enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top