$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Very beautiful and cozy

I really liked this place, it's very clean, comfort and cozy. Near all the restaurants and places... See full review

  • Sherif Dabash
  • Jan 5, 2015
excellent condo in southern Kona

Wonderful location, beautiful grounds, and large condo units. See full review

  • Love Hawaii Island
  • Dec 21, 2014
Island living at mid-priced, fully equipped Keauhou villas near the sea
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests can have fun in the six swimming pools and Jacuzzis, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, six pools and Jacuzzis, and fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Rooms
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Features
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests have lots of space to frolic and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Dining
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafes are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 9, 2009

Total disappointment, one to avoid!

The location of the resort is fine and the decoration is ok. However, several things were seriously broken and caused significant inconvenience: 1. Advertised wireless internet is not work properly during our 3 days stay at the hotel. Numerous calls to front desk and service provider (Wayport) didn't solve the problem. Wireless connection was interrupted every few minutes or couldn't connect at all. 2. The safebox in the room is not working. 3. Underground parking is about 100 yards from condo. They have road built but only allow service cart to go in and out. Very very inconvenient to load/unload baggages unless you ask for help and pay tip. 4. Staff is not friendly. The hotel requires 10am checkout. Our flight was in the afternoon and we asked for late checkout around noon. Our request was rejected in a very rude and unfriendly manner. Front Desk said they only allow 3 late checkouts per day and there's already 4 booked. The manager said only 2 are allowed per day. Finally the manager said they don't care about customer feedback at all and said "feel free to post bad reviews"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sailor VA
Business
North Garden Virginia
Jul 20, 2012

Kona

Friendly front desk staff allowed us to check in early and on day of check out after going to beach we were able to use recreation room showers before our flight. Grounds are very pretty and well kept but rooms seemed a bit dated. Wireless was not working at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golden One
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 6, 2009

Great value and large sized condos.

Excellent value and for the amount of space you get, this is highly recommended. Location is a little bit aways from main town being about as far South of the Kailua-Kona area you can get but if you love golfing, you'll love the location. The pools are more or less identical and you really only visit the one that is closest to your condo but it is quite private and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the welcome reception the hotel offers every Tuesday night. They offer enough food to satisfy for a dinner which was an unexpected delight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snorkel Mom
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 5, 2010

Room with no view

Although the rooms were spacious and well maintained, the upclose and personal views of other rooms and people kept us off the lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We went twice to Captain Cook with SeaQuest adventures and found them outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saca
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2011

just like paradise

Beautiful lush gardens with ocean and mountain view.The rooms are spacious and bright with funky green color. Staff is very friendly and helpful. great place to dtay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tallcoach
Business
Longmont, Colorado
Nov 23, 2011

Will Be Back

We arrived at 4pm on Oct 8th, 2011. The check in process was very efficient. The staff was freindly and knew and did their jobs very well. We were taken to our room and helped with our luggage by the young man from Texas. The Concierge went out of his way to help us obtain boarding passes for our return air travel. Donna, the staff desk manager was excellent. The grounds and room service personnel were absolutely outstanding. This is a great place to stay on the Big Island and we will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to three
Business
Castro Valley, Ca
Jul 28, 2012

family getaway

The resort was well staffed and everyone was great. Beth, the activities director and Shawn, our concierge, were superb! Our family loved the space, 2bed 21/2 bath. The rooms were very comfortable. We did have some issues however. They are currently renovating the rooms and ours was the next on the list to be done. We never had phone lines that worked, and the detailed cleaning wasn't done. I would say they hadn't quite kept it as detailed because of the impending updates. The maintenance engineer did everything he could to make corrections to our space while we were there. As I said before, everyone did whatever they could to make it right. I would sta here again, no questions asked. Well, maybe I'll make sure our foom has been redone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Paniolo Ranch- open range horseback riding on a working ranch. Gary was our guide, and it was such an amazing experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron the Sentinel
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 17, 2012

Great place

Had no problems with this place. Great rooms; fully furnished, great staff. Easy checkin/checkout, pretty quiet, really enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bev H
Business
Altadena CA
Jan 27, 2013

bad plumbing problem!

The toilets kept clogging for no reason, and the entire area around our building smelled of sewage. Everything else was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sheraton right next to the resort (short walk or lots of free public parking) has nightly live music in the restaurant, but purchase is not required. They also have nice grounds along the ocean cliffside with lots of boats to watch and great sunsets! Some of the easiest swimming and snorkeling beach parks are just a couple miles north on Alii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outdoorsy couple in 40s
Business
SF Bay Area, CA
Feb 4, 2013

Great condo style stay

One bedroom condo. Very roomy with a large bedroom, large living room, and full kitchen. I have found in past stays in Hawaii that everything is a little worse than its stars would indicate. It may be that the humidity makes upkeep hard -- stuff rots and is musty. The Holua Resort very clearly breaks this pattern. THe place was very clean including corners in the bathroom. The kitchen was sparkling too. The place was decorated very nicely. I was very impressed. The location is a bit outside of town so a car or cab rides are necessary. It is right next to one of the docks for an activities company though -- snorkling and manta ray trips. It is walking distance to some shopping if you don't mind a mile walk. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jacky Rays restaurant. I might be spelling that wrong. Outstanding food. The atmosphere is casual, but the food was fine dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top