$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
excellent condo in southern Kona

Wonderful location, beautiful grounds, and large condo units. See full review

  • Love Hawaii Island
  • Dec 21, 2014
Great facility

Located with good tennis and golf facilities in a spacious self contained one bedroom. Great value... See full review

  • supporting the economy
  • Oct 22, 2014
Island living at mid-priced, fully equipped Keauhou villas near the sea
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests can have fun in the six swimming pools and Jacuzzis, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, six pools and Jacuzzis, and fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Rooms
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Features
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests have lots of space to frolic and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Dining
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafes are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver wa
May 4, 2009

Just incredible!

What a beautiful place, overlooked the golf course with a partial ocean view. The rooms were incredible, very roomy and wonderfully decorated. It was one of the best trips we ever took, wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco first! The place was so wonderful we had little reason to go out to eat. Do a Sunset dinner cruise for one of your night outs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Sep 13, 2009

Gorgeous rooms, golf course & ocean view

This is my 2nd time here. I stayed there in April, it was so awesome that I came home a booked another trip in September. I would recommend if you rent the one bedroom, to ask for the 2nd floor. This time I stayed on the lower level, view wasn't as nice, also the airconditioning units are on the ground floor, making it noisy when sitting outside or with the door open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco, close to the airport. Grocery stores are expensive there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jays Review
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 23, 2011

This resort was absolutely terrific! Especially for first time travelers to Hawaii

Myself, my boyfriend, and another couple went to this resort together on our first trip to Hawaii. We ahad an absolutely terrific stay! The staff were very helpful, full of life and energy and alwayss readily available to help in any way possible. the space was more then we expected! The pictures literally did it no justice! We had a terrific week in Hawaii because of this resort and most definitely will be returning in the near future. Thank yuo Holua!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that you get a car while out there because there is nothing close. Also, go to the front desk to do a timeshare tour for about 90 minutes because it gives you alot off of activities that you may want to participate in even if you do not sign up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elwetritsche
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

christmas break on the big island

This was perfect for our family of four with two older children (16 and 20), wonderful spacious condo, pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, the staff here is super friendly, we enjoyed every minute of our stay and would go back any time.... very close to Kona Village and shopping... no beach access, but many beaches very close by...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmer's Market at Keauhou Shopping Center on Wed and Saturdays, freshest juices, organic Kona coffee, and also the PeaBerryGalette Coffee Shop in the Keauhou Shopping Center.... friendliest staff, best coffee and desserts ever...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rossco866
Business
Leven, Scotland
Apr 16, 2012

Fantastic Short Break

We had a great time at the Holua Resort as it split up a 2 week vacation to Hawaii / Waikiki. The place is beatifully set in lush well maintained gardens and ponds teaming with fish!. The staff could not be more helpful during our short stay and the Townhouse villa was so spacious and immaculate! We would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You absolutely need a car when on Kona so pick up at the Airport when you arrive as if you use the Taxi or Shuttle to get to your accomodation you will still have to go back to the airport to pick your Hire car up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller Foo
Business
Nashua, NH
May 6, 2012

Perfect

For $129 what I got would cost in four figures at many other places. Two bed/2.5 bath/fully equipped kitchen and a millionaire backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Hawaii Island
Business
Arvada, CO
Dec 10, 2012

Great Place to Stay near Kona

This is the 6th time we have stayed here and it will not be our last. We love the beautiful landscaping, the large living/sleeping/kitchen areas and will definitely stay there again when we return to Hawaii Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sam Choy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob & Bev
Business
Yakima, WA
Sep 27, 2010

Beautiful resort

Our Holua condo was super clean and located within beautiful grounds. It was quiet and restful. The housekeeping staff stopped by daily with clean towels and supplies. The underground parking garage kept the car cool. The concierge provides discount tickets to most local attractions. We saved about $250.00 on snorkeling, the Atlantis submarine, the glass bottom boat dinner tour and more.We were about 6 miles south of downtown Kailua-Kona which was just perfect for peace and quiet but convenient for a quick drive to town in our rental car. We will probably stay there again on our next visit to the big island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book your tours through the hotel concierge and save money. You are then obligated to attend a 2 hour sales presentation but we found it worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, *
Aug 8, 2008

This was my first time on ...

This was my first time on the Big Island of Hawaii. Until this visit my favorite island has been Maui. We stayed at the Holua Resort on Kona. The condo was large, a bright and cheerful, one bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the large living room. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, bakewake, pots and pans everything that we needed. Each small complex had gas BBQs and a nearby pool. Every room has a patio with lounging chairs. There was a flat screen television with DVD player in the living room and a smaller flat screen in the bedroom. There was an introductory reception informing us of the fun activities throughout the week at the complex (arts and crafts, hula dancing, etc.) and around the island. We did not play tennis but the courts were inviting. The lobby had inexpensive movie rentals and they even gave us popcorn. We will visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store, coffee shop, pizza, etc close by but you don't feel as though you are in the middle of the city. South of the complex you can find great snorkling. North on the highway you can find all the tourist shops. Within walking distance there is a small boat harbor where you can go out scuba diving or rent a canoe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Nov 25, 2009

Great stay!

Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top