$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
71 reviews
Great facility

Located with good tennis and golf facilities in a spacious self contained one bedroom. Great value... See full review

  • supporting the economy
  • Oct 22, 2014
Wonderful Getaway!

Our stay here was beyond what we expected. When we arrived the check in was fast and easy. The... See full review

  • forza1
  • Sep 27, 2014

A spectacular Hawaiian paradise, Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village, is an award-winning resort featuring one and two bedroom condominium suites, which are fully appointed with all the comforts of home, featuring king size beds in the master bedrooms, as well as high speed internet access in all rooms.

Located amidst the striking greens of 36 holes of championship golf, Holua Resort offers beautifully landscaped grounds allowing guests to relax to the sound of meandering waterways at one of our eight pools and spas. Bar-b-que grills are located at each pool so guests can prepare meals featuring fresh fish or island raised meats. Enjoy a game of tennis on one of the 13 courts at Holua Resort’s world-class tennis center, 7 of which are lighted, or take a short walk to Keauhou Bay where charter fishing boats, kayaks for rent, and snorkel cruises depart. Drive up the beautiful Kohala Coast and experience some of the best beaches the Big Island of Hawaii has to offer.

The Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy the perfect vacation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEP
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

Lots of space, great service

Large 1 bedroom condo, w/ 1 1/2 baths, great concierge, really helped us set up what we wanted (they do want you to go to one of their time share spiels, not required but lots of discounts if you do. Make up your own mind on this one). Holua provided lots of little things just for the asking, such as beach mats for the day, a small library of books and dvds to borrow etc. a variety of activities each week right at the condo for those interested. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Big Island has a very different flavor than the rest of Hawaii. We really enjoyed the bus trip and dinner at one of the ranches. Learned a Lot about cattle ranching in Hawaii and had a great time with great food. Much better than the Luau on this Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cobrateach
Business
Peoria AZ
Jun 19, 2009

Most impressed

Condo was well equipped. Extremely well maintained. Plenty of free covered parking. Free use of the internet to print off boarding pass. Very kind and friendly staff. Overall a most enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Location of condo was just short drive to downtown Kona with all the day and night life along with plenty of shopping and other activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, Ca
Jun 17, 2009

long awaited Hawaiian getaway

We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the privacy a great deal. While in a location a few miles from the little village of Kona, it was a location that worked for us, as we don't like all of the bustle associated with a tourist destination. We had everything we needed to make our stay very pleasant. The staff was courteous and helpful. For us, this was one of our best vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

we enjoyed going to a local grocery store and buying all the food we needed to prepare our breakfasts and lunches, as the condo was equipped with a very nice kitchen. Also, pack lightly because there are washers and dryers in the units.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, WI.
May 16, 2009

Beautiful grounds and interior

We've traveled far and wide and for the money this resort excels. The 2-bed condo was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The resort is a convenient hideaway and within walking distance of a nice shopping center that includes huge drug store and nice grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's, formally Durty Jake's, has the best prices and food in Kona wih nightly entertainment. Bubba Grump's has the location and the Kona Brewery is great choice for beer and pizza. There's lots of free parking behind Bongo Ben's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver wa
May 4, 2009

Just incredible!

What a beautiful place, overlooked the golf course with a partial ocean view. The rooms were incredible, very roomy and wonderfully decorated. It was one of the best trips we ever took, wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco first! The place was so wonderful we had little reason to go out to eat. Do a Sunset dinner cruise for one of your night outs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humboldt, IA
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic condo and view, great service!

The best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 9, 2009

Total disappointment, one to avoid!

The location of the resort is fine and the decoration is ok. However, several things were seriously broken and caused significant inconvenience: 1. Advertised wireless internet is not work properly during our 3 days stay at the hotel. Numerous calls to front desk and service provider (Wayport) didn't solve the problem. Wireless connection was interrupted every few minutes or couldn't connect at all. 2. The safebox in the room is not working. 3. Underground parking is about 100 yards from condo. They have road built but only allow service cart to go in and out. Very very inconvenient to load/unload baggages unless you ask for help and pay tip. 4. Staff is not friendly. The hotel requires 10am checkout. Our flight was in the afternoon and we asked for late checkout around noon. Our request was rejected in a very rude and unfriendly manner. Front Desk said they only allow 3 late checkouts per day and there's already 4 booked. The manager said only 2 are allowed per day. Finally the manager said they don't care about customer feedback at all and said "feel free to post bad reviews"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Elsinore
Dec 5, 2008

Beautiful resort

The Holua Resort was landscaped beautifully...it was a joy to walk to your condo. There was a fountain outside every area and a barbecue for each building. There are 8 pools and jacuzzis. The condo itself was very nicely decorated, very clean and spacious. As you entered into the vestibule, you had the choice of continuing to the two bedrooms or going upstairs to the living room, dining area and kitchen. The master bdroom had a king bed and a large vanity with two sinks and a separate bathroom area. There was a TV and a large expanse of windows that really brought the outdoors into the room. There were twin beds in the second bedroom with the same expanse of window and its own bathroom. Both bedrooms opened to a small patio with chairs. Behind a door was a stackable washer and dryer that was very convenient. Upstairs was the living room with a TV and DVD player which overlooked the 2nd hole of Kona Country Club. There was a large dining table with six chairs to one side. There was also a half bathroom. The air conditioning worked great and there was a ceiling fan in the living room! The kitchen had everything you needed to cook with and a dishwasher. Two sliding doors opened to a balcony with a table and 4 chairs that overlooked the pool area. While the resort didn't have its own restaurant, there were several nearby. There was also a great shopping center within a half mile with restaurants, grocery store, drug store and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Overlooking the ocean and next to a beautiful beach. It is a great place to watch the sunset. It started to sprinkle a little and we though we'd have to move but they electronically moved a covering over us so that we could continue to have our amazing meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton
Oct 24, 2008

Great Place for a Great Price

The Mauna Loa Holua Resort is surrounded by breathtaking scenery. You are surrounded by nature at its best. Everything from a mountainous area to the beach front. In the two bedroom units, both rooms had their own bathrooms. So this is great for multiple couples. The lanai overlooked the the Kona Country Club Golf Course and had a view of the ocean. It is a very quiet and pleasant place. Close to Alii drive where all of the action is for Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining and shopping areas to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, *
Aug 8, 2008

This was my first time on ...

This was my first time on the Big Island of Hawaii. Until this visit my favorite island has been Maui. We stayed at the Holua Resort on Kona. The condo was large, a bright and cheerful, one bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the large living room. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, bakewake, pots and pans everything that we needed. Each small complex had gas BBQs and a nearby pool. Every room has a patio with lounging chairs. There was a flat screen television with DVD player in the living room and a smaller flat screen in the bedroom. There was an introductory reception informing us of the fun activities throughout the week at the complex (arts and crafts, hula dancing, etc.) and around the island. We did not play tennis but the courts were inviting. The lobby had inexpensive movie rentals and they even gave us popcorn. We will visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store, coffee shop, pizza, etc close by but you don't feel as though you are in the middle of the city. South of the complex you can find great snorkling. North on the highway you can find all the tourist shops. Within walking distance there is a small boat harbor where you can go out scuba diving or rent a canoe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top