$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Swanton, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Wonderful place to stay - great value

Great location, price and service. Condo unit was very quite, peaceful and even had an ocean view. Condo unit was very large with 2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, kitchen, dining room, living room, laundry closet and private lanai. Staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Would stay again if ever in the area and would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet lagged but happy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2009

As advertised

We just returned from our trip to the Big Island. Overall, we had a very good stay at the Holua Resort. The condo was very large, well-equipped and well maintained. The staff was quite accomodating, even allowing a late check out and a shower in the fitness facility before our evening flight. My only disappointment (likely an advantage to others) was the relatively few number of kids staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

several great snorkling companies are a short walk away at Keahou Bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx
Jul 29, 2009

Great Place for the Value

We went snorkling many times and drove to the areas around the island. The hotel is easy to get to (after finding it the first time; which isn't too hard). A close grocery store makes it easy to bring food to the condo so you don't have to eat out every meal. The long walk from the parking garage to the room is a drawback (over 300 steps to our room). About half the time, one of the staff in a cart would give us a ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Snorkling Boat trip from Fairwinds; just about 1/4 - 1/2 mile down the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2009

Great Vacation in Kona

Wonderful Hotel. The grounds are spectacular and the rooms are wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEP
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

Lots of space, great service

Large 1 bedroom condo, w/ 1 1/2 baths, great concierge, really helped us set up what we wanted (they do want you to go to one of their time share spiels, not required but lots of discounts if you do. Make up your own mind on this one). Holua provided lots of little things just for the asking, such as beach mats for the day, a small library of books and dvds to borrow etc. a variety of activities each week right at the condo for those interested. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Big Island has a very different flavor than the rest of Hawaii. We really enjoyed the bus trip and dinner at one of the ranches. Learned a Lot about cattle ranching in Hawaii and had a great time with great food. Much better than the Luau on this Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cobrateach
Business
Peoria AZ
Jun 19, 2009

Most impressed

Condo was well equipped. Extremely well maintained. Plenty of free covered parking. Free use of the internet to print off boarding pass. Very kind and friendly staff. Overall a most enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Location of condo was just short drive to downtown Kona with all the day and night life along with plenty of shopping and other activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, Ca
Jun 17, 2009

long awaited Hawaiian getaway

We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the privacy a great deal. While in a location a few miles from the little village of Kona, it was a location that worked for us, as we don't like all of the bustle associated with a tourist destination. We had everything we needed to make our stay very pleasant. The staff was courteous and helpful. For us, this was one of our best vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

we enjoyed going to a local grocery store and buying all the food we needed to prepare our breakfasts and lunches, as the condo was equipped with a very nice kitchen. Also, pack lightly because there are washers and dryers in the units.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, WI.
May 16, 2009

Beautiful grounds and interior

We've traveled far and wide and for the money this resort excels. The 2-bed condo was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The resort is a convenient hideaway and within walking distance of a nice shopping center that includes huge drug store and nice grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's, formally Durty Jake's, has the best prices and food in Kona wih nightly entertainment. Bubba Grump's has the location and the Kona Brewery is great choice for beer and pizza. There's lots of free parking behind Bongo Ben's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver wa
May 4, 2009

Just incredible!

What a beautiful place, overlooked the golf course with a partial ocean view. The rooms were incredible, very roomy and wonderfully decorated. It was one of the best trips we ever took, wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco first! The place was so wonderful we had little reason to go out to eat. Do a Sunset dinner cruise for one of your night outs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humboldt, IA
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic condo and view, great service!

The best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top