$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Nov 25, 2009

Great stay!

Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Verne, CA
Nov 18, 2009

Kona Hotel for Anniversary!

Overall, this was a very nice location, close to stores and snorkeling beach. We enjoyed the time we spent while on the property - relaxing. The tennis courts were very nice. The only bummer was the jacuzzi's didn't work very well, but the pools were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Kona, Hawaii

Excellent Condominum Resort. We have stayed there 3 times now, and we will sure return again to the Holua Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Nov 15, 2009

Fantastic resort

The best hotel I have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leapleo
Business
SC
Nov 3, 2009

The place to stay in the Kailua-Kona are

Visited the Big Island for a family reunion combined with a trip to the volcano for hiking and sight seeing. The resort's 2 bedroom condos are clean, spacious and nicely furnished. There are two layouts for the 2 bedroom units -- a townhouse and a one level. The townhouse accommodated the whole family (14 adults) comfortably for dinner, but the one level was better for the toddlers. We rented three 2 bedroom units and the resort accommodated our request to be near one another as well as near to the parking garage. Only negative about the resort is that the parking garage can be a little far from some of the units.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
W&M
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 23, 2009

Our home away from home

While not within walking distance of a beach, it's just a short drive to several beaches, Alii Dr (where you'll find much of the shopping and nightlife in Kona), the Captain Cook monument (where you'll find the best snorkling on any of the Hawaiian islands), and right around the corner from the Keauhou shopping center. The staff is very friendly and it's great to be able to borrow free beach mats and cheap boogie boards and coolers right from the front desk. The rooms made us feel at home with a nice kitchen, and separate living room and bedroom. Rooms include private patios / balconies with table & chairs. Everything was clean and beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will be back! The only thing I did not rate as 5 out of 5 was the dining options only because there was no onsite dining available, however there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

From the Holua Resort, take Hwy 11 south for 7 miles to Napoopoo Rd. The road winds down toward the shore for a few miles. At the very bottom, you can rent a two-person canoe (it's actually not a canoe, it's the boat that begins with K,[...] for $50 and paddle to the Captain Cook monument (about 20-30 minutes by canoe). There you will find the best snorkling on the island. The snorkle tour boats will take you here but will charge you more like $150 per person. I also consider the canoe more fun anyway and you're not trying to swim around with 100 other people from the tour boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calif
Oct 19, 2009

Great quiet place to stay

Took a lot of tours Great trip, many things to do on Kona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ATV riding- ATV outfitters, Snorkeling on the Body Glove boat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Creek, WA
Sep 17, 2009

Can't beat price for all you get.

Everyone on staff was very friendly, except one of the concierge's. The condo was very clean. As usual I wiped all handles, light switches, telephones,etc.. with lysol wipes when I arrived and was pleasantly surprised they didn't come out black with grime. Another thing to be cautious of is geckos and frogs coming in if the door gets left open, it's just the way of life on the island. Just keep a look out if your squirmish like me. The parking garage was a bit of a jaunt as other previous travelers had mentioned, they do offer golf cart service though if needed. Definetly can't beat the price especially since they don't tack on additional charges for parking, internet and room cleaning. Would definetly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Sep 13, 2009

Gorgeous rooms, golf course & ocean view

This is my 2nd time here. I stayed there in April, it was so awesome that I came home a booked another trip in September. I would recommend if you rent the one bedroom, to ask for the 2nd floor. This time I stayed on the lower level, view wasn't as nice, also the airconditioning units are on the ground floor, making it noisy when sitting outside or with the door open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco, close to the airport. Grocery stores are expensive there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Sep 13, 2009

Gorgeous rooms, golf course & ocean view

This is my 2nd time here. I stayed there in April, it was so awesome that I came home a booked another trip in September. I would recommend if you rent the one bedroom, to ask for the 2nd floor. This time I stayed on the lower level, view wasn't as nice, also the airconditioning units are on the ground floor, making it noisy when sitting outside or with the door open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hit Costco, close to the airport. Grocery stores are expensive there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top