$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Great place to stay in Kona

Holua Resort was a great condo style hotel. Close to great scuba diving areas and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Resort had many pools, barbeques and tennis courts. Very quiet and relaxing grounds and rooms were extremely spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Manta Ray night snorkel/dive is a must. It was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kona trip
Business
Indian Wells, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Kona Trip

Hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. Hotel was as nice as the pictures shown. We enjoyed the experience greatly. Excellent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the road along the ocean which leads you to shops and dining in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisburg, WV
Jun 15, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

The condo was a for two couples as the double room was very comfortable. Would recomemed renting a car to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Union City Todd
Business
Union City, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Very good, quiet plac3

Very quiet location, super-clean rooms, and a good value. Only concern was that concierge wasn't super-helpful--when we asked him about something we found in the guidebook he gave us his "guess" about what it was, but didn't bother to look it up online or make any effort to provide any further information. (Check-out time is also a little early at 10 a.m.) Overall, though, this was a very good place to stay, with beautiful grounds--would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VacationDad
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 26, 2010

Beautiful Condo in Quiet Area

Good quiet location, but not near the nightlife. The "room", actually a two bedroom condo with a full kitchen was spectacular for the money. The grounds and room were well maintained and clean. The rooms are arranged in group surrounding a huge tennis facility. There are golf courses all around. Instead of having a single giant pool, this resort has a bunch of small, more private pools. The resort doesn't have easy ocean access which would be a plus. Grills were available so you can cook out. There is a decent grocery store nearby. The staff was very friendly. We especially enjoyed the arts and crafts that were available for a nominal charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed going to the nearby Kahulu'u state park for snorkeling, but bring foot protection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 15, 2010

Beautiful resort, set-up just like home

The accomodations were great, very comfortable. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. Kitchen was small but functional. We had a number of meals at home. Staff came to change towels everyday. There's a small plaza within a 5 minute drive that has a supermarket, restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is better to make meals at home for more savings, especially if you have kids. COSTCO and supermarkets are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juli Frequent Hawaii traveler
Business
Bozeman, MT
Jan 25, 2010

Beautiful Holua Resort

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Our room was spotless when we arrived. Housekeeping while friendly were a little inconsistent. One day we didn't get any service and had to call for towels. I think there's confusion because some units are owned and those folks only get weekly service. As a hotel guest you receive daily service so that was a little odd but a very minor inconvenience. Since the parking garage can be a bit of a walk to your unit they do have golf carts that will pick you up and take you to your room. We shopped at Costco and just called the front desk while we were pulling in and immediately somebody was there to load up our groceries and give us a lift to the room. We also got a late checkout at noon and we were able to swim and use the pool all day and take showers in the fitness center which worked out great. We get a whole extra pool day which our kids loved. The units are super spacious and pretty well stocked with dishes, etc. We really liked the location--right at Keahou Bay. If you only do one activity on your trip, TAKE THE FAIRWIND SNORKEL CRUISE--it was a memory of a lifetime. We saw whales, dolphins and a Hawaiian monk seal which is an endangered species. Unbelievable experience, first class snorkeling and their crew is fabulous--very great with kids too. This was the highlight of our trip. We did spend two days up near Waikaloa as the vog was a little gross down south--we couldn't smell it but it just makes it hazy looking outside and blocked the sun down south. But up north it was beautiful blue skies so that's a good way to escape the vog. We bought a day pass at the Hilton Waikaloa for $80/4 people. While the slides and grounds are beautiful the pools are WAY too cold for swimming so that was a little disappointing. Also if you spend $50 there you don't have to pay $15 for parking. If you do go there and have kids, kids eat free at the Lagoon Grill when with a paying adult. We paid $8.50 each for medicore hot dogs/chips at the Hula Hot Dog Stand could have had a nice lunch at the Lagoon Grill for a lot less. Island Lava Java was our best meal--fabulous macadamia nut crusted butterfish and fish tacos! Ridiculous Kona Coffee ice cream--went there two nights in a row. Quinn's Almost By the Sea was also pretty good fish and chips. Bubba Gump's is pretty good--food very average but the location can't be beat. We got a table oceanside which was a nice treat for our first night in town. There's a very reasonably priced Taco Del Mar near the Costco--nice because you don't have to look for parking and we were just coming from Waikaloa Beach and had not showered so it was a place we felt comfortable swinging into for a quick tasty meal. Akaka Falls is fantastic. Also stop by Laupoehoehoe (where the tidal wave was in 1946). We saw many whales right off shore here and it's a magnificent view from here of the beautiful coastline. Also drive up to Waipio Valley. You can't go in without a 4 wheel drive but spectacular views from the top--very worthwhile. I would recommend purchasing the Hawaii Revealed Big Island Guide--very good information. We got a tip from this book for renting snorkel gear--try Miller's Surf Shop--a little south on Alii Drive near the Royal Sea Cliff Resort. $52 for four of us for a week of good quality snorkel gear. Larry also gave us a lot of tips on snorkeling, restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shop at Costco for souvenirs like coffee and macadamia nuts. 6 pack of coffee for $19.99. Also get pre-made MaiTai mix for about $12/bottle. Pineapples for $2.99. Excellent rib eye steak. We had great success cooking in a couple dinners and ate all of our breakfasts in. Also got cheese, crackers for day snacks. Saved a ton of money by eating in a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barchetta
Business
Moscow, ID
Jan 8, 2010

Very comfortable and roomy

They tried to get us to go to a time-share meeting during check in. That was a huge turn off. He tried to pressure us a little, but we just said no. The 2 bedroom condo was perfect for our family, and we never heard any neighbors. It was very peaceful. With the full kitchen, you can save a lot of money by eating some of your meals at the condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Dec 29, 2009

Great Place to stay on the Big Island

It was a great hotel to stay at on the island. Couldn't find a better price for the value in the area. It was a great location on the Kona side of the island. Close to shoping food and beaches. IT was only a 15 min. drive from the airport too. Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Matt
Business
Olympia, WA
Dec 17, 2009

Awesome

The service was great, from check-in to check-out. The condo was spacious and included everything you need to cook. (There are no restaurants on site, but many are within a five-minute drive.) Plus there were barbecue grills everywhere. Little amenities like free laundry soap were a real plus. I would not hesitate to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top