$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
View map of 78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
Sep 28, 2010

Great deal

Pleasantly surprised at quality of lodgings. Beautifully decorated condo with everything you need. Staff went out of its way to be helpful. Not on the water but the setting is lovely with plants and fountains right outside the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good restaurants but we really liked Jackie Rays.We liked it so much that we returned for another meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob & Bev
Business
Yakima, WA
Sep 27, 2010

Beautiful resort

Our Holua condo was super clean and located within beautiful grounds. It was quiet and restful. The housekeeping staff stopped by daily with clean towels and supplies. The underground parking garage kept the car cool. The concierge provides discount tickets to most local attractions. We saved about $250.00 on snorkeling, the Atlantis submarine, the glass bottom boat dinner tour and more.We were about 6 miles south of downtown Kailua-Kona which was just perfect for peace and quiet but convenient for a quick drive to town in our rental car. We will probably stay there again on our next visit to the big island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book your tours through the hotel concierge and save money. You are then obligated to attend a 2 hour sales presentation but we found it worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCSD Dad
Business
Bay Area
Aug 29, 2010

Quite Location

The hotel staff is very and helpful to move the baggages to the room and also helped to get to the know location and gave recreation ideas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best snorkeling location where Caption Cook's monument is close by and the boat is within walking distance to take you there. This was the best experience we had during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 24, 2010

8/7/2010 to 8/9/2010

Was very clean and nice.Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby fast food restaurants about 6 mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont,CA
Aug 17, 2010

Great place to stay

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Washington
Business
Olympia WA
Aug 7, 2010

Kona Halua Resort

Good trip very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snorkel Mom
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 5, 2010

Room with no view

Although the rooms were spacious and well maintained, the upclose and personal views of other rooms and people kept us off the lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We went twice to Captain Cook with SeaQuest adventures and found them outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tzeench
Business
Minnesota
Jul 14, 2010

Excellent Stay!

Upon arrival at the resort, we were informed that we would not be getting the 2-bedroom condo that we had reserved, but instead we would be getting the "big room". I asked what this "big room" was and they just said, "don't worry, you'll love it". As it turns out, we did love it. It was much bigger than what we has asked for: - 3 bedrooms [two were masters w/ king beds] - 4 full baths - 2 living rooms, - Full kitchen w/ dishwasher - Dining room, - Washer/dryer - A monster lani off the back that overlooked the pool, a hole on the golf course and the ocean For us, the location was perfect. It is not downtown (just a 10 min. drive south of downtown), so you don't get any noisy traffic or noisy people who've had to much to drink. There is also a medium size mall within a 3-5 min. drive which had anything you would need (grocery, drug store, urgent care, movie theater, etc) As for the staff, I can really comment. We only spoke with them upon check-in and check-out. But for those two occasions that we did speak with them. They were as friendly and polite as you'd want (without over-doing it). The only thing negative to say about this resort, is to be warry of the 'free welcoming get together' (though it really isn't that negative because it did offer us some ideas on what we might want to do later during our stay and it is not required that you attend). They start with free pastries, coffee and juice. Then move on to show you what kind of activities are on the island to do, but this list of activities is given by the people that run the activities, so it is a sales pitch. Lastly they also try to get to listen to a time-share sales pitch at the end, but luckily it is not pushed and they let you leave easily. Overall, this resort was awesome. If we ever manage to get back to the Big Island again, I know we'll stay there again. The price was VERY good for what we got and I would recomend it to anyone (friends, couples, families, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're into trying some local Kava, be sure to check out "Ma's Kava Stop" just south of the resort on the Mamalahoa Highway. It's a hole-in-the-wall type of place, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jul 10, 2010

Awesome Resort!

We are a returning customer, if that tells you anything... We came last year and then again this year..... we weren't disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Great place to stay in Kona

Holua Resort was a great condo style hotel. Close to great scuba diving areas and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Resort had many pools, barbeques and tennis courts. Very quiet and relaxing grounds and rooms were extremely spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Manta Ray night snorkel/dive is a must. It was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top