$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
71 reviews
Great facility

Located with good tennis and golf facilities in a spacious self contained one bedroom. Great value... See full review

  • supporting the economy
  • Oct 22, 2014
Wonderful Getaway!

Our stay here was beyond what we expected. When we arrived the check in was fast and easy. The... See full review

  • forza1
  • Sep 27, 2014

A spectacular Hawaiian paradise, Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village, is an award-winning resort featuring one and two bedroom condominium suites, which are fully appointed with all the comforts of home, featuring king size beds in the master bedrooms, as well as high speed internet access in all rooms.

Located amidst the striking greens of 36 holes of championship golf, Holua Resort offers beautifully landscaped grounds allowing guests to relax to the sound of meandering waterways at one of our eight pools and spas. Bar-b-que grills are located at each pool so guests can prepare meals featuring fresh fish or island raised meats. Enjoy a game of tennis on one of the 13 courts at Holua Resort’s world-class tennis center, 7 of which are lighted, or take a short walk to Keauhou Bay where charter fishing boats, kayaks for rent, and snorkel cruises depart. Drive up the beautiful Kohala Coast and experience some of the best beaches the Big Island of Hawaii has to offer.

The Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy the perfect vacation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helene, Ben
Business
Quebec, Canada
Aug 4, 2011

The best we reserved up to now

We spent 9 days in Big Island; hiking in the north and had lunch at the black sand beach, hiking at Volvcanos park (FANTASTIC- AMAZING) eruption when we were there, hiking to green sand beach (wonderful place) and of course a lot of snorkeling (we had our own equip with us -very useful) What made our trip so nice, we have big condo full equip and we make your own food. (Coscto very close and cheap ) We really like having our steack on B&Q People who work here are very nice and helpfull The aera is quit, swiming pool are always clean. The only bad thing, no access to the sea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kahaluu beach park is the best Kona snorkeling spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Be a man, don't be a wussie
Business
Kalifornia
May 14, 2011

Nice place to stay, but I hope you won't

Don't go to this resort, I want to return and I don't want you booking it up. Stay away, find someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

da Poke Shack on Ali'i Drive. Poke is awesome, however if you are a sissy eater, don't bother because it is raw ahi. If you aren't a boring wussie then go and get some excellent grub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 29, 2011

Holua Resort Kona, HI

Beautiful property. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Holua Resort is a condo type property. A full service hotel was right next door, so if you wanted to go to a restaurant or bar, it was only a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kamaaina mom
Business
Oahu
Mar 21, 2011

We Loved Staying at the Holua Resort!!!!

We went to Kona for a basketball tournament and found the Holua Resort to be very accomodating. We loved that the unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths, a washer/dryer and lots and lots of room! The unit was very clean and spacious. Loved the full kitchen and being able to cook to save some money from dining out. Front desk Customer service agent Kaimana Ching was terrific! Thanks for making us feel right at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Jan 10, 2011

Good stay!

All in all spacious, quiet and nice place to stay for those not looking for a resort. Welcome dinner a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olympia, WA
Oct 3, 2010

Holua Heaven!

2nd stay at the resort and loved it again! We were a bit dissapointed that we were told we could have a specific room that we requeted and didn't get it. Also not being able to check in on time was a pain because we had groceries that needed cooling. However, none of this ruined our stay. The staff are wonderful here. the views are great and we will stay here again! Exceptional value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
Sep 28, 2010

Great deal

Pleasantly surprised at quality of lodgings. Beautifully decorated condo with everything you need. Staff went out of its way to be helpful. Not on the water but the setting is lovely with plants and fountains right outside the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good restaurants but we really liked Jackie Rays.We liked it so much that we returned for another meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob & Bev
Business
Yakima, WA
Sep 27, 2010

Beautiful resort

Our Holua condo was super clean and located within beautiful grounds. It was quiet and restful. The housekeeping staff stopped by daily with clean towels and supplies. The underground parking garage kept the car cool. The concierge provides discount tickets to most local attractions. We saved about $250.00 on snorkeling, the Atlantis submarine, the glass bottom boat dinner tour and more.We were about 6 miles south of downtown Kailua-Kona which was just perfect for peace and quiet but convenient for a quick drive to town in our rental car. We will probably stay there again on our next visit to the big island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book your tours through the hotel concierge and save money. You are then obligated to attend a 2 hour sales presentation but we found it worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCSD Dad
Business
Bay Area
Aug 29, 2010

Quite Location

The hotel staff is very and helpful to move the baggages to the room and also helped to get to the know location and gave recreation ideas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best snorkeling location where Caption Cook's monument is close by and the boat is within walking distance to take you there. This was the best experience we had during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 24, 2010

8/7/2010 to 8/9/2010

Was very clean and nice.Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby fast food restaurants about 6 mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top