$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

3 stars
78 Kaleiopapa St, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
71 reviews
Great facility

Located with good tennis and golf facilities in a spacious self contained one bedroom. Great value... See full review

  • supporting the economy
  • Oct 22, 2014
Wonderful Getaway!

Our stay here was beyond what we expected. When we arrived the check in was fast and easy. The... See full review

  • forza1
  • Sep 27, 2014
Island living at mid-priced, fully equipped Keauhou villas near the sea
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village offers at-home living on the sunny Keauhou coastline, a short drive from Kailua-Kona. Guests enjoy 8 swimming pools, 11 tennis courts and a fitness center. Holua Resort's spacious villas feature a full kitchen and washer/dryer for total comfort. Kahaluu Beach, one of Kona's most popular snorkeling spots, is less than 2 miles away.
Highlights
  • Oversized villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • 11 tennis courts, 8 swimming pools, fitness center
  • Walk to nearby Keauhou Bay and join in one of the sea adventures leaving from the pier (fees may apply)
  • On-site activites, including hula lessons and lei making (fees apply)
Location
Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village sits just off the oceanfront in Kona's peaceful Keauhou area, near the bay. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, coffee farms, fishing and charm.
Rooms
Holua Resort features 73 spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas in 2-story, plantation-style buildings. Each includes bright and cheerful Island furnishings and a golf course, mountain or ocean view from a private patio. Villas also include a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, and free local calls.
Features
Holua Resort guests have lots of space to frollick and keep fit with swimming pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, and a fitness center. Sign up for on-site activities such as lei making and coconut painting (fees apply).
Dining
Holua Resort guests enjoy cooking in full kitchens -- a great way to save. Restaurants and cafés are nearby, including at nearby Keauhou Shopping Center and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (88.4 mi/142 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village Rooms

Two bedroom condo
This luxury style 1,695 sq ft two bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size master bed, two twin beds in the guest bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. It sleeps six very comfortably. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.
One bedroom condo
This luxury style 990 sq ft one bedroom condo has a complete kitchen, dining area, private lanai, king size bed in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living area. There is a home theatre system in the living room with DVD player and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Offsite
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping center, approximately one mile from the resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Hawaii Island
Business
Arvada, CO
Dec 10, 2012

Great Place to Stay near Kona

This is the 6th time we have stayed here and it will not be our last. We love the beautiful landscaping, the large living/sleeping/kitchen areas and will definitely stay there again when we return to Hawaii Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sam Choy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron the Sentinel
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 17, 2012

Great place

Had no problems with this place. Great rooms; fully furnished, great staff. Easy checkin/checkout, pretty quiet, really enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to three
Business
Castro Valley, Ca
Jul 28, 2012

family getaway

The resort was well staffed and everyone was great. Beth, the activities director and Shawn, our concierge, were superb! Our family loved the space, 2bed 21/2 bath. The rooms were very comfortable. We did have some issues however. They are currently renovating the rooms and ours was the next on the list to be done. We never had phone lines that worked, and the detailed cleaning wasn't done. I would say they hadn't quite kept it as detailed because of the impending updates. The maintenance engineer did everything he could to make corrections to our space while we were there. As I said before, everyone did whatever they could to make it right. I would sta here again, no questions asked. Well, maybe I'll make sure our foom has been redone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Paniolo Ranch- open range horseback riding on a working ranch. Gary was our guide, and it was such an amazing experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sailor VA
Business
North Garden Virginia
Jul 20, 2012

Kona

Friendly front desk staff allowed us to check in early and on day of check out after going to beach we were able to use recreation room showers before our flight. Grounds are very pretty and well kept but rooms seemed a bit dated. Wireless was not working at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller Foo
Business
Nashua, NH
May 6, 2012

Perfect

For $129 what I got would cost in four figures at many other places. Two bed/2.5 bath/fully equipped kitchen and a millionaire backyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rossco866
Business
Leven, Scotland
Apr 16, 2012

Fantastic Short Break

We had a great time at the Holua Resort as it split up a 2 week vacation to Hawaii / Waikiki. The place is beatifully set in lush well maintained gardens and ponds teaming with fish!. The staff could not be more helpful during our short stay and the Townhouse villa was so spacious and immaculate! We would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You absolutely need a car when on Kona so pick up at the Airport when you arrive as if you use the Taxi or Shuttle to get to your accomodation you will still have to go back to the airport to pick your Hire car up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elwetritsche
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

christmas break on the big island

This was perfect for our family of four with two older children (16 and 20), wonderful spacious condo, pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, the staff here is super friendly, we enjoyed every minute of our stay and would go back any time.... very close to Kona Village and shopping... no beach access, but many beaches very close by...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmer's Market at Keauhou Shopping Center on Wed and Saturdays, freshest juices, organic Kona coffee, and also the PeaBerryGalette Coffee Shop in the Keauhou Shopping Center.... friendliest staff, best coffee and desserts ever...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tallcoach
Business
Longmont, Colorado
Nov 23, 2011

Will Be Back

We arrived at 4pm on Oct 8th, 2011. The check in process was very efficient. The staff was freindly and knew and did their jobs very well. We were taken to our room and helped with our luggage by the young man from Texas. The Concierge went out of his way to help us obtain boarding passes for our return air travel. Donna, the staff desk manager was excellent. The grounds and room service personnel were absolutely outstanding. This is a great place to stay on the Big Island and we will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jays Review
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 23, 2011

This resort was absolutely terrific! Especially for first time travelers to Hawaii

Myself, my boyfriend, and another couple went to this resort together on our first trip to Hawaii. We ahad an absolutely terrific stay! The staff were very helpful, full of life and energy and alwayss readily available to help in any way possible. the space was more then we expected! The pictures literally did it no justice! We had a terrific week in Hawaii because of this resort and most definitely will be returning in the near future. Thank yuo Holua!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that you get a car while out there because there is nothing close. Also, go to the front desk to do a timeshare tour for about 90 minutes because it gives you alot off of activities that you may want to participate in even if you do not sign up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saca
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2011

just like paradise

Beautiful lush gardens with ocean and mountain view.The rooms are spacious and bright with funky green color. Staff is very friendly and helpful. great place to dtay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top