$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Open for breakfast and dinner, our award-winning beach restaurant serves fresh, delicious Hawaii-inspired cuisine. We specialize in seafood and local Kona produce, as well as refreshing signature cocktails.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Spend the day at the pool! Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille offers casual beachfront dining; sip cocktails and enjoy a light meal as you soak up the Hawaii sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Start your day in Kailua-Kona at our cheerful oceanfront restaurant and coffee house. Fuel up with a cup of fresh-roasted, 100% authentic Kona coffee and a pastry. Menehune Coffee Company is also open for lunch and dinner.
Island Breeze Luau
No trip to Hawaii is complete without experiencing a luau! Reservations required; ask us for more details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 146
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dick nonprofit guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Kona Business trip

Traveled to Kona for a 2 day business trip so I chose the Courtyard due to its location. The hotel is located in the Kona village area, very convienent to restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel is approx 30 mins from all the major resorts so you don't have all the excitment of being in the major tourist area but if you enjoy a quiet stay with few distractions it is a great place. The hotel is well maintained & staff friendly. The room is what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott, clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant, great menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 5, 2011

Very comfortable, great staff

The refrigerator wasn't very cold. Would be nice to stock tea as well as coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
QCT
Business
Captain Cook
Dec 8, 2010

Overpriced, hidden charges

We are locals. I stayed at this hotel because I had an early flight and wanted to be nearer to the airport. A recent remodel has improved the facilities signficantly. Theres an unmentiond charge for parking which along with the wasted (did not add anything to the view) upgraded room charge and taxes makes it poor value in my opinion. The hotel failed to make the wakeup call for an international flight and the morning receptionist said it is a common and recurring problem because the night agent does not use the right form. Fortunantly we set a backup alarm. Bottom line, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent new Indian restaurant just opened up a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BZGalHnl
Business
Honolulu
Jul 19, 2009

Rooms need an uplft!

Rooms were dark and outdated. There was a musty smell and it didn't look clean. When choosing this hotel, the picture shown was of their renovated rooms, which I thought we would be in. A little deceiving, but they said that after August 2009, all rooms will be renovated. So, might give it another try...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

Very Dirty

The room smelt of sewer when we arrived. The bedspreads were very old and faded. The view was great, but the chairs on the lanai were bent, and rusting. The furniture in the lobby and the guest laundry was filthy. Carpeting was also very dirty. The hairdryer in the room did not work, altho the staff did give us another to use. I do understand that there are new owners and maybe thinks will improve. There was no printer for the computer so we could not print out our boarding passes. I have stayed there in the past and was very, very disappointed in the property. The location is perfect, tho.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Luau offered at the King Kamehameha was excellent and I recommend you spend the money to see enjoy the food and entertainment offered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 18, 2008

Solid low-cost alternative

I was attending a convention in Kona on a kimited budget. I got to enjoy the Hawaii experience without destroying my bankroll. The hotel was in the middle of town, with many shopping and dining options in the immediate area, most walkable. 15 minutes from the airport (useful when I had to return for lost luggage). The room was servicable: clean, all the bedding, towels, etc. I needed, TV , etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are dozens of fish and steak places heading south from the hotel, at a variety of price ranges. About 3/4 miles up there are some bars and hangouts that pass for nightlife on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

A Great Disappointment

We were given a room which was smelly, with a carpet stained in several places and very visible, not something which you could pass up,in other words DIRTY It made you feel like looking to see if the sheets were dirty too. Fortunately, they were not. The bed was BAD Old mattress, sagging with no support at all. We fought all night to keep on each other's side. And we are not heavy. All in all it was a fiasco not to be repeated. Most emphatically, it was not worth the price even reduced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting Kailua-Kona close to everything: shopping, eating, visiting the area etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2007

Business Travel

The hotel is clean and acceptable but has very little past that. Pay for parking pay for Wifi, no exercise room. Pay for corporate center. No conntinetal breakfast. Just a room with a view of the parking lot with semi comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in downtown Kona so everything is right there to shop. Or go down the highway one more light and you have walmart, safeway etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top