$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
194 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 194
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Jacq
Mexico
Apr 16, 2014

The people make the place

Everything about the King Kamehameha is great, but the staff really puts it over the top. They are just so helpful and friendly. The place is beautiful…swimming pool, shops, art galleries. It's a little pricier than I normally spend, but hey, it's on the BEACH, in KONA, Hawaii…hard to beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobR Traveler
Woodbridge, Virginia
Nov 3, 2012

Not a resort but good hotel

I wasn't looking for resort amenities (spa, on-site events# as I'm a do-it-yourself traveler, so the package deal with this hotel was great. About 8 miles from the airport at the north end of Kailua at the pier, so easy access with lots of restaurants & shops within easy walking distance. Hotel has a white-sand beach, board rental, a general gift/amenities/liquor store, pool, exercise room, an on-site restaurant, and great luau at night. Free wi-fi worked great on multiple devices, in-room coffee, and mini-fridge. Some of the bad: Pay-for-parking #$10+tax/day) is a bit of nickel-and dime since parking is free everywhere else on the island, but was the only additional fee. My room was not ready when I arrived at 4:00pm but was available in less than an hour. And while the room temperature was usually good, there were times when cranking the A/C would have been good, playing with the thermostat did not seem to have any affect. Overall a great place to serve as a base for exploring the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harbor House Restaurant is between the hotel & the airport, and serves up good food and beer servd in cold schooners. Harbor location, casual, friendly place for locals with great prices.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annalise
Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Jul 13, 2012

R & R retreat

Bumpy check in. The receptionist seemed disturbed that I wanted to upgrade my room and kept me waiting a long time. Once in the partial ocean view room, which wasn't very clean but it was comfortable. The vent in the bathroom didn't work and the bath and sink didn't drain. The maintenance men came and repaired the drains. It seems that regular maintenance and cleanliness checks are needed in the hotel. The public areas were nice although even first thing in the morning the carpets were dirty. The Pool on the weekend was like a city public pool, probably only 10 percent there were paying guests, it was impossible to access the spa as there were so many nonpaying guests in it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian restaurant right across the street!

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spiritmare
Coldwater, MI 49036, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Had a great time

Loved my hotel room, and they have a promising new executive chef on staff. The wait staff at the pool side bar was great, and they are very personable, it was nice that every night had a different drink special for you to try. I loved the fact that my waiter in the restuaurant had actually sampled the Marlin special of the evening and was able to give a good description of the dish. When my flight was delayed the hotel night staff checked me in by phone so that I didn't have to do anything when I got there except pick up my keys. Nice and close to all kinds of shopping and restuarants within walking distance. The Luah was great! My first so I can't say if it is the best like all the brochures and blogs say, but I had a great time. I think that the $10/day parking fee is a bit steep after you spend the money for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Mar 29, 2011

Great location, decent price

The hotel suffered some damage following the tsunami but the rooms were still clean and well-designed. The lobby and surrounding shops were under construction so it was noisy during the day, but the staff was very accommodating because of it. Pool area and outdoor bar/restaurant were open. Thought the fitness area was closed but saw people in there on the day I was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Rapanui Island Cafe for an amazing meal at reasonable prices. Hidden in a strip mall just a short walk from the hotel, the restaurant is small (just a few tables) but offered the best food of the entire trip.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Mar 29, 2011

Great location, decent price

The hotel suffered some damage following the tsunami but the rooms were still clean and well-designed. The lobby and surrounding shops were under construction so it was noisy during the day, but the staff was very accommodating because of it. Pool area and outdoor bar/restaurant were open. Thought the fitness area was closed but saw people in there on the day I was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Rapanui Island Cafe for an amazing meal at reasonable prices. Hidden in a strip mall just a short walk from the hotel, the restaurant is small (just a few tables) but offered the best food of the entire trip.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bel_78
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 8, 2011

I ll come back :)

I loved this hotel, and will come back in my next trip to Big Island. It is really nice and located in a historical location, with a small beach and a pier in front of it. It has been newly renovated and it shows. My room was very well decorated, had a fridge, flat screen tv, alarm clock and free wireless Internet. I appreciated the fact that my room and the hotel were perfectly clean, and that the hotel is in a very central location in Kailua Kona, so even if you don t have a car you can walk and see the views, go to the supermarket, have dinner or just enjoy yourself without having to call a taxi. The hotel staff is very helpful and corteous. I' d like to highlight that check in time is 15 PM, and check out time 11 AM. But when I arrived at 13.30 PM, my room was ready, and I was given the key... Moreover, the day I was leaving I asked whether I could stay until 11.45 AM, and was told that it was ok. On the whole, I 'm very happy with my experience in this hotel, and that s the reason why I give it 5 stars and why I will stay here when I come back to continue exploring this beautiful island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

10 minutes from the hotel (I took a taxi) there is a company called Hawaii Forest and Trail that has great (GREAT) tours.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bel_78
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 8, 2011

I ll come back :)

I loved this hotel, and will come back in my next trip to Big Island. It is really nice and located in a historical location, with a small beach and a pier in front of it. It has been newly renovated and it shows. My room was very well decorated, had a fridge, flat screen tv, alarm clock and free wireless Internet. I appreciated the fact that my room and the hotel were perfectly clean, and that the hotel is in a very central location in Kailua Kona, so even if you don t have a car you can walk and see the views, go to the supermarket, have dinner or just enjoy yourself without having to call a taxi. The hotel staff is very helpful and corteous. I' d like to highlight that check in time is 15 PM, and check out time 11 AM. But when I arrived at 13.30 PM, my room was ready, and I was given the key... Moreover, the day I was leaving I asked whether I could stay until 11.45 AM, and was told that it was ok. On the whole, I 'm very happy with my experience in this hotel, and that s the reason why I give it 5 stars and why I will stay here when I come back to continue exploring this beautiful island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

10 minutes from the hotel (I took a taxi) there is a company called Hawaii Forest and Trail that has great (GREAT) tours.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Feb 14, 2011

King Kame was Awesome

King Kame is the heart of Kona. Great location and access to lots of shopping, swimming and resturants. Friendly staff and rooms emaculate. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Feb 14, 2011

King Kame was Awesome

King Kame is the heart of Kona. Great location and access to lots of shopping, swimming and resturants. Friendly staff and rooms emaculate. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top