$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
138 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 138
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not applicable at all
Business
Bronx, NY
Dec 15, 2013

NO COMPLAINTS

I simply use hotels to sleep and shower. All I require is cleanliness, enough towels and a courteous, informative staff. My experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Big Island is BIG. Stay in a hotel on the side of the Island you plan to do the most on. Or, switch hotels/sides partway through your trip. If not, you spend too much time driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnaRod
Business
Virginia
Nov 26, 2013

Great

Thank YOU! gREAT sERVICE? gREAT LOCATION? FRIENDLY STAF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FXYGMA
Business
Maui
Aug 16, 2013

Temple Trip

Always comfortable, convenient, and clean. Parking is good, too. We like the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Always comfortable and convenient to our needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun time Ali
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay

My girlfriend and I had a great experience at this hotel. Staff was great and always friendly and the location was perfect, walking distance to downtown which was perfect without a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAMA OCLLO
Business
LOS ANGELES CA
Oct 27, 2012

Right on the beach !!!

Hotel is old but well kept. Comfortable. Beautiful Personnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a bus tour around the whole island. Nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agepage
Business
Canada
Aug 20, 2012

Kona Getaway

Would recomend this hotel to anyone!!! I would say it's the nicest hotel right in the heart of Kona. We took two days to drive the entire Island. Would definitely recommend pre renting a car. There was not much selection when we tried to book it the day we wanted to sight see. Everyone should go to the Captain Cook Monument!!! We bought masks and snorkels from Walmart and hiked down to the ocean. It's about a 45 min hike down, 1 hr and a half up. Sooo worth it though. We got to swim with tropical fish in crystal blue waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute kona market. great place to buy souveneirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaili Aloha
Business
Fremont, CA
May 29, 2012

Fun! Fun! Fun!

Everything we needed was close to the hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful! It was our first time at this hotel! We took a chance and we don't have any regrets! Mahalo nui loa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agepage
Business
Canada
Feb 27, 2012

King Kam Kona

Very nice stay! Staff was friendly and rooms were clean and modern. Would have been nice to have the hot tub open a bit longer (it closed at 9pm). This hotel is close to everything. Great places to eat close by and Walmart/ Safeway/Target are a five minute drive away. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flossy Mae
Business
Kalkaska, MI 49646, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Family vacation

Awesome, love every bit of it. Also the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in, I wanted to bring it home with me!!! Everything was within walking distance which made it great , only drove when we wanted to visit the rest of the Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to Bubba Gumps! Great food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal Paddler
Business
California, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Orbitz saves the day

After booking and paying for an ocean front package with Orbitz the hotel placed me in a side room overlooking an old tennis court and parking lot with the ocean well off in the distance! The desk clerk didn't believe me and told me a move couldn't be accomodated for my whole stay (and I would have to pay more $) as the hotel was fully booked for most nights. One call to Orbitz and the error was resolved - I was moved to a beautiful ocean front room that had the fabulous view I'd imagined for months! I appreciate the hotel working with Orbitz - the rest of my stay was excellent. There is construction going on a result of tsunami damage from the Japan earthquake - but it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the beautiful white sand beach and snorkeling cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kokonut bar has great dollar tacos for happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top