$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
138 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Discover blissful serenity when you step inside Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Guests enjoy unparalleled access to Big Island activities and a rich cultural experience at our renowned Kona, Hawaii, hotel's location on the historic site where King Kamehameha once resided. Indulge in an extensive breakfast buffet complete with an omelet station, a poolside lunch, or drinks and dinner during the evening at Honu's on the Beach. Our Kailua-Kona hotel near Honokohau Marina and Kaloko-Honokohau National Park is the start/finish line for the Ironman Triathlon. Plus, as one of the most breathtakingly beautiful hotels in Kona, Hawaii, our expansive white sand beach, outdoor pool, whirlpool and well-equipped fitness center help you stay refreshed and energized. The tropical paradise surrounding our accommodations astonish both first-time and repeat visitors to the Big Island. Whether traveling for business or leisure, your stay is sure to be more comfortable, productive and enjoyable than ever before.

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 138
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dick nonprofit guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Kona Business trip

Traveled to Kona for a 2 day business trip so I chose the Courtyard due to its location. The hotel is located in the Kona village area, very convienent to restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel is approx 30 mins from all the major resorts so you don't have all the excitment of being in the major tourist area but if you enjoy a quiet stay with few distractions it is a great place. The hotel is well maintained & staff friendly. The room is what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott, clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant, great menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 5, 2011

Very comfortable, great staff

The refrigerator wasn't very cold. Would be nice to stock tea as well as coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
QCT
Business
Captain Cook
Dec 8, 2010

Overpriced, hidden charges

We are locals. I stayed at this hotel because I had an early flight and wanted to be nearer to the airport. A recent remodel has improved the facilities signficantly. Theres an unmentiond charge for parking which along with the wasted (did not add anything to the view) upgraded room charge and taxes makes it poor value in my opinion. The hotel failed to make the wakeup call for an international flight and the morning receptionist said it is a common and recurring problem because the night agent does not use the right form. Fortunantly we set a backup alarm. Bottom line, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent new Indian restaurant just opened up a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BZGalHnl
Business
Honolulu
Jul 19, 2009

Rooms need an uplft!

Rooms were dark and outdated. There was a musty smell and it didn't look clean. When choosing this hotel, the picture shown was of their renovated rooms, which I thought we would be in. A little deceiving, but they said that after August 2009, all rooms will be renovated. So, might give it another try...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

Very Dirty

The room smelt of sewer when we arrived. The bedspreads were very old and faded. The view was great, but the chairs on the lanai were bent, and rusting. The furniture in the lobby and the guest laundry was filthy. Carpeting was also very dirty. The hairdryer in the room did not work, altho the staff did give us another to use. I do understand that there are new owners and maybe thinks will improve. There was no printer for the computer so we could not print out our boarding passes. I have stayed there in the past and was very, very disappointed in the property. The location is perfect, tho.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Luau offered at the King Kamehameha was excellent and I recommend you spend the money to see enjoy the food and entertainment offered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 18, 2008

Solid low-cost alternative

I was attending a convention in Kona on a kimited budget. I got to enjoy the Hawaii experience without destroying my bankroll. The hotel was in the middle of town, with many shopping and dining options in the immediate area, most walkable. 15 minutes from the airport (useful when I had to return for lost luggage). The room was servicable: clean, all the bedding, towels, etc. I needed, TV , etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are dozens of fish and steak places heading south from the hotel, at a variety of price ranges. About 3/4 miles up there are some bars and hangouts that pass for nightlife on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

A Great Disappointment

We were given a room which was smelly, with a carpet stained in several places and very visible, not something which you could pass up,in other words DIRTY It made you feel like looking to see if the sheets were dirty too. Fortunately, they were not. The bed was BAD Old mattress, sagging with no support at all. We fought all night to keep on each other's side. And we are not heavy. All in all it was a fiasco not to be repeated. Most emphatically, it was not worth the price even reduced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting Kailua-Kona close to everything: shopping, eating, visiting the area etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2007

Business Travel

The hotel is clean and acceptable but has very little past that. Pay for parking pay for Wifi, no exercise room. Pay for corporate center. No conntinetal breakfast. Just a room with a view of the parking lot with semi comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in downtown Kona so everything is right there to shop. Or go down the highway one more light and you have walmart, safeway etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top