$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
147 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Open for breakfast and dinner, our award-winning beach restaurant serves fresh, delicious Hawaii-inspired cuisine. We specialize in seafood and local Kona produce, as well as refreshing signature cocktails.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Spend the day at the pool! Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille offers casual beachfront dining; sip cocktails and enjoy a light meal as you soak up the Hawaii sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Start your day in Kailua-Kona at our cheerful oceanfront restaurant and coffee house. Fuel up with a cup of fresh-roasted, 100% authentic Kona coffee and a pastry. Menehune Coffee Company is also open for lunch and dinner.
Island Breeze Luau
No trip to Hawaii is complete without experiencing a luau! Reservations required; ask us for more details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marion S.
Business
Walton
Mar 4, 2015

Convenient but hidden $

Easy and great lobby displays. The swimming bay was a little grubby but nice to have so close. Good view of the luau. Quite the show. Still trying to figure out some charges we didn't incur.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H. H.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

An excellent short get-away.

Hotel was very nice staff were very pleasant and helpful. Location of the hotel was one of the best features - next door to a panoply of shops, eateries and historical sites. Great place...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah M.
Business
Herndon
Jan 27, 2015

Stay in Kona

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel setting was beautiful and the location was great. There were lots of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. Our room was clean but the view was not great and it could of had more outlets. Overall, I would stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael V.
Business
Glenrock
Jan 14, 2015

Finally got our honeymoon!

They took great care of us. When we checked in, we mentioned we were finally getting our honeymoon, so they upgraded us to a King Suite at no extra charge. The food in the restaurants were very good, as was the bar! We had a blast in the pool, and the view was unbelievable! We also enjoyed the luau presented by the hotel, and it was first rate! I would definitely recommend this place to a friend. It was a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Things cost a little more when you are in a place designated for tourism. Be prepared for that. Be sure to plan ahead and reserve your spots ahead of time. You save time and money by doing this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Traveler 2014
Business
San Jose
Jan 6, 2015

Great Visit

It's in a great location. You can walk to many restaurants, shops, and excursions. It would be nice to have a car at this location but not absolutely necessary. The Luau is touristy but well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Splasher's Grill across the street has good food at a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tianzong X.
Business
San Ramon
Jan 5, 2015

Good Family Trip

Staffs do not have patience & time to answers questions. Bathroom too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shiyao L.
Business
Beijing
Dec 30, 2014

winter break with friends

it is a big hotel with ABC store in it. great harbor location. price is a little bit too high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marvelous Mark
Business
Mpls, MN
Nov 24, 2014

The King protects you at this Hotel!

During a 3 day surge all the beaches on the Kona/Kohala coast were closed...except this one at the Courtyard King Kamehameha. Powder beach and great snorkeling past the Heiau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gravyteddy
Business
Seattle
Sep 17, 2014

Fabtastic family getaway

My husband and I came from Seattle, and my parents came from Japan. We had Big Island tour and driving around with rental car. We all enjoyed this hotel a lot! Walking distance to shops, restaurants, and bars. Honu's restaurant is our favorite too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leibecca
Business
Maui
Aug 27, 2014

Island style vacation

This was very nice, Great location and good food. Scenic and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan by day where to go at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top