$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 144
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leiser crew
Boston/Switzerland
Aug 3, 2014

Awesome place

I love this hotel, the location is perfect (walk to Kona brew pub, beach out front, ocean and mountain views. The staff are alllll incredibly nice and helpful, all smiles and service and warmth. There was a pull out sofa in the room so my two year old didn't sleep up my butt, which was also great:) The ONE downside is that the curtains are actually just a very pretty wooden rolling door type thing, so it wasn't total "black out" sleeping. I would recommend a sleep mask if you like the darkness. Other than that, all thumbs up from me and my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kumquat
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 24, 2014

Great location for all activities!

Wonderful luau, both buffet and show, (thought dessert was tacky).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great parasailing.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dLyonBW
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Jun 30, 2014

Better Than Expected - Great Location!

I expected to find a lower-end set of condos being rented out and the reviews I read made it sound as though this was a rip-off. I was surprised to find that the staff were exceptionally friendly and did their best to accommodate any requests. It is the only working hotel on the island that has its own beach, it sits next to Kamehameha's actual hut he lived in and the Iron Man Challenge is based in this resort hotel every year. The food at the restaurant is great and the prices less than average for a hotel; I found the Sushi the best and cheaper than a Sushi bar or in the store. The best part is its location, located half a block from the majority of cruises and the wharf. Parking is difficult enough in Kona and being able to walk from the hotel (1-2 minutes) is a plus. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting convenience on the vacation. The Hilton is definitely nicer, but also a 20-minute drive from anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Boss Frog's is a cheaper and more friendly place in Kauai. But, in Kona Boss Frog's is twice as expensive and parking is $8. Snorkel Bob's has free parking and is the best place for renting snorkel gear.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eva J. Stamps
Norman, Okla
Jun 24, 2014

Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are only walking minutes to the strip where there is all kinds of food, entertainment and shopping. You are staying right on the beach. You can walk anyplace you need to go.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lindy loves hawaii
idaho
Jun 6, 2014

super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent visitor to Park
Billings. MT
Feb 5, 2014

Great location

This hotel is located right on the beach. The beach is great for kids because it has a very gentle slope and is on a protected cove so there is virtually no waves even when it is windy. Also some above average snorkeling just outside the cove. The area does get quite crowded when cruise ships are in town, the tender pier is just outside the cove also. We were just there one night due to an airline scheduling glitch but I would stay there again. right in the heart of the tourist shopping district with lots of choices for restaurants all within walking distance. Rooms are nice sized and clean, recently renovated. Free internet but parking is $15 daily. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Lots of great facilities which we didn't have time to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kona Brewing Company has a nice patio/bar very close to the restaurant.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xingting Su
Honolulu
Dec 24, 2013

Clean and good service

The people will clean our our room everyday and refill the stuff. Although the room has partial ocean view, we still enjoy the hotel. Especially it is held by the LDS member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pyonamine
Hawaii
Aug 10, 2013

Good value

For the rate, no complaints. Service was good and the hotel has a lot to offer in terms of facilities. Breakfast was ok....not spectacular. The buffet could have been better for the price. Biggest drawback was a "musty" yet deodarized smell on the hotel floor. I would go back to this hotel again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Mauna Kea Summit Adventures was great.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davey2
Cherry Valley California
May 27, 2013

Family vacation

My family had a great time at the hotel the staff were very professional and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashelle
Seattle,wa
Mar 31, 2013

Nice location

Had a great time although they do not provide umbrellas around pool had lots of comfortable recliners but only 2 umbrellas. Also had fire alarm at 4 am one morning and no staff was outside to direct guests that it was not a real fire and someone had pulled an alarm over all nice place to stay the beach cove was great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Splashes across the street had great food

Back to menu Return to top

Change search