$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
194 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 24, 2007

very good hotel

The location of the hotel was central, the staff was very gentle and they tried to help us giving important information about trips on the island. we cannot judge the restaurant because we did not eat in the hotel, but we had a coffee machine in the room and we could prepare coffee when we wished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you could find a lot of shops close to the hotel, there was a abc shop just outside the hotel and in a couple of minutes you could reach a lot of restaurants and pubs. you could reach the airport in 15 minutes

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 5, 2011

Loved everything about it

I have no complaints about anything. Everyone was extremely courteous. It is in the ideal location for walking and exploring the main strip. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable even with all of the construction it was undergoing from the Tsunami that hit a couple of months prior to my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, swimming, snorkeling, dining, small beach, fishing and pier right there at hotel and within a short walking distance.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 12, 2010

Just Right

We just needed a place to lay our heads for the night - but we got so much more. The room was quiet and clean the staff was friendly and it was within walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

check out the historic site right behind the hotel

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls. MN
Jan 13, 2011

Great room, value, location

Very happy with beach front room. Helpful and nice staff. Beach, pool and rental water equipment convenient. Restaurant excellent. Close to food and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ 2012
Wolverhampton, UK
Jan 12, 2013

Kona 2012

Stayed here twice now, never been disappointed, love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old folks, young hearts
Holland, MI
Feb 23, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We couldn't have asked for a better location! Shops, restaurants, farmers' market--all within walking distance. The hotel has just undergone a renovation, so everying was nice and new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Mar 28, 2010

Great all around - Completely renovated

Ignore any older reviews you read about this hotel. As of March 2010, this place has been thoroughly renovated (some work is still going on in a few places, but was not intrusive) and is really lovely. The rooms are beautiful, the pool was perfect, the location is great, the beach was perfect for our very young kids (calm)... On-site dining is really reasonable... the breakfast buffet was great, and our family had a nice snack-ish dinner at the poolside bare late one evening. Easy walking distance to all the sights in downtown Kona. All around a great place and we definitely felt the price was appropriate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet - looks pricy at first glance, but you'll probably not do better anywhere else within walking distance, and it's a great breakfast.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 27, 2007

Great deal for the price

Super location, easy to find. Within easy walking distance of shopping and restaurants. This is one of the few hotels in Kailua-Kona that actually has a beach and the pool area is raised and overlooks the small beach. All staff were very friendly and helpful, with a cheerful Aloha whenever you met them. I took photos from our balcony, which was quoted as partial ocean view and the view was great. Of course, I emailed the pics home immediately so my friends and loved ones would be appropriately envious! The only area in which they fell short was in dining options. All in all, I would most definitely be pleased to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gumps, Quinn's Almost by the Sea, Torchy's, Rio, Outback Steakhouse

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 5, 2011

Very comfortable, great staff

The refrigerator wasn't very cold. Would be nice to stock tea as well as coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, California
Mar 17, 2010

Great Place for the price

I was traveling with my family. We had a great time there, but if they would of offered shuttle service to Kona Airport that would have been way more convenient than finding a ride. Other than that is was a great stay. The rooms were a little small but nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top