$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas, TX
Mar 29, 2011

Great location, decent price

The hotel suffered some damage following the tsunami but the rooms were still clean and well-designed. The lobby and surrounding shops were under construction so it was noisy during the day, but the staff was very accommodating because of it. Pool area and outdoor bar/restaurant were open. Thought the fitness area was closed but saw people in there on the day I was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Rapanui Island Cafe for an amazing meal at reasonable prices. Hidden in a strip mall just a short walk from the hotel, the restaurant is small (just a few tables) but offered the best food of the entire trip.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal Paddler
Friends
California, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Orbitz saves the day

After booking and paying for an ocean front package with Orbitz the hotel placed me in a side room overlooking an old tennis court and parking lot with the ocean well off in the distance! The desk clerk didn't believe me and told me a move couldn't be accomodated for my whole stay (and I would have to pay more $) as the hotel was fully booked for most nights. One call to Orbitz and the error was resolved - I was moved to a beautiful ocean front room that had the fabulous view I'd imagined for months! I appreciate the hotel working with Orbitz - the rest of my stay was excellent. There is construction going on a result of tsunami damage from the Japan earthquake - but it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the beautiful white sand beach and snorkeling cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kokonut bar has great dollar tacos for happy hour

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alaska
Mar 3, 2011

Great stay!

This hotel is delightful. Beautifully decorated, check in staff is knowledgeable and customer oriented. Location is fabulous. The only thing I would say needs help is the restaurant areas. The food is fine, the staff just needs some customer service training. Once you engage them, they are awesome, but do not initiate or deliver energy until you start it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

With the local bus service that runs all day, you really don't even need a car in Kona. We spent a month on the Big Island and for the time we spent in Kona, walked and rode the bus. Save your money for Kona Boys beach gear rentals, which is right in front of the hotel and we HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
himapan
Family
San Diego
Feb 5, 2011

Good price for family

The hotel seems to be renovated, new and clean. My room has good beach-view, but, not from front, which is called partilly ocean view room. There is a small beach, safe for children and you can find colorful tropical fish, not many though. The hotel is close to Kona downtown where you can shop and dine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daycare Mom
Couples
Wisconsin
Feb 13, 2011

fantastic couple vacation

It is all remodeled. Clean, nice rooms.Great location Nice helpful workers.Has a safe and refrigerator. Could use a microwave somewhere.Only hotel in Kona that has a beach.Nice pool and a small hottub.Best location in Kona I think. Draw backs have to pay $10 per day parking,wi -fi didn 't work for my i-pad. They don't have a computor with a printer to print off boarding passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Covina. California
Nov 17, 2010

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!

Everything went really smooth. We booked our vacation on Friday and left Tuesday.We wanted somewhere warm and relaxing and got both at King Kamehamehas. My 9year old loved paddle boarding right in front of the hotel. We were in room 553 beach front and the view was definitely worth the little extra we paid. All in all a great 7 nights on the big island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buns in the sun has an amazing corn cake they butter and put on the griddle.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, OR
Feb 13, 2011

great place

The room was very nice. Bed was comfortable. It was clean and up to date. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Madison, WI
Feb 14, 2011

Great place to stay

The hotel was great! The staff was excellent as well. I recommend doing the Luau at this hotel, many locals said it was the best. Although it's a fair distance from Volcanoes National Park and the waterfalls (both of which are close to Hilo) the Kig Kam resort is close to many cute shops, art galleries and restaurants. 45 min drive from the best beach on the Big Island - Hapuna. (try the fish tacos!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Connecticut
Apr 15, 2011

great location, nice staff, peaceful

Shower outside of the room was missing, by the pool, but the breakfast was nice, pool was clean and quiet. Short walk to local shops and dining. 5-10 minutes drive to turquoise, sandy beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frogfishes
Couples
Allentown, PA
May 17, 2011

Great location, Great Service.

Location within Kona was excellent - only hotel with a sand beach access that I saw. Pool was great! Staff was always very helpful. In walking distance to scores of restaurants and hundreds of shops. Although I booked the trip to scuba dive, Kona turned out to be a great little little town to stroll when not in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining choices in Kona are limitless and walkable - from local fare to Bubba Gump's and the Fish Hopper. Crab Omlet breakfast at Fish Hopper was awesome.

Back to menu Return to top