$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 18, 2008

Solid low-cost alternative

I was attending a convention in Kona on a kimited budget. I got to enjoy the Hawaii experience without destroying my bankroll. The hotel was in the middle of town, with many shopping and dining options in the immediate area, most walkable. 15 minutes from the airport (useful when I had to return for lost luggage). The room was servicable: clean, all the bedding, towels, etc. I needed, TV , etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are dozens of fish and steak places heading south from the hotel, at a variety of price ranges. About 3/4 miles up there are some bars and hangouts that pass for nightlife on the island.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 3, 2011

A solid option

Comfortably located, nicely decorated, clean rooms. Overall a very good hotel. The pool is small but it does not matter because the beach is right next to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Jul 28, 2011

Fair Value

Wonderful room with a nice view and very clean. Friendly staff with one exception at the front desk when asked about the out of service hot tub(fixed the next day). The only real complaint was the free wireless intranet didn't always work in the room and occasionally we had to go into the hallway or lobby to get a good signal. All in all, we were very happy with the room, it's staff, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first visitor
Business
orange, CA
Dec 29, 2010

good hotel at good location

this is good hotel with new renovation. Its at a good location where you have all dining and shoppping in a walkable distance. They give free snorkel gear in their kona-boys hut on the beach. Only bad thing is, they charge for parking. They dont provide any microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

free snorkel gear from kona-boys

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
surf city usa
Jul 16, 2011

Aloha Kona

Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quinn's Almost by the Sea. Ono fish and chips the best

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bismarck, ND
Jan 24, 2011

Very Nice

The hotel met our expectations in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice resturants within walking distance.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 5, 2011

Coming back Strong !

Considering the damage done to the grounds and buildings (Tsunami of 3/2011) our stay was very nice. The pool was enjoyable and the wait setaff was courteous and amiable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of local eateries. Affordable prices and lots of little shops along the way.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Charles, MO
Mar 10, 2011

pretty good overall

The overall hotel experience had its ups and downs, although the hotel management pretty much made up for it. We stayed a total of four nights and on the second morning (Monday morning) woke up at 6-7 a.m. to an ear-drum blasting jack-hammer & construction-related noise from the property next door. I imagine any room facing the parking lot on the western side of the west building will experience this, and it's hard to believe they weren't aware of the issue. I complained to front desk and they moved us to another room facing the garden. On our last night they informed us that there was a plumbing issue in our part of the building, the water would be turned off at 8 a.m. and construction would be going on. So of course, I wanted to change rooms to be able to shower the next morning. It was annoying, we were about to leave Kona for Hilo on our last night in town...but instead had to pack our bags and change rooms..again. After complaining about the inconvenience (and asking for an extra half-day) they gave us two free breakfast buffet coupons, which was quite delicious. Overall I can't complain too much other than the aforementioned issues. I'm not a picky traveler and by all other measurements I was satisfied. The staff was always very friendly, the location was convenient, the rooms were comfortable and they accommodated our late flight on the day of our check out (i.e. let us use the pool, park car and keep luggage in hotel). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Da Poke Shack (a little under a 3 mile drive from King K hotel) is a great place to eat with local owners and food. PS also check out Hapuna Beach State Park - an amazing beach and only 30 miles to the north of the hotel.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 29, 2011

Great location, decent price

The hotel suffered some damage following the tsunami but the rooms were still clean and well-designed. The lobby and surrounding shops were under construction so it was noisy during the day, but the staff was very accommodating because of it. Pool area and outdoor bar/restaurant were open. Thought the fitness area was closed but saw people in there on the day I was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Rapanui Island Cafe for an amazing meal at reasonable prices. Hidden in a strip mall just a short walk from the hotel, the restaurant is small (just a few tables) but offered the best food of the entire trip.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal Paddler
Business
California, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Orbitz saves the day

After booking and paying for an ocean front package with Orbitz the hotel placed me in a side room overlooking an old tennis court and parking lot with the ocean well off in the distance! The desk clerk didn't believe me and told me a move couldn't be accomodated for my whole stay (and I would have to pay more $) as the hotel was fully booked for most nights. One call to Orbitz and the error was resolved - I was moved to a beautiful ocean front room that had the fabulous view I'd imagined for months! I appreciate the hotel working with Orbitz - the rest of my stay was excellent. There is construction going on a result of tsunami damage from the Japan earthquake - but it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the beautiful white sand beach and snorkeling cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kokonut bar has great dollar tacos for happy hour

Back to menu Return to top