$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
138 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 5, 2011

Coming back Strong !

Considering the damage done to the grounds and buildings (Tsunami of 3/2011) our stay was very nice. The pool was enjoyable and the wait setaff was courteous and amiable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of local eateries. Affordable prices and lots of little shops along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu, HI
May 31, 2011

Great place to vacay :)

This was a great place to stay!! Right in the middle of town, close to the beach and fun shopping. The pool was nice and the room was very clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saleen848
Business
Austin, TX
May 25, 2011

Wouldn't mind visiting again.

The hotel was quite nice even under construction. I would like to see it once they finish. It would be 4 1/2 or 5 stars. The hotel is close to most everything in town and right on the beach. However, most of the points of interest are located mainly on the other side of the island by Hilo. My only real complaint is the hotel's free wifi. My wife and I are big tech people so we use our iPhones and iPad for most everything. Like planning our site seeing or finding places to eat but with the hotels wifi most of our apps would not work and the signal would fade in and out. We ended up just using the 3g signal. Still never the less it was a pleasent stay and would visit the same hotel again but I wouldnt count on using the wifi for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Pack a backpack with snacks and drinks from the local Walmart if you plan on driving outside of the Kona area. Stores are far and few while driving around site seeing on the island but the sites are well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJYJR
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
May 17, 2011

One of the best

King Kam was a wonderful place to stay Great location, and close to many wonderful restaurants, beach, and shopping. Staff was all wonderful, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. although things are still not back to "normal" after the March tsunami damage, we found everything clean, and well kept. Room was large bed most comfortable, and everything as one would expect it to be. The pool and hottub made for great relaxation time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best food we had was right across the street in Quinn's Almost by the Sea. Large servings, and wonderful food. Beware of overpriced breakfast at On the Rocks......overpriced for a very unsatisfactory meal and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frogfishes
Business
Allentown, PA
May 17, 2011

Great location, Great Service.

Location within Kona was excellent - only hotel with a sand beach access that I saw. Pool was great! Staff was always very helpful. In walking distance to scores of restaurants and hundreds of shops. Although I booked the trip to scuba dive, Kona turned out to be a great little little town to stroll when not in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining choices in Kona are limitless and walkable - from local fare to Bubba Gump's and the Fish Hopper. Crab Omlet breakfast at Fish Hopper was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twee
Business
Saugerties, NY
Apr 17, 2011

Good hotel, nice location, damaged

Hotel in great location with beach access. Hard to find with gps as this hotel does not show up - used Kona Beach hotel to find it. Hotel had major tsunami damage. That being said the place was still wonderful. Upon check in the front desk clerk was very rude to a customer on the phone who was trying to bargain down a room. She was very polite to us though. Make sure you ask for a room with view of town if you do not pick an ocean front. The other side rooms have an ugly view of rooftops & parking lot. The hotel is located right across street from a wonderful town with quaint shops & restaurants. I recommend highly Tante's restaurant which is across street & to the right around the corner with great views & cheap eats that are amazing. The hotel is also near the pier where Body Glove & several other cruises go right out of. I do not recommend the breakfast buffet at the hotel - for $12 you do not get a large choice & birds are standing on & picking at the food when you are not at the buffet. Go to Tante's for the best $5 breakfast around. Rooms have a safe & a refrigerator which is a big plus to me. There is a package store right next door for all your needs including water for 99¢ (huge bottle), candy, snacks, booze, smokes, sandwiches *& souvenirs. If I go back to Kona I would definitely stay ay King Kam's again. Hopefully next time more shops & things will be reopened on the first floor - I am giving low score on amenities only for that reason

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Tante's for breakfast or dinner. Best deal in town & best food we tried

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JodiandMike
Business
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Apr 16, 2011

Remodeled beach front hotel

The hotel still had that 'new' feel to it since their remodel a couple years ago. Very modern, island inspired decor; many other hotels in the area were significantly more expensive for older, poorly-maintained rooms and hotel grounds. The staff were helpful and friendly. My only issue was with the excessive noise very early in the morning. Due to our room's location in the West tower, we overlooked the area where maintenance and construction took place, so every morning we we awoke to the sounds of machinery, vans backing up, or other noise. We never had a peaceful 'wake up to the birds' experience in our 10 days stay. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, but I would ensure my room was in a different tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want amazing encounters with sea turtles and marine life, rent a snorkel and underwater camera from Boss Frogs. Don't get the cheap $1.50/day snorkels; go for the $8.00 rentals; you will appreciate their quality once out on the water. Also, use the 'anti-fog' rinse to keep your vision clear and crisp while you dive. The underwater camera is $40 for 2 full days, and is SO worth it! We took amazing photos that you just cannot duplicate with a regular camera. Also, be aware of the marine life and coral around you. The coral reef is not meant to be walked on or over, but many people were unknowingly trampling coral as they waded out to the water to snorkel. Be aware of where you are stepping, look in the water before you walk on the bottom, and do not walk or stand on the coral. Many grocery stores carry laminated cards with illustrations of all the different coral, urchins, etc. you will see when you are out in the water. If you know what to look for, you will be able to avoid stepping on, and damaging these precious animals. You can easily get your fins on in the sandy, shallow pools at the beach front then drift out to snorkel without standing on the coral first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Apr 15, 2011

great location, nice staff, peaceful

Shower outside of the room was missing, by the pool, but the breakfast was nice, pool was clean and quiet. Short walk to local shops and dining. 5-10 minutes drive to turquoise, sandy beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 29, 2011

Great location, decent price

The hotel suffered some damage following the tsunami but the rooms were still clean and well-designed. The lobby and surrounding shops were under construction so it was noisy during the day, but the staff was very accommodating because of it. Pool area and outdoor bar/restaurant were open. Thought the fitness area was closed but saw people in there on the day I was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Rapanui Island Cafe for an amazing meal at reasonable prices. Hidden in a strip mall just a short walk from the hotel, the restaurant is small (just a few tables) but offered the best food of the entire trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma, CA
Mar 28, 2011

pretty good

Location is very central to Kona and pier for excursions which is nice if you want to shop and eat out often. Nicer beaches are a drive 20 min. north or south though. The tsunami had damaged the hotel, and reconstruction not so pretty. They refused to offer any sort of compensation or upgrades to compensate for loss of dining room, damaged beach, no exercise room etc, but would let me out of my contract if I wanted to change hotels. Beds comfy. pretty good if you want central area and pool for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top