$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R.I.P.
Business
Sacramento
Apr 18, 2013

Great staff, but building sucks

Ceiling falling off in bathroom, plumbing backs up daily, staff snakes daily. Night time plumbing girgles, you find sewer dirt in bath/shower in the morning. One lamp did not work, had to use facecloth as wedge to keep chest drawer closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashelle
Business
Seattle,wa
Mar 31, 2013

Nice location

Had a great time although they do not provide umbrellas around pool had lots of comfortable recliners but only 2 umbrellas. Also had fire alarm at 4 am one morning and no staff was outside to direct guests that it was not a real fire and someone had pulled an alarm over all nice place to stay the beach cove was great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Splashes across the street had great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WallyMD1
Business
Iowa
Mar 25, 2013

Great Place

this was our second stay at King K. Location is great, right along the strip for shopping, food, what ever you may be looking for. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Don't expect a whopping beach view, they just don't exist here. Overall it was a great trip and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Farmer's Market is great for local jewelry, gifts, and fresh food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
63 year old Traveler
Business
Podunk Pa
Mar 3, 2013

The KK in DOWN TOWN Kona

The King Kam's Location: The location n staff is what made it for us. You are conveniently located just off to one side from DownTown Kona. Especially if do not want to get a rental car, the KK is just a 20 seconds walk of the beginning of old town Kailua Kona. The center of town is just 5 min. walk along the ocean front. Food/Breakfast buffet: If you like real omelets as I do. Literally this is the only place that makes a real omelet, NOT just a skinny folded in thirds fried egg with with luke warm comdements in side as ALL others have evolved in during my first 63 years of life have been. Staff: The four staff my wife n I came in regular contact with were all sincere, friendly and professional at all times. A vary refreshing change from the "it's my job to be friendly" attitude most hospitality staff now seem to have in America now. Convenience: Most Kona hotels do NOT have white sand beaches, the KK's beach is just right and in the right spot, only seconds form the hotel as also is the hotel's parking. The KK's parking is NOT the normal half mile + hike from the lobby as most hotels seem to be now a days. I could go on but will not waist your time. In conclusion, I will stay at the King Kam again and that is perhaps the best n most sincere gage of satisfaction......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the breakfast buffet, suggest you do not order off the menu. You can choose either and mix the two at the same table. I got the buffet n my wife ordered off the menu our first day there. My wife changed her mind and started using the buffet the remainder of our trip....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dick nonprofit guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Kona Business trip

Traveled to Kona for a 2 day business trip so I chose the Courtyard due to its location. The hotel is located in the Kona village area, very convienent to restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel is approx 30 mins from all the major resorts so you don't have all the excitment of being in the major tourist area but if you enjoy a quiet stay with few distractions it is a great place. The hotel is well maintained & staff friendly. The room is what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott, clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant, great menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation1408
Business
San jose
Jan 18, 2013

Best

Can get a better place then this period Everything is close to the hotel from food to shopping center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Riordan
Business
California
Jan 15, 2013

Family vacation

The staff was wonderful, very helpful anytime we needed anything. The hotel was clean and the beds were so comfortable. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan to go on the snorkel/dolphin boat, make sure to take a anti-nausea remedy before going. The ocean can be rough even on the nicest day. Everything was very convenient to this hotel including the pier where you can take a boat outing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ 2012
Business
Wolverhampton, UK
Jan 12, 2013

Kona 2012

Stayed here twice now, never been disappointed, love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
axhd
Business
Kansas City
Dec 22, 2012

Great Location

I picked this hotel for it's location and price for an over night island hop from Maui. The location worked so well with the tour pickups that I only used 1.1 gallons of gasoline in the rental jeep for all my driving needs. We didn't have time to use many of the fetures of this hotel due to our itenerary and short stay. The staff was great and the room imacculate. Easy walking distance to shopping and dinning and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buns In The Sun Bakery. Great food and good price. Other resturants and grocery store located in same shopping center. The walk is up hill about 4 blocks away and there are many choices on both sides of the street. I try to always ask locals where they eat and it almost always exceeds my expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nima M
Business
Alhambra, CA
Dec 12, 2012

decent hotel

Room is average sized. pool is COLD (not great in winter months). Food is mediocre. Was disappointing that we came on our honeymoon and were given a room with 2 beds. Forget that we got no upgrades, but they couldn't even accommodate us with a room with one bed. Short of it, mediocre place with plenty of other mediocre places nearby that were much cheaper and more in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top