$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
197 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashelle
Seattle,wa
Mar 31, 2013

Nice location

Had a great time although they do not provide umbrellas around pool had lots of comfortable recliners but only 2 umbrellas. Also had fire alarm at 4 am one morning and no staff was outside to direct guests that it was not a real fire and someone had pulled an alarm over all nice place to stay the beach cove was great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Splashes across the street had great food

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WallyMD1
Iowa
Mar 25, 2013

Great Place

this was our second stay at King K. Location is great, right along the strip for shopping, food, what ever you may be looking for. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Don't expect a whopping beach view, they just don't exist here. Overall it was a great trip and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Farmer's Market is great for local jewelry, gifts, and fresh food!

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
63 year old Traveler
Podunk Pa
Mar 3, 2013

The KK in DOWN TOWN Kona

The King Kam's Location: The location n staff is what made it for us. You are conveniently located just off to one side from DownTown Kona. Especially if do not want to get a rental car, the KK is just a 20 seconds walk of the beginning of old town Kailua Kona. The center of town is just 5 min. walk along the ocean front. Food/Breakfast buffet: If you like real omelets as I do. Literally this is the only place that makes a real omelet, NOT just a skinny folded in thirds fried egg with with luke warm comdements in side as ALL others have evolved in during my first 63 years of life have been. Staff: The four staff my wife n I came in regular contact with were all sincere, friendly and professional at all times. A vary refreshing change from the "it's my job to be friendly" attitude most hospitality staff now seem to have in America now. Convenience: Most Kona hotels do NOT have white sand beaches, the KK's beach is just right and in the right spot, only seconds form the hotel as also is the hotel's parking. The KK's parking is NOT the normal half mile + hike from the lobby as most hotels seem to be now a days. I could go on but will not waist your time. In conclusion, I will stay at the King Kam again and that is perhaps the best n most sincere gage of satisfaction......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the breakfast buffet, suggest you do not order off the menu. You can choose either and mix the two at the same table. I got the buffet n my wife ordered off the menu our first day there. My wife changed her mind and started using the buffet the remainder of our trip....

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dick nonprofit guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Kona Business trip

Traveled to Kona for a 2 day business trip so I chose the Courtyard due to its location. The hotel is located in the Kona village area, very convienent to restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel is approx 30 mins from all the major resorts so you don't have all the excitment of being in the major tourist area but if you enjoy a quiet stay with few distractions it is a great place. The hotel is well maintained & staff friendly. The room is what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott, clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant, great menu

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation1408
San jose
Jan 18, 2013

Best

Can get a better place then this period Everything is close to the hotel from food to shopping center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Riordan
California
Jan 15, 2013

Family vacation

The staff was wonderful, very helpful anytime we needed anything. The hotel was clean and the beds were so comfortable. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan to go on the snorkel/dolphin boat, make sure to take a anti-nausea remedy before going. The ocean can be rough even on the nicest day. Everything was very convenient to this hotel including the pier where you can take a boat outing.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ 2012
Wolverhampton, UK
Jan 12, 2013

Kona 2012

Stayed here twice now, never been disappointed, love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
axhd
Kansas City
Dec 22, 2012

Great Location

I picked this hotel for it's location and price for an over night island hop from Maui. The location worked so well with the tour pickups that I only used 1.1 gallons of gasoline in the rental jeep for all my driving needs. We didn't have time to use many of the fetures of this hotel due to our itenerary and short stay. The staff was great and the room imacculate. Easy walking distance to shopping and dinning and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buns In The Sun Bakery. Great food and good price. Other resturants and grocery store located in same shopping center. The walk is up hill about 4 blocks away and there are many choices on both sides of the street. I try to always ask locals where they eat and it almost always exceeds my expectations.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nima M
Alhambra, CA
Dec 12, 2012

decent hotel

Room is average sized. pool is COLD (not great in winter months). Food is mediocre. Was disappointing that we came on our honeymoon and were given a room with 2 beds. Forget that we got no upgrades, but they couldn't even accommodate us with a room with one bed. Short of it, mediocre place with plenty of other mediocre places nearby that were much cheaper and more in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oiram
Berlin, CT
Nov 22, 2012

Big Island adventure

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The location is in the middle of fine restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They serve mai tais

Back to menu Return to top