$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agepage
Canada
Aug 20, 2012

Kona Getaway

Would recomend this hotel to anyone!!! I would say it's the nicest hotel right in the heart of Kona. We took two days to drive the entire Island. Would definitely recommend pre renting a car. There was not much selection when we tried to book it the day we wanted to sight see. Everyone should go to the Captain Cook Monument!!! We bought masks and snorkels from Walmart and hiked down to the ocean. It's about a 45 min hike down, 1 hr and a half up. Sooo worth it though. We got to swim with tropical fish in crystal blue waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute kona market. great place to buy souveneirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent visitor to Park
Business
Billings. MT
Feb 5, 2014

Great location

This hotel is located right on the beach. The beach is great for kids because it has a very gentle slope and is on a protected cove so there is virtually no waves even when it is windy. Also some above average snorkeling just outside the cove. The area does get quite crowded when cruise ships are in town, the tender pier is just outside the cove also. We were just there one night due to an airline scheduling glitch but I would stay there again. right in the heart of the tourist shopping district with lots of choices for restaurants all within walking distance. Rooms are nice sized and clean, recently renovated. Free internet but parking is $15 daily. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Lots of great facilities which we didn't have time to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kona Brewing Company has a nice patio/bar very close to the restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MICHAEL VACATION LOVER
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 11, 2014

Great Stay

This was our first visit since December 2010 and the hotel has been substantially upgraded. The room was freshly appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. Staff were very accommodating. Marriott has taken over this hotel and done a great job. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xingting Su
Business
Honolulu
Dec 24, 2013

Clean and good service

The people will clean our our room everyday and refill the stuff. Although the room has partial ocean view, we still enjoy the hotel. Especially it is held by the LDS member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not applicable at all
Business
Bronx, NY
Dec 15, 2013

NO COMPLAINTS

I simply use hotels to sleep and shower. All I require is cleanliness, enough towels and a courteous, informative staff. My experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Big Island is BIG. Stay in a hotel on the side of the Island you plan to do the most on. Or, switch hotels/sides partway through your trip. If not, you spend too much time driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LitmusTest
Business
California
Dec 9, 2013

Hands down the best place to stay in Kailua Kona

This hotel has everything and is an outrageous value. Best location, close to everything within walking distance, great staff, restaurant, bar, pool, luau....Would only stay here when we come back. All other more expensive hotels are FAR AWAY from the action and not worth the prices. This is the ONLY place to be if you are staying in town. My only problem is their wooden louvered sliding window treatments which are stationary in the down direction and can not be closed all the way for privacy. (We were on our honeymoon - hello!) We had to ask for an extra large sheet to cover it so the whole world would not see into our unit. (This place needs to add curtains so guests can decide for themselves what level of view they would like to enjoy.) BTW you can see into every room in the hotel from the ground floor and nearby restaurants. You also have to slide open the entire wall of blinds in order to open the sliding glass door. Another issue, the AC will not run if the sliding glass door is not closed and locked. An obvious problem if you are getting ready in the bathroom and want AC and the other person wants to sit outside and chill. You would have to lock them out to have it both ways??? The bathroom does NOT have its own fan, so you need that AC! That is the ONLY reason I am not giving this place 5 stars. It's a great hotel and we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask anybody in town and they will direct you to Quinns. It's not the first place I would go for your "Hawaiian" experience, but they have great food at cheap prices and it's across the street. Everybody goes here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoFetch
Business
Canada
Dec 5, 2013

Good hotel for Downtown Kona

This hotel is great for the $. It's been renovated, so the rooms are modern looking and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but it's a lot better than Royal Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnaRod
Business
Virginia
Nov 26, 2013

Great

Thank YOU! gREAT sERVICE? gREAT LOCATION? FRIENDLY STAF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grants Pass Riter
Business
Grants Pass, Oregon.
Nov 18, 2013

King Kam holiday

The King Kam is right in the middle of the action in Kona -- pool, a beach, the village shops, Kona Brewing Co., daily needs shopping, the bay and ship goings and comings. But it's nice and quiet and relaxed, if you prefer a slower pace. Rooms are quiet and comfortable and staff is quick to meet any requests. One of our highlights was just sitting on the lanai, eating breakfast and watching the activity below as the sun came up. Only unpleasant surprise was a $12 a day charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice to break up the pricey meals with an occasional meal purchased for a lot less at the local markets. We bought our breakfasts for four days for $30 and enjoyed the view from the lanai, along with our locally purchased breakfasts, as we watched the sun come up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goldenman30
Business
DWW
Oct 28, 2013

short stay

Beautiful cooperation, got a copy made at desk within minutes, power only went out an AC in room for a few minutes, restored quickly. Nice pool, hot tub, beach area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JZJZ
Business
California
Sep 30, 2013

Nice hotel, good location

Room was pretty clean, location was easy to access the different highways, pool was nice and heated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top