$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 5, 2011

Loved everything about it

I have no complaints about anything. Everyone was extremely courteous. It is in the ideal location for walking and exploring the main strip. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable even with all of the construction it was undergoing from the Tsunami that hit a couple of months prior to my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, swimming, snorkeling, dining, small beach, fishing and pier right there at hotel and within a short walking distance.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 5, 2011

Coming back Strong !

Considering the damage done to the grounds and buildings (Tsunami of 3/2011) our stay was very nice. The pool was enjoyable and the wait setaff was courteous and amiable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of local eateries. Affordable prices and lots of little shops along the way.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 5, 2011

Loved everything about it

I have no complaints about anything. Everyone was extremely courteous. It is in the ideal location for walking and exploring the main strip. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable even with all of the construction it was undergoing from the Tsunami that hit a couple of months prior to my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, swimming, snorkeling, dining, small beach, fishing and pier right there at hotel and within a short walking distance.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu, HI
May 31, 2011

Great place to vacay :)

This was a great place to stay!! Right in the middle of town, close to the beach and fun shopping. The pool was nice and the room was very clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saleen848
Business
Austin, TX
May 25, 2011

Wouldn't mind visiting again.

The hotel was quite nice even under construction. I would like to see it once they finish. It would be 4 1/2 or 5 stars. The hotel is close to most everything in town and right on the beach. However, most of the points of interest are located mainly on the other side of the island by Hilo. My only real complaint is the hotel's free wifi. My wife and I are big tech people so we use our iPhones and iPad for most everything. Like planning our site seeing or finding places to eat but with the hotels wifi most of our apps would not work and the signal would fade in and out. We ended up just using the 3g signal. Still never the less it was a pleasent stay and would visit the same hotel again but I wouldnt count on using the wifi for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Pack a backpack with snacks and drinks from the local Walmart if you plan on driving outside of the Kona area. Stores are far and few while driving around site seeing on the island but the sites are well worth it.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJYJR
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
May 17, 2011

One of the best

King Kam was a wonderful place to stay Great location, and close to many wonderful restaurants, beach, and shopping. Staff was all wonderful, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. although things are still not back to "normal" after the March tsunami damage, we found everything clean, and well kept. Room was large bed most comfortable, and everything as one would expect it to be. The pool and hottub made for great relaxation time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best food we had was right across the street in Quinn's Almost by the Sea. Large servings, and wonderful food. Beware of overpriced breakfast at On the Rocks......overpriced for a very unsatisfactory meal and service.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frogfishes
Business
Allentown, PA
May 17, 2011

Great location, Great Service.

Location within Kona was excellent - only hotel with a sand beach access that I saw. Pool was great! Staff was always very helpful. In walking distance to scores of restaurants and hundreds of shops. Although I booked the trip to scuba dive, Kona turned out to be a great little little town to stroll when not in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining choices in Kona are limitless and walkable - from local fare to Bubba Gump's and the Fish Hopper. Crab Omlet breakfast at Fish Hopper was awesome.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twee
Business
Saugerties, NY
Apr 17, 2011

Good hotel, nice location, damaged

Hotel in great location with beach access. Hard to find with gps as this hotel does not show up - used Kona Beach hotel to find it. Hotel had major tsunami damage. That being said the place was still wonderful. Upon check in the front desk clerk was very rude to a customer on the phone who was trying to bargain down a room. She was very polite to us though. Make sure you ask for a room with view of town if you do not pick an ocean front. The other side rooms have an ugly view of rooftops & parking lot. The hotel is located right across street from a wonderful town with quaint shops & restaurants. I recommend highly Tante's restaurant which is across street & to the right around the corner with great views & cheap eats that are amazing. The hotel is also near the pier where Body Glove & several other cruises go right out of. I do not recommend the breakfast buffet at the hotel - for $12 you do not get a large choice & birds are standing on & picking at the food when you are not at the buffet. Go to Tante's for the best $5 breakfast around. Rooms have a safe & a refrigerator which is a big plus to me. There is a package store right next door for all your needs including water for 99¢ (huge bottle), candy, snacks, booze, smokes, sandwiches *& souvenirs. If I go back to Kona I would definitely stay ay King Kam's again. Hopefully next time more shops & things will be reopened on the first floor - I am giving low score on amenities only for that reason

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Tante's for breakfast or dinner. Best deal in town & best food we tried

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JodiandMike
Business
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Apr 16, 2011

Remodeled beach front hotel

The hotel still had that 'new' feel to it since their remodel a couple years ago. Very modern, island inspired decor; many other hotels in the area were significantly more expensive for older, poorly-maintained rooms and hotel grounds. The staff were helpful and friendly. My only issue was with the excessive noise very early in the morning. Due to our room's location in the West tower, we overlooked the area where maintenance and construction took place, so every morning we we awoke to the sounds of machinery, vans backing up, or other noise. We never had a peaceful 'wake up to the birds' experience in our 10 days stay. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, but I would ensure my room was in a different tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want amazing encounters with sea turtles and marine life, rent a snorkel and underwater camera from Boss Frogs. Don't get the cheap $1.50/day snorkels; go for the $8.00 rentals; you will appreciate their quality once out on the water. Also, use the 'anti-fog' rinse to keep your vision clear and crisp while you dive. The underwater camera is $40 for 2 full days, and is SO worth it! We took amazing photos that you just cannot duplicate with a regular camera. Also, be aware of the marine life and coral around you. The coral reef is not meant to be walked on or over, but many people were unknowingly trampling coral as they waded out to the water to snorkel. Be aware of where you are stepping, look in the water before you walk on the bottom, and do not walk or stand on the coral. Many grocery stores carry laminated cards with illustrations of all the different coral, urchins, etc. you will see when you are out in the water. If you know what to look for, you will be able to avoid stepping on, and damaging these precious animals. You can easily get your fins on in the sandy, shallow pools at the beach front then drift out to snorkel without standing on the coral first.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Apr 15, 2011

great location, nice staff, peaceful

Shower outside of the room was missing, by the pool, but the breakfast was nice, pool was clean and quiet. Short walk to local shops and dining. 5-10 minutes drive to turquoise, sandy beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top