$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelapa
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great Location--Poor Property

The location was excellent. The Castle Kona Reef is on the ocean and near enough to walk into Kona. Unfortunately, the unit and staff did not live up to the setting. The unit was fairly newly painted, but the very large brown stain on the ceiling over the sink was unattractive. The rugs were not clean, and there was mould growing in the shower. The airconditioner was on, but made no appreciable difference in the room temperature. The ceiling fans worked well, but the unit became stuffy at night when the lanai door was closed. The bathroom was so small the toilet paper roll extended ovet the toilet seat. Boith of the receptions were indiffernt and uninterested in helping. I would not stay at Castle Kona Reef again. In fact the property was so poor, I would not stay at a Castle propery in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lemongrass Cafe was very pleasant and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kona Joe 110
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 30, 2012

I've seen better

We were looking specifically for a condo rather than a hotel for our trip to Hawaii and decided stay here. These are all privately owned condos, and the one we were in needed some updating (although staff claimed at checkout that the owner would be updating it soon). It had tile throughout, which was kind of strange. The living room was a little bare with just a futon, coffee table and small table with chairs. There is a wall AC unit in the living room but no ceiling fan. The living room leads out to the oceanfront lanai which seemed dirty - I mean I know it's outside but it was just dirtier than other places we had stayed - maybe because it was only about a half story up off the ground. We had to brush dirt off the bottom of our feet any time we went out there. But it had a nice view overlooking the rocky shoreline, where people were regularly surfing. So there is not a beach at this resort, but there is one immediately to the south of the resort that you can walk to. The bedroom had a ceiling fan, but no AC. Bathroom was old and was showing some rust and mildew. Kitchen was average. On the positives, the staff was friendly, and it is only a short 5-minute walk from the restaurants and shops of Kona. It also has a nice pool. Overall, it worked out for us since we spent most of our days out exploring, and mostly just ate breakfast and slept there. So if that's what you're looking for, it will work. If you're looking for a more luxurious place to stay, I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants, within walking distance - recommend LuLu's and Humpy's. Also recommend Kona Brewing Co. Brew Pub - had excellent food, and a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

Kona Reef

This hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from the Kona international airport (KOA). I chose it mainly for the location - close to the airport, ocean view and beaches. However, I spent my time in Kona checking out the volcanoes. This hotel is minimum 2 hours drive to all the volcanic national parks. Not recommended if you plan to spend a whole lot of time in Hilo or the volacno national parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various dining options with ocean view

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo
Business
Longmont, Co.
May 23, 2009

Kona Reef Review

The Castle Kona Reef Condo's are a mid-range value for your money. Price is mid-range for some of the other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Kona Reef condo's 3 times now and would do so again. Rooms are old but clean. Because of the closeness of the ocean a lot of the metal in the unit shows signs of rust and corrosion. Ocean view rooms have an excellent ocean view. Condo's are walking distance to the shopping area of Kona. Pool and BBQ area are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The heart of the Kona tourist area is about .5 miles down the road. Long walk but you have many shops, restaurants, and nightlife. Not much parking downtown so the walk works

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian stop being so fussy
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Kona Holiday

The automatic watering system came on at 4am and woke us up. I would have preferred that it waited until say 6am. In Room B14 the sprinkler seemed to be just above my head. Maybe you could alter the timing, please. Everything else was perfectly acceptable. Ian Cayzer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim&Della
Business
tolleson,AZ
Jun 5, 2011

kona Big Island

First we stocked the fridge with groceries. And then settled in and rested. We hit the beach for half the day and walked about 1/8 mile to downtown Kona. Had a rental car so we drove to the volcano and Hilo.We also took in a Lu'au at the Marriott Hotel. Drove to a nice state park beach {Hapuna} and had a time. On the last day we laid and overed from our sun burns. We took a short Dinner Cruise that wasvery romantic! Had a good time1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seatte,wa
Nov 11, 2010

Average lodging well situated

Best thing is the waterfront location with good surf sounds. Also walking distance to town is a plus. The place is dated though, and the slamming of heavy screen doors was a negative. Also my WiFi connection was poor apparently varies room to room according to staff. There are other hotels in the very immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos for sunset dining right on the water with live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Jun 9, 2010

sleep on the pull out sofa

There are some great things about staying in a condo, and this ones no exception, unit was spotless, loved the art the owners selected for the wqalls, all the amenaties of home, cleaning guy came in twice during the week, the pool and hot tub were always clean, barbeque grills were fantastic and saved us some money on dining out. Downside: our unit was too close to the street and the AC didn't reach the bedroom so we either roasted with the windows and fan off, or were serenaded by passing traffic al night and an intermittant but wobbly ceiling fan. The last night we slept on the pull out couch with the sliding glass door open, heavenly nights sleep with surf in the background, but we couldn't move the next day due to little aches and pains that creeped up from the sofabed. Ask for a unit in the back of the complex that faces the beach, or bring ear plugs and open all the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Locate the Ali'i market on the south end and find the woman who sells fish tacos and shave ice, ask her about fresh fish. It's pricey @ 10 bucks a lb and 2 lb minimum, but worth every cent once it hits the grill. Recommend buying teriyaki sauce at the grocery store to keep your fish nice and moist on the grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kona hawaii
May 17, 2010

nice place

well the first night we got robbed, but all the persons took were are digital camaras. The people at the hotel night security came to the door at 3 am stating the seen someone out side our room on ground floor and when i went and looked the slider door was open a crack. someone lifted it and broke in. The security guard working that night was fired we were told so make sure you put a stick in the door way when you go to bed. but the hotel was nice. Its under going lots of renos by the pool. new fences but good location place is right on the strip and good surfing and nice ppl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
knoxville tn.
Nov 17, 2009

kona reef stay

good location for my morning walks to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top