$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
133 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MM
Aurora, CO
Jul 23, 2009

A great value for your money!

Neither my husband or I had ever been to Hawaii before and we loved our trip! The condo at Kona Reef was "Oceanview" #F22, a one-bedroom, which was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. I didn't see any others to compare this one to. We only booked this vacation with 2 days notice, so we were pleasantly surprised. The condo had a washer/dryer and all the necessary appliances to cook meals there instead of eating every meal out. The bathroom, bedroom and pool weren't huge, but big enough. Just one person behind the office desk, which must be all they need, and there is a computer in the office to check emails ($5 for 30 min, $10 for 60 min, etc) if you don't bring a laptop. They give you new towels on the 4th day (but you do have a washer/dryer if that's not enough)or you can pay more to have them come by more often. Many small, fun eating places were just a walk away (there is no dining place onsite) and loved the fish tacos at Lulu's! There is a great farmer's market down the street (5 papayas for $1) and little shops. This area is more laid back and less resort-like than Waikoloa, and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oceanview is about $45 cheaper a night than Oceanfront, so I would choose the oceanview because no one stays in the condo all the time anyway and there is still a great view!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Geoscience Nerds
Turlock, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Just What We Needed

As geologists and teachers we were looking for a place that would be a great base camp to explore the Big Island for the first time. Castle Kona Reef turned out to be a great choice. We had an upper level condo with a slanted view of the ocean that provided us with several wonderful sunsets, spinner dolphin sightings and the occasional cruise ship mooring off the coast. We chose Kona Reef because the condos provided a full kitchen and patio dining table which we knew would help offset food costs. We bought breakfast and lunch supplies at Safeway and Costco that lasted us nearly the entire week. By eating breakfast in-house everyday and creating a picnic lunch we were able to save over four-hundred dollars in meals. (There are also gas grills for use next to the pool if you feel the urge to BBQ). Our specific condo (C32) was a little dated in terms of decor, but that was the individual owner's taste and the overall layout was nice. The bedroom was in the back of the condo away from the ocean and was very small (barely fitting the king-bed). However, the high window vents in the room opened into the atrium which allowed us to have many pleasant mornings waking up to the sounds of birds and rain showers. We ended up using the living room as a staging area for our suitcases because we chose not to unpack our cases into the closets and dressers. In terms of beach-access, the Kona Reef has awesome tide-pooling areas with a 10'-wide strip of grass that runs between the complex and tide-pools. The old pahoehoe lava flows are teeming with life and there are usually sea turtles eating breakfast there in the mornings. There are no sandy areas to speak of, presumably washed away by the March tsunami. Dinning options were abundant about 600 yards down Ali'i drive. The Kona Reef is a perfect distance for a pre and post-dinner stroll which we took advantage of nearly every night. Lastly, several units of the condo were still under renovations after the March tsunami from the Japan earthquake. There were constant construction noises from 8am to 3pm but it didn't bother us because we were always headed out to explore the Big Island. Besides, noise is a necessity when bouncing back from a large natural disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Jeep if you have experience driving rough-roads, love exploring and want to maximize your time on the Big Island. The Jeep got us to places normal folks would have to pay big bucks to get to using a tour operator. We drove to the Green Sand Beach (you must have extensive 4X4 driving experience), down to Waipio Canyon and up to the Mauna Kea Observatories.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Jct CO
Mar 12, 2011

Great condo for the price,view& comfort

The location was close to the main attractions of the city. The view was great with the surf right there to be heard any time the door was open.Everything(rm,pool,hottub barbecue& grounds) were clean and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is hard to find in town. The trolley is easy and the walks are short

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Geoscience Nerds
Turlock, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Just What We Needed

As geologists and teachers we were looking for a place that would be a great base camp to explore the Big Island for the first time. Castle Kona Reef turned out to be a great choice. We had an upper level condo with a slanted view of the ocean that provided us with several wonderful sunsets, spinner dolphin sightings and the occasional cruise ship mooring off the coast. We chose Kona Reef because the condos provided a full kitchen and patio dining table which we knew would help offset food costs. We bought breakfast and lunch supplies at Safeway and Costco that lasted us nearly the entire week. By eating breakfast in-house everyday and creating a picnic lunch we were able to save over four-hundred dollars in meals. (There are also gas grills for use next to the pool if you feel the urge to BBQ). Our specific condo (C32) was a little dated in terms of decor, but that was the individual owner's taste and the overall layout was nice. The bedroom was in the back of the condo away from the ocean and was very small (barely fitting the king-bed). However, the high window vents in the room opened into the atrium which allowed us to have many pleasant mornings waking up to the sounds of birds and rain showers. We ended up using the living room as a staging area for our suitcases because we chose not to unpack our cases into the closets and dressers. In terms of beach-access, the Kona Reef has awesome tide-pooling areas with a 10'-wide strip of grass that runs between the complex and tide-pools. The old pahoehoe lava flows are teeming with life and there are usually sea turtles eating breakfast there in the mornings. There are no sandy areas to speak of, presumably washed away by the March tsunami. Dinning options were abundant about 600 yards down Ali'i drive. The Kona Reef is a perfect distance for a pre and post-dinner stroll which we took advantage of nearly every night. Lastly, several units of the condo were still under renovations after the March tsunami from the Japan earthquake. There were constant construction noises from 8am to 3pm but it didn't bother us because we were always headed out to explore the Big Island. Besides, noise is a necessity when bouncing back from a large natural disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Jeep if you have experience driving rough-roads, love exploring and want to maximize your time on the Big Island. The Jeep got us to places normal folks would have to pay big bucks to get to using a tour operator. We drove to the Green Sand Beach (you must have extensive 4X4 driving experience), down to Waipio Canyon and up to the Mauna Kea Observatories.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T&S
Ca.
Jul 9, 2010

Great Location

The ocean front rooms are great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diver Girl
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2009

Good value and great location

Great location near restaurants, next to small beach; ocean views and 2 doors down from the Royal Kona Tennis Club; easy walking distance into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack and Jeanne
Monroe, Iowa
Apr 16, 2012

Good to be back in Kona!

Very nice place to stay. We would stay there again. It was clean and comfortable. Nice ocean view and the ocean breeze was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to town to enjoy food, shopping and just to sit and enjoy the shoreline and watch the outriggers.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BfromO
Ontario
Feb 6, 2012

We'll come back

Excellent, quiet and safe place to be. Location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Celebrating Couple
Tempe, AZ
May 28, 2009

Awesome Room!

The condo was really in a great location and we had an ocean front view with a surf breaking all the time so the roar of the ocean was awesome! We were told by other guests that they got "a heck of a deal" and we did not get a break at all so felt cheated. I guess I signed up for the trip too early. Plus we upgraded to 2 bedroom and were going to be charged $80.00/night for 10 nights until I called an 800 number and found out that it was too much, so Kona Reef charged $60.00 more instead. Overall though, we cannot complain, the condo was clean, well equipped and area great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top