$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Searching for paradise
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 27, 2012

A taste of paradise!

Our unit was ground floor, newly remodeled and beautiful. Can't beat the sound of the ocean waves when you open your patio door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan the Electric Man
Business
near Louisville, KY
Sep 3, 2012

Comfortable room, great view and location

We had a late check-in, so no staff was available should something be wrong with the room, etc. We shouldn't have worried! The room was clean and the view out the lanai looked directly over the pool / cabana area right out to the ocean (it couldn't have been better!#. It is within easy walking distance along the main road in Kona, where several restaurants, bars, and shops are located. Rooms are individually owned, but ours #in F building# had micro, full size refrigerator, washer and dryer, stove and all utensils, including for the grills in the cabana. #This building is closest to street and has some traffic noise, but nothing too bad.) Getting to sandy beaches requires short drive, as do most hotels / condos in this area. Already planning return trip....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebacksoon
Business
NM
Apr 10, 2013

Super Deal

Units are individually owned, so amenities may vary, but had a great experience here, esp. for the price. Pros: got a one bedroom condo (+ sleeper sofa) in April for ~$150/night. Included in our unit were a zillion movies and games, a boogie board, golf clubs, snorkel gear, cooking spices, 2 coolers and a beach chair, and on and on. Also included- soap/shampoo/lotion, starter pack of coffee, dish and laundry detergent, and in-unit washer/dryer for no cost. We got plush pool towels from the office to use during our stay and we had an amazing ocean/beach view for only $10 extra per night. Downsides: very dated decorating/furniture, non-fitted sheets on bed, the one A/C unit is in the living room, so you really need to sleep w the bedroom door open. That said, we easily overlooked all of those for the many benefits at this amazing price for HI. Stayed at the large hotel next door years ago-- so glad we chose a condo at the KRR this time instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aureate
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2013

The condos are pretty good

The place was clean and had all the amenities expected. We had a partial ocean-front view and the condo was on the ground floor so we could walk out to the ocean. The A/C was in the living room and it took longer to cool the bedroom. It was extremely hard to get hold of anyone at the front office - they have very limited hours. The phone check-in almost didn't work. They gave me an incorrect code and then kept trying to tell me that I didn't know how to work a combination lock before eventually giving the correct code. The resident manager when asked a question about wi-fi said that I need to ask that at the front office that was again closed for lunch. Ended up checking-in when checking out. All in all a nice place but very bad management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Naomi
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 9, 2014

Nice area of Kona

Not being a timeshare person, we stayed in one that was given to us from a friend. Keep in mind that Timeshares do not operate like a Hotel where you can manage your unit that you are staying. At least that was the impression I had. We wanted a view of the ocean but when I asked the second day, the lady at the counter acted like I was asking her to pick up the building and move it. That may be the case so we accepted what was provided. The grounds were very nice and clean and we liked that we had a private garage and no gates to deal with everytime we came home, we just drove up and parked. The location is very close to snorkeling spots and also to grocery stores and drug stores that allowed us to shop as if we were at home. It was a nice clean and beautiful location in Hawaii. Just don't ask to be given another unit. It is apparently very difficult to accomplish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out the main entrance and turn right and at the immediate light, just drive straight and there is the entrance to the shopping center. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaska Jim
Business
Palmer, Alaska
Apr 26, 2014

A Good Value in Kailua Kona

Everything was there, from dishes to towels to en suite washer and dryer to the salt and pepper. Nice, modern kitchen, great layout, and the first comfortable hide-a-bed couch ever experienced. The master bedroom was a little far away from the wall mounted air conditioner, and the bed a little "mature," A new bed and a room a little farther from the street (ours was at the very end of the unit, closest to the street) would have made it five-star all the way. Still, we had a great view of the beach and park just next door. Pool and deck/BBQ facilities were outstanding. The full kitchen made living a bit cheaper in a rather un-cheap place. We cooked a lot of our meals rather than eating out all the time, so had more bucks for beer. Far enough away from tourist trap area, close to locals' hangout. Next time, we'll get Ocean View, 2-bedroom. That should just about make it perfect. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clownbaby
Business
Kailua Kona
Jun 2, 2014

Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spinners Dolphin quest, amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Jct CO
Mar 12, 2011

Great condo for the price,view& comfort

The location was close to the main attractions of the city. The view was great with the surf right there to be heard any time the door was open.Everything(rm,pool,hottub barbecue& grounds) were clean and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is hard to find in town. The trolley is easy and the walks are short

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Geoscience Nerds
Business
Turlock, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Just What We Needed

As geologists and teachers we were looking for a place that would be a great base camp to explore the Big Island for the first time. Castle Kona Reef turned out to be a great choice. We had an upper level condo with a slanted view of the ocean that provided us with several wonderful sunsets, spinner dolphin sightings and the occasional cruise ship mooring off the coast. We chose Kona Reef because the condos provided a full kitchen and patio dining table which we knew would help offset food costs. We bought breakfast and lunch supplies at Safeway and Costco that lasted us nearly the entire week. By eating breakfast in-house everyday and creating a picnic lunch we were able to save over four-hundred dollars in meals. (There are also gas grills for use next to the pool if you feel the urge to BBQ). Our specific condo (C32) was a little dated in terms of decor, but that was the individual owner's taste and the overall layout was nice. The bedroom was in the back of the condo away from the ocean and was very small (barely fitting the king-bed). However, the high window vents in the room opened into the atrium which allowed us to have many pleasant mornings waking up to the sounds of birds and rain showers. We ended up using the living room as a staging area for our suitcases because we chose not to unpack our cases into the closets and dressers. In terms of beach-access, the Kona Reef has awesome tide-pooling areas with a 10'-wide strip of grass that runs between the complex and tide-pools. The old pahoehoe lava flows are teeming with life and there are usually sea turtles eating breakfast there in the mornings. There are no sandy areas to speak of, presumably washed away by the March tsunami. Dinning options were abundant about 600 yards down Ali'i drive. The Kona Reef is a perfect distance for a pre and post-dinner stroll which we took advantage of nearly every night. Lastly, several units of the condo were still under renovations after the March tsunami from the Japan earthquake. There were constant construction noises from 8am to 3pm but it didn't bother us because we were always headed out to explore the Big Island. Besides, noise is a necessity when bouncing back from a large natural disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Jeep if you have experience driving rough-roads, love exploring and want to maximize your time on the Big Island. The Jeep got us to places normal folks would have to pay big bucks to get to using a tour operator. We drove to the Green Sand Beach (you must have extensive 4X4 driving experience), down to Waipio Canyon and up to the Mauna Kea Observatories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will, Hawaiian Getaway Addict
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 25, 2010

A Great "Under the Radar" Option

Great condo unit with full/nice kitchen, flat screen TV in living room, and amazing view from balcony. I realize that units likely differ based on ownership, but our unit was much nicer in person than on generic internet photos (usually you find the opposite!). Nice pool and hot tub area. Gorgeous sunsets every night from the grounds. Just a short walk to the main Kona strip. The only things keeping this from 5 Stars were the check-in and the noise at night. While the staff there were incredibly nice, they botched our check-in big time--leaving us sitting on a couch outside the closed leasing office for 45+ minutes at sunset after we had spent the whole day traveling. The noise was an issue because to avoid using the AC, we kept the windows in our bedroom open, which meant we could hear traffic all night on Alii. If I stayed there again, I would avoid booking in building F for this reason, despite its amazing views from balcony. Of interest, it turns out this is a place that many locals stay when they have events around Kona. We met some very generous Hawaiians around the pool and grilling area during our stay. Highly recommended, and would rate it 4-4.5 Stars with only the issues above keeping it from a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner our last sunset at Lava Java's. They have a great outdoor patio, and while prices were mid-range (we usually ate in at condo), the view is amazing, the food was great, and the staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top