$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii Travelers
Business
Washington State
Aug 26, 2009

Good Value. . .

We've stayed here 2 times & would return. Great location, an easy walk to downtown Kona (5 min), fabulous views, and pool is actually ocean front. BBQ and other amentities in pool area a plus. Even the garden view units have a partial ocean view. But. . .the units are all individually owned, which means, their quality and condition varies greatly (also what they come with, cooler, boogie board, basic pantry needs, etc.). They are clean but very basic and some units could really use some new carpet/showers, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They have free parking in a covered garage--a great thing in Kona!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pt Towsend Wa
Jun 5, 2009

Don't act like a child

the owners of these time shares do not like childern that behave as childern. they are to be seen and not heard. whats the point of bringing kids if they must act as adults!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hung
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2007

Great location

The location is great, it is close to everything, beaches, attraction, and shopping. The place is old, but clean and very well mainteance. We were supposed to check in @ 2pm but our plane got a 8hours delay and went went we get to the hotel it was midnight. The room that was giving to us was very old, a bit smell, I was so disappointed after a long flight, I was expecting a nicer room. The manager is very nice, we did not like the room in A-building, and he immediate take us to the D36 unit without hesitation. I am so happy that he move us to this unit. The room was very nice and clean. It is completely different from the A unit. This is very well worth it for the money, if you are not in to all the resort like amenities. The view is breathtaking, we stayed at the oceanfront. Also, parking is free, it is a bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you have kids the beach near the pier is great for a nature wave pool. Snorking is just a mile down from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel happy
Business
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelbuggster
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MM
Business
Aurora, CO
Jul 23, 2009

A great value for your money!

Neither my husband or I had ever been to Hawaii before and we loved our trip! The condo at Kona Reef was "Oceanview" #F22, a one-bedroom, which was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. I didn't see any others to compare this one to. We only booked this vacation with 2 days notice, so we were pleasantly surprised. The condo had a washer/dryer and all the necessary appliances to cook meals there instead of eating every meal out. The bathroom, bedroom and pool weren't huge, but big enough. Just one person behind the office desk, which must be all they need, and there is a computer in the office to check emails ($5 for 30 min, $10 for 60 min, etc) if you don't bring a laptop. They give you new towels on the 4th day (but you do have a washer/dryer if that's not enough)or you can pay more to have them come by more often. Many small, fun eating places were just a walk away (there is no dining place onsite) and loved the fish tacos at Lulu's! There is a great farmer's market down the street (5 papayas for $1) and little shops. This area is more laid back and less resort-like than Waikoloa, and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oceanview is about $45 cheaper a night than Oceanfront, so I would choose the oceanview because no one stays in the condo all the time anyway and there is still a great view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BfromO
Business
Ontario
Feb 6, 2012

We'll come back

Excellent, quiet and safe place to be. Location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack and Jeanne
Business
Monroe, Iowa
Apr 16, 2012

Good to be back in Kona!

Very nice place to stay. We would stay there again. It was clean and comfortable. Nice ocean view and the ocean breeze was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to town to enjoy food, shopping and just to sit and enjoy the shoreline and watch the outriggers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top