$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
71 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Property features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Policies
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NikoSD
Business
San Diego, CA USA
Nov 11, 2011

All the comforts of home, but at an exotic location.

Had a great time in this ocean front condo. It was on the fourth floor with a terrific view. Could walk to town, had convenient underground parking, easy access to major road. Ceiling fans were appreciated, did not have to use AC. No bugs of any kind, inside or out. Beach next door, not really easy to get into water, lots of rocks and with surge (not for beginners). Numerous beaches short drive away, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to town using back alleyway that starts behind condo complex, it avoids walking on main road with traffic. Only takes 10 minutes.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James T
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 29, 2011

Just Like Home!

What's not to like? A condo with all the amenities that allows you to vacation with all the comforts of home. A fully stocked kitchen, comfortable living room, a lanai with a beach view and free wi-fi made us want to stay forever. (Although our unit was designated "garden view" we had a fantastic view of the beach.) The only drawbacks were the street noise during the day and the general unfriendliness of the front office clerk. But a small price to pay for paradise. That all being said,as all units are individually owned any specific one may not be as nice as unit B35, so check out the reviews for bad units first. Also, they have a cool program where you leave any unused food behind and it is donated to local food kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Business
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Jul 20, 2012

Wonderful place to stay

This hotel was GREAT! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Our dishwasher wouldn't work, and within 10min of telling the front desk, maiteance was there to fix the problem! There were washer and dryers in our room too which was great! We had a great view of the ocean, the room was very clean, a few bugs here and there, but its HAWAI'I, so that is expected. I originally am from Oahu, and we fight bugs there all the time too, best thing to remember if you are from the mainland, keep dirty dishes in the dishwasher and cover your food if you leave it laying out, that will help tremendously with the bugs (ants and cockraoches). The condos were within walking distance to everything in downtown Kona! Our only issue with the place was that everytime the office would go on lunch break, they always came back late, other than that we had no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos on the rocks! They have live music every night, happy hour, the best kalua pork nachos and they have the best view of the sunset!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Business
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, California
Jul 21, 2010

Fantastic Location Walk to Downtown Kona

Great condo complex right on the beach in front of local surfing break. Easy walk to downtown and farmers market. One door south of Royal Kona Resort. Stayed in condo F26, top floor, one bedroom ocean view, in the back. Spectacular! Full ocean view and sunsets every night. Highly recommended unit. Best units are oceanfront D31-D38 or A31-A37. Would not recommed the garden view units. They look out to the ground floor and are very public, no privacy. Complex is well mantained, pool was immaculate. Great place to bring the whole family. Four outdoor barbeque grills that were cleaned daily. Would stay again! Loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Local farmers market is a short oceanfront walk, great place to purchase all your fruit, vegetables and flowers!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Passaic
Dec 18, 2008

Great value-great location

We were at the Kona Reef Condos for 4 days. The resort was a great value. The apartment was beautiful, overlooking the ocean. It was comfortable. One immediately felt at home. The location was great. It wasn't far from the airport. It was within walking distance to town. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to return in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Hawaii's Big Island

Kona Reef was a perfect place to spent our 46th anniversary. The hotel is well-mainained, and kept very clean. Even the grills in the patio area were cleaned regularly, as well as the pool and the rooms. The weather was perfect - 70's at night and 80's during the day. Downtown Kona is walking distance, and there are beautiful flowers all along the walk. The cruise ships dock within sight of the condo, and there were often surfers that could be seen from our lanai, too. We had an ocean view condo, overlooking the pool and the ocean, and it was very pleasant. Our unit had many extras, including an ice chest to take along on our day trips, and lawn chairs that we could put in the car for sitting on the beach or by Kealakekua Bay. I would definitely recommend Kona Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk of Kona Reef are some good restaurants - Lulu's, Lava Java,Tantes, UTopit, Fish Hpper and others.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 18, 2007

Great Get Away

The Castle Kona Reef Condo on the Big Island of Hawaii was great. My husband and I really enjoyed being in a condo rather than a hotel. Our condo was a one-bedroom, ocean front with all the amenties of home. It had an awesome view, very clean, comfortable and we didn't even hear our neighbors. We enjoyed being able to walk to town (about a mile) and enjoyed one of the better beaches at the south end of the condo property. We would diffently go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only about a mile from town. We enjoyed the excercise of walking to town. A lot of nice restaurants, mostly casual, which we liked.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 1, 2008

Helpful hotel staff

We were treated very nicely the whole stay. There was prompt service for maintanence of a burned outlightbulb and to fix the patio screen door (which was found on the ground upon arrival). Our beachfront room had a spectacular view! We did find another couple seated on the rock wall in front of our patio having wine and watching the sunset(blocking our view)... It was far from shopping and restaurants but the peaceful surrounding made it worth it! We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a far drive to shopping, dining and entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top